Rehearsal display

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
wasserstoff
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:06 am
Contact:

Rehearsal display

Post by wasserstoff » Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:26 am

Hello,

I started evaluating Dorico and I'm quite happy with the result so far.
Is it possible to display a line like this notation? (blue line on the attached image)
I searched the option panel and seen circle, square but no line option to do this.

Thanks
fin-exp-hide-measure-numbers2.png
(28.99 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Derrek
Member
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by Derrek » Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:52 pm

Repeats (especially repeat endings) are not yet fully implemented. What you desire cannot be done yet (without a work-around) but is planned for the future.
Dorico 1.1.10, Finale (v25.4), GPO, JABB3, GWI
Windows 10 (also Mac Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:15 pm

Repeat ending lines will, unless a disaster befalls us, be implemented in the next update, though I'm afraid they will not yet play back.

wasserstoff
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by wasserstoff » Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:46 pm

Thanks for the answer. I'm not interested in playback mode for now, just the editing part so it's good to know.

It would be nice to be able to add sequences too, like 1-3 instead of only one number.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:25 pm

Yes, don't worry: as with everything we implement in Dorico, we have plans to make the implementation both very flexible and also simple to work with. Once we're a bit further into the implementation of repeat endings I'll be able to share more information.

ktveit
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:44 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by ktveit » Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:36 am

Will "Segno" "DaCapo" "Coda" also be included in the next update along with repeats ? Or is these separate topics/features ?

-
Kristoffer

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:07 am

Those are separate, I'm afraid, but at least you can pretty easily create them using Shift+X text at the moment. If you're not sure where to get the segno and coda symbols from, you can copy and paste them from here. Be sure to change the character style (the menu at the top right-hand corner of the text editing popover) to Music text to be sure of using the correct Bravura Text font for these characters.

ktveit
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:44 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by ktveit » Tue Apr 18, 2017 1:58 pm

Thanks Daniel.
I have used that trick to do Segno/Coda combinations. Just looking forward to "the real thing".

Is there a way to indent the staff where Coda begins ? Or do you have to place Coda in a separate flow to do that?

User avatar
k_b
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by k_b » Tue Apr 18, 2017 2:15 pm

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:Those are separate, I'm afraid, but at least you can pretty easily create them using Shift+X text at the moment. If you're not sure where to get the segno and coda symbols from, you can copy and paste them from here. Be sure to change the character style (the menu at the top right-hand corner of the text editing popover) to Music text to be sure of using the correct Bravura Text font for these characters.
Just a question: no problem with using Shift-X for these instances, but: Can I make them display „systemwide“, i. e. in all parts, if I input them once in the score?

ktveit
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:44 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by ktveit » Tue Apr 18, 2017 2:46 pm

I put them in as a tempo setting (Shift+T). Copy paste the symbols in the popover. This makes them system wide. You probably have to do a little bit of tweeking in engrave mode to place them over a barline (if thats where you want them).

Claude Lapalme
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 6:29 pm
Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by Claude Lapalme » Tue Apr 18, 2017 2:55 pm

I think the only way to do this is to use tempo text. I do that a lot, but make sure you verify in properties that the tempo has not changed. While you can hide the metronome mark, it will still affect tempo.
Claude Lapalme - Conductor, Arranger, Orchestrator
Music Director @ Red Deer Symphony Orchestra
Artistic Director @ Rosa Barocca

User avatar
k_b
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by k_b » Tue Apr 18, 2017 11:08 pm

Thank you ktveit and Claude,
I will use Tempo text of course.

TonyVT
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by TonyVT » Mon Jul 03, 2017 1:07 am

Has there been any update on the question regarding, "Is there a way to indent the staff where Coda begins ? Or do you have to place Coda in a separate flow to do that?"

andgle
Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by andgle » Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:23 am

1. Go to Engrave mode
2. Enable note spacing
3. Move the big move squares on either side, using alt+arrow
Anders

macOS Sierra

TonyVT
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by TonyVT » Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:07 am

Thank you so much, andgle. The next logical question is, is this documented somewhere?
Tony Ventura

andgle
Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by andgle » Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:37 pm

TonyVT wrote:Thank you so much, andgle. The next logical question is, is this documented somewhere?
Tony Ventura
Here:
https://youtu.be/cPlOT7RRn2k?t=4m40s
and here:
http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... ry_1.1.pdf
Anders

macOS Sierra

TonyVT
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal display

Post by TonyVT » Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:31 pm

This is incredible. Thank you again, andgle.
Tony Ventura

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LSalgueiro and 8 guests