input bar rest in second voice

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.

input bar rest in second voice

Postby ReRei » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:47 pm

When I try to insert a whole bar rest in voice 2 it gets split into 2 half note rests.
How can I input only one bar rest for the complete bar?

Thanks.
ReRei
Junior Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:53 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: input bar rest in second voice

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:54 pm

Use the 'Insert Bar Rest' button in the right-hand Bars and Barlines panel.
User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 4261
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 3449 times

Re: input bar rest in second voice

Postby ReRei » Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:10 am

Yes this works. Thanks.
But why does't it work the "normal" input way? This is quite uncomfortable and time consuming to open the panel and hit insert bar rest. Don't you think so?

And one more question: when I input a second voice in a bar and then several bars later I want to continue this second voice but when I hit shift-v I get another "second" voice (+2) instead of the former second voice. So I have to go back, select the "old" 2nd voice in order continue in this voice. Why that? Will this get changed?
ReRei
Junior Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:53 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: input bar rest in second voice

Postby Robby Poole » Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:25 am

If I understand your question correctly:

Shift + V creates a new voice, pressing V by itself cycles through the voices.

When you get to the point several bars later, just press V to enter into the other voice.

Robby
Dorico 1.1
Finale (since v2.2), Sibelius (v1.2 through 7.3),
Mac Pro 2.7 GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD
~ or ~
27" iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Quad Core i5, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD
Robby Poole
Member
 
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 3:35 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Has thanked: 297 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: input bar rest in second voice

Postby Romanos401 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:17 am

Robby Poole wrote:If I understand your question correctly:

Shift + V creates a new voice, pressing V by itself cycles through the voices.

When you get to the point several bars later, just press V to enter into the other voice.

Robby

That is correct. FWIW, I added custom key commands to cycle the voice colors on and off. I've found it very helpful. Since the carat doesn't change color to indicate which voice you're in, a quick look at colors helps keep things clear. I don't like to stare at them unnecessarily, however, so I go back to black after I am well-oriented. (I'm an organist so some of my stuff has 4 or 5 voices per stave per measure... this is the slickest way to do multi-voice writing bar none. I'm totally loving it!)
Romanos401
Junior Member
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Has thanked: 222 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: input bar rest in second voice

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:03 am

The reason inserting a bar rest is a bit awkward is because you should almost never do it. The only circumstance I can think of in which you would need to do it is when a secondary voice begins with a bar rest. You almost never need to actively create rests of any kind in Dorico, which is one of the most time-saving aspects of its note input method.
User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 4261
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 3449 times

Re: input bar rest in second voice

Postby ReRei » Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:32 am

Ah, I see. My mistake.

Thank you all.
ReRei
Junior Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:53 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: input bar rest in second voice

Postby Thijs Boehme » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:09 am

There is a certain usecase for inputting bar rests (although maybe very specific):
When you have two instrument voices on the same part (e.g. Horns 1 & 2) that need to alternate. I prefer seeing bar rest than "1.", "2.", "1.",... every other bar.

Image

That being said, it was very easy to input these with the righthand "Bars and Barlines" menu.
Thijs Boehme
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:24 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: input bar rest in second voice

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:00 am

You can also set options in the Notation Options dialog to tell Dorico not to hide intervening bar rests if you're using this kind of notation consistently throughout the flow.
User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 4261
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 3449 times

Re: input bar rest in second voice

Postby Romanos401 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:58 pm

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:You almost never need to actively create rests of any kind in Dorico, which is one of the most time-saving aspects of its note input method.

Amen to that! I love being able to click in wherever I want and just go. No fuss. It's amazing and very much appreciated.
Romanos401
Junior Member
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Has thanked: 222 times
Been thanked: 64 times


Return to Dorico

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Craig F, rlb3, tonywardarts, Wheat Williams and 7 guests