Cue note workarounds

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.

Cue note workarounds

Postby Cor anglais 16 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:21 pm

I'm about to embark on a project that could benefit from cue notes (Schütz Uppsala Magnificat). Since they're not expected in the v1.1 update, has anyone yet developed a decent work-around that will allow my singers/instrumentalists to see strategic cues from the other parts? Presumably copy/pasting the necessary cues, but then maybe coloring them gray (if that would show up in print), or bracketing them with large bracket symbols... what has worked for you so far?
Cor anglais 16
New Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 2:15 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Cue note workarounds

Postby fratveno » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:49 pm

No really good workaround, but Dorico comes with 2 varieties of default noteheads, named default and default (large) (Edit/Notehead/Default...) The Default large ones are used by default, and when changed to Default you come closer to a cue(ish) note size. If one could resize the rests as well, it would be even better. Not suitable for publication, but in a rehearsal situation, certainly better than nothing...
Cubase Pro 9.0.20/VEP 6 network - Dorico 1.1 - Finale 2012c [and 25.3] (user since V1 (1988)) - Notation Composer 3.0.6 - on Windows 7. Hauptwerk and too many sound libraries. [evaluating NotePerformer 2.0.2]
User avatar
fratveno
Member
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 291 times

Re: Cue note workarounds

Postby mati » Sat Jun 17, 2017 10:04 am

No workaround, I'm afraid, in my experience at least.

Just finished to engrave the second new work with Dorico, and both absolutely needed cue notes.
I made them with the technique that fratveno suggests, but the smaller headnote size is not so small and rests and dynamics don't help.

The pieces were kind of quite complex contemporary music, with not so much time to rehearse.
In short, players complained in both of cases; the cue notation was not clear for them and confused.

I really hope will be the next 'big thing' Dorico's team will address after the 1.1.
mati
Junior Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:48 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Cue note workarounds

Postby fratveno » Sat Jun 17, 2017 10:19 am

mati wrote:I really hope will be the next 'big thing' Dorico's team will address after the 1.1.


+100
Cubase Pro 9.0.20/VEP 6 network - Dorico 1.1 - Finale 2012c [and 25.3] (user since V1 (1988)) - Notation Composer 3.0.6 - on Windows 7. Hauptwerk and too many sound libraries. [evaluating NotePerformer 2.0.2]
User avatar
fratveno
Member
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 291 times

Re: Cue note workarounds

Postby Romanos401 » Sat Jun 17, 2017 2:11 pm

That, and stemless noteheads.
Romanos401
Junior Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Has thanked: 214 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Cue note workarounds

Postby lbuckley » Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:22 pm

This is my method, posted on a different thread concerning the same subject:

I'm not at home right now, so I can't include a screenie to show you what it looks like, but I've been using one of the diamond-shape note heads to approximate cues, and of course I add text to show which instrument is being cued. Even though I haven't found a way to put the normal rest in to show it's just a cue and shouldn't be played, I find that it "intuits" quickly and easily from a player's perspective.
Lew Buckley
Dorico 1.0.30
Late 2012 iMac
2.9 Ghz, 8G RAM
lbuckley
Junior Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 2:52 pm
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 27 times


Return to Dorico

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andgle, András at Steinberg, bmpark, bullquartz, dannemoller, eboats, Evan Scamman, Franklinspired, fratveno, gdugan, Lazaruss, Maximilian, PjotrB, StefanF at Steinberg, Wheat Williams and 12 guests