Rest Doesn't always work

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.

Rest Doesn't always work

Postby Robby Poole » Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:15 pm

I am working some ides for a drum set book.

I am trying to write a 2 voice part, using my MIDI keyboard. As you can see in the video, with the rest selected, Dorico is inputting notes. I am not sure what is going on, so I thought I would report it as a bug.

Robby

P.S. - Video Zipped up is 19MB, too large to load into the message.
Dorico 1.0.30
Finale (since v2.2), Sibelius (since v1.2),
Mac Pro 2.7 GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD
~ or ~
27" iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Quad Core i5, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD
Robby Poole
Member
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 3:35 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Has thanked: 295 times
Been thanked: 101 times

Re: Rest Doesn't always work

Postby Robby Poole » Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:27 pm

Daniel,

I sent you 2 emails with the the video and the file.

Robby
Dorico 1.0.30
Finale (since v2.2), Sibelius (since v1.2),
Mac Pro 2.7 GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD
~ or ~
27" iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Quad Core i5, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD
Robby Poole
Member
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 3:35 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Has thanked: 295 times
Been thanked: 101 times

Re: Rest Doesn't always work

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:52 am

I didn't receive the video, I'm afraid (presumably it got bounced back), but I guess the problem is that playing a note on your MIDI keyboard in rest mode is inputting a note rather than a rest? If so, this bug is fixed in the forthcoming Dorico 1.1 update.
User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 4237
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 3433 times

Re: Rest Doesn't always work

Postby Robby Poole » Tue Jun 13, 2017 5:39 pm

That's exactly what was happening. It was somewhat repeating the previous note as well, so it didn't matter if I hit a new set of notes or note.

I'm glad to know you were aware of the issue.

Thanks Daniel!

Robby
Dorico 1.0.30
Finale (since v2.2), Sibelius (since v1.2),
Mac Pro 2.7 GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD
~ or ~
27" iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Quad Core i5, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD
Robby Poole
Member
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 3:35 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Has thanked: 295 times
Been thanked: 101 times


Return to Dorico

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andgle, András at Steinberg, boye, DaddyO, dannemoller, eboats, Evan Scamman, fratveno, gdugan, Maximilian, paulthompson, PjotrB, Rinaldo and 14 guests