Instrument Change

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.

Instrument Change

Postby musi003 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:10 pm

Hi,

when I change an instrument in a score, e.G. Clarinet in B to Clarinet in A, the name of the instrument doesn't change in the layout of the part!

By the way: once as a beginner in Dorico I edited the instrument Violin, it became as default "Violine 2" in the instrument folder of Dorico. How can I rechange this? Screenshot.

Another thing: normally I close a window with cmd-W. Why in Dorico with cmd-shift-W??

Regards

Wolfgang
Attachments
Screenshot 2017-04-13 18.08.24.png
(22.37 KiB) Not downloaded yet
musi003
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 6:38 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Instrument Change

Postby Derrek » Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:07 pm

To change the layout name, double-click the name in the layout panel of Setup mode.
layoutName.png
(11.77 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Dorico 1.0.30, Finale (v25.3), GPO, JABB3, GWI
Windows 7 (also Mac Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard
Derrek
Member
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 363 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: Instrument Change

Postby fratveno » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:32 am

musi003 wrote:Hi,

when I change an instrument in a score, e.G. Clarinet in B to Clarinet in A, the name of the instrument doesn't change in the layout of the part!


This bug was confirmed in another thread couple of weeks ago...
Cubase Pro 9.0.20/VEP 6 network - Dorico 1.0.30 - Finale 2012c [and 25.3] (user since V1 (1988)) - Notation Composer 3.0.6 - on Windows 7. Hauptwerk and too many sound libraries. [evaluating NotePerformer 2.0.2]
User avatar
fratveno
Member
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 281 times

Re: Instrument Change

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Sat Apr 15, 2017 12:23 am

Wolfgang, to fix your 'Violine 2' problem, you need to delete the file userLibrary.xml which is found in your user-level application data folder. On Windows this is %APPDATA%\Roaming\Steinberg\Dorico; on Mac, it's /Users/your-username/Library/Application Support/Steinberg/Dorico.

Provided you have not edited the names of your layouts, changing the instruments in the Players panel should cause the Layout names to update automatically. If they don't, double-click the layout name in the Layouts panel and click the little reset button that appears there.
User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 4201
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 3377 times


Return to Dorico

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Liquiprod, PaulWalmsley, vilnai and 5 guests