build a chord from single selected note

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.

build a chord from single selected note

Postby SeeWhat » Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:19 pm

Hi
when you select a single note that has a tied values duration (ex: half+dotted 16th) and press Q to build up a chord.
The new notes in the chord take the current grid value duration where it could be expected that they take the selected note duration.
Currently it takes several operations to adjust the duration until all chord notes have the same duration as the first one.
ASUS P7P55WS; 12GB; kingston SSD 120GB; Win10 pro 64; RME multiface; Sibelius 8; Dorico 1.030; Cubase Artist 7.5 ; Melodyne; Adam S2-A.
My native language is french, my english SoSo...
User avatar
SeeWhat
New Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: build a chord from single selected note

Postby Derrek » Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:45 pm

Sounds logical (within Dorico). You'd likely have to cut ("U") the ties to values you do not want, then build your chord, and then rejoin the notes you wanted tied.
Dorico 1.0.30, Finale (v25.3), GPO, JABB3, GWI
Windows 7 (also Mac Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard
Derrek
Member
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 311 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: build a chord from single selected note

Postby musicmaven » Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:16 pm

Seems like a definite bug to me. Why else would someone use chord mode unless they wanted to build a chord from the existing note duration?? By the way, my experience is that the chord input uses the currently selected duration (not grid resolution). There are 2 problems here. First, the user has to tell Dorico the duration wanted for the added note to the chord (Dorico reverts to the default quarter note instead of the program having the awareness of the selected note's duration and therefore knowing what duration to use), and second, in the case of a duration that is not available in the durations palette (as in a quarter tied to a dotted 16th or quarter tied to a dotted 8th), Dorico does not seem able to correctly add the note to make a chord with the same duration.
Dorico 1.0.30
Finale 1.0 through Finale 97
Sibelius 2-7.5
Notion 5.2
MuseScore 2
iMac, MacBook Air
Oxygen 61
musicmaven
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:11 pm
Location: New York
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: build a chord from single selected note

Postby fratveno » Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:09 pm

I think this works if you do Lock to Duration first (L)...
Cubase Pro 9/VEP network - Dorico 1.0.30 - Finale 2012c [and 25.3] (user since V1 (1988)) - Notation Composer 3.0.6 - on Windows 7. Hauptwerk and too many sound libraries. [evaluating NotePerformer 2.0.2]
User avatar
fratveno
Member
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 197 times

Re: build a chord from single selected note

Postby SeeWhat » Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:09 am

Fratveno thank you
I searched around Q and L before asking here to no avail

the exact sequence is
select the note
caret
L
Q
then enter the chord tones
to enter lower chord tone Contr+Alt
SpaceBar to next starting note

while doing this I entered in a strange situation where the L icon was off but the Lock duration state was still functioning. Couldnt reproduce ... :twisted:
ASUS P7P55WS; 12GB; kingston SSD 120GB; Win10 pro 64; RME multiface; Sibelius 8; Dorico 1.030; Cubase Artist 7.5 ; Melodyne; Adam S2-A.
My native language is french, my english SoSo...
User avatar
SeeWhat
New Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: build a chord from single selected note

Postby fratveno » Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:27 am

I remember I had to click L, clicking the icon didn't stick...
Cubase Pro 9/VEP network - Dorico 1.0.30 - Finale 2012c [and 25.3] (user since V1 (1988)) - Notation Composer 3.0.6 - on Windows 7. Hauptwerk and too many sound libraries. [evaluating NotePerformer 2.0.2]
User avatar
fratveno
Member
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 197 times

Re: build a chord from single selected note

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:59 pm

It's not a bug: you can create a chord using notes of different note values within the same voice, which is not necessarily a common requirement but nevertheless an important one. You can change the note value between each note you input in a chord, and Dorico will renotate the existing notes in the chord as necessary with ties.
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 3849
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 2954 times

Re: build a chord from single selected note

Postby musicmaven » Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:47 pm

Daniel, you are right. I forgot about cases where you stack notes of different durations. It must be humbling working in the world of music notation that requires so many options!
Dorico 1.0.30
Finale 1.0 through Finale 97
Sibelius 2-7.5
Notion 5.2
MuseScore 2
iMac, MacBook Air
Oxygen 61
musicmaven
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:11 pm
Location: New York
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 18 times


Return to Dorico

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidhitchin, fratveno, LeifG and 3 guests