Hiding empty staves does not work consistently [Solved]

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
MarcLarcher
Senior Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Hiding empty staves does not work consistently [Solved]

Post by MarcLarcher » Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:26 pm

Dear fellow Doricians,

I noticed, while editing a whole vocal score from Offenbach, that sometimes (I mean, in some flows) the first staff of the singer that starts the flow is hidden in the first system (which is fine, since it is empty and it is what I want…) and sometimes not ! In those latter cases, I try to delete everything that could be linked to that staff, in order to get things right, but I cannot achieve my goal. Could you send me some tips (if you think of something) ?
In order to make this investigation a little bit easier, I send you some pictures of the faulty pages.

Of course, in Layout options, I have chosen the right option : always hide empty staves.
Capture d’écran 2017-03-23 à 22.24.43.png
(189.56 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Capture d’écran 2017-03-23 à 22.22.35.png
(183.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Capture d’écran 2017-03-23 à 22.24.04.png
(234.06 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by MarcLarcher on Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:03 am, edited 2 times in total.
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

andgle
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Hiding empty staves does not work consistently

Post by andgle » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:35 pm

Have you imported from xml? Sometimes, underlying information from xml prevents Dorico from hiding staves. When it happened to me, it had to do with the time signature. I deleted and re-entered it, and the stave disappeared as expected.
Anders

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Senior Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Hiding empty staves does not work consistently

Post by MarcLarcher » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:40 pm

Dear Anders,

This is a pure Dorico work from scratch, eleven flows, 83 pages ;-)
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

andgle
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Hiding empty staves does not work consistently

Post by andgle » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:48 pm

Strange! Can you post the file ?
Anders

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5954
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Hiding empty staves does not work consistently

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:42 am

I would need to see the project to be able to diagnose this. If you're not comfortable posting it here, Marc, you know my email address.

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Senior Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Hiding empty staves does not work consistently

Post by MarcLarcher » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:42 am

Done !
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

kevinefclark
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 1:07 am
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Hiding empty staves does not work consistently

Post by kevinefclark » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:44 pm

Just bumped into what looks like the same thing. Copying everything over to a new flow from the one that was being dodgy seems to have done the trick.

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Senior Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Hiding empty staves does not work consistently

Post by MarcLarcher » Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:46 pm

Actually, I had the answer to my problem from Daniel : I started writing that score thinking that Georget was a tenor, hence with a tenor G clef (with a low 8).
Then I learned it was a soprano singing a young male role, so I changed the clef. That was the problem. Removing the clef removed the "empty" bars. I just had to change the instrument (from tenor to soprano), move all the notes an octave higher and this was it.
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

kevinefclark
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 1:07 am
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Hiding empty staves does not work consistently

Post by kevinefclark » Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:10 pm

Interesting! I thought I'd tried that, but it turns out my use of 'invisible' clefs was holding me up.

I'd popped back into this thread to post the attached image of two staves showing at the exact same place when only one should appear. Then I tried messing about with the clefs, and it solved the problem. I was using the "invisible" command for clefs. In order to 'delete' the invisible clef I had to create a visible clef (presumably to override it somewhere in the bowels of the system), and then delete THAT, which restored the 'default' clef and allowed the staff to be hidden.

To keep my invisible clef situation going, I just went to when the instrument actually enters and put the invisible clef there instead. Which, as usual when you figure out the right way to work with Dorico, really makes more sense if you think about it.

Re-training my brain from almost twenty years of Finale's interface/affordances/schema/data model is not a _fast_ process, but it is a pretty fun one.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 9.57.36 AM.png
Two staves in one place -- solved by deleting clefs more thoroughly.
(56.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet

dwlarson
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: Hiding empty staves does not work consistently

Post by dwlarson » Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:47 am

I have also run into the problem of duplicate (hidden) clefs from XML imports preventing the staves from hidden. Once those clefs are deleted, everything functions as normal. Frustrating problem until one stumbles on the solution though (and remembers it for future projects).
Win7, i7, 8GB, Dorico 1.2.0.37
Sibelius 8+
Photoscore 7.02
Church musician/arranger

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lbuckley and 16 guests