No Sound on Windows 10

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
dbudde
Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:28 pm
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by dbudde » Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:19 pm

I just downloaded your test file. If you look in play mode on the right panel (see image) the power button is off. Is it the same on your system? It will play on my machine once you turn that on. It doesn't play from the downloaded file.
Attachments
play mode power button is off.png
(33.41 KiB) Not downloaded yet
MacBook Pro 16GB - OS X 10.13 beta

Traubitz
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:25 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by Traubitz » Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:24 pm

Thanks for giving it a try, Phillip. I think we've exhausted most of the remote diagnosis. There is possibly a software conflict somewhere in one of the libraries installed on your machine, but it's not likely to pop up easily since you're not actually crashing Dorico. Last time I came up against something so stubborn, it turned out to be a random beta of QT-kit (a common application developer library) which had been installed by a some rogue application in the Windows system32 directory rather than it's proper place. Short of a full OS-wipe (which I do not recommend in this case!), it might be impossible to remedy unless you stumble across it at some future date. The outboard USB-audio device is probably your best and least painful solution route. I use Focusrite models on portable systems and RME on the high-buck Windows systems, but there are tons of excellent alternatives including Steinberg's line.

Best of luck!

plebas
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:50 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by plebas » Sun Jul 09, 2017 7:30 am

Thanks!

To dbudde: have tried turning the power button on/off, but still no sound.

Philip

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:47 pm

Philip, Dorioc is currently bundled with HALion Sonic SE 2, but this will change in the future. However, HALion Sonic SE 3 is already now available as download from our website. You just need to have a valid license of Dorico, Cubase or Nuendo to make it work.
You speak of HSSE 1.1, is that really the version that you have? Maybe then you didn't run the whole installer and are still stuck with 1.1. After a full Dorico installation you should be at least at HSSE 2.0.
Steinberg employee

plebas
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:50 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by plebas » Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:40 pm

Thanks for the information. I downloaded the trial version available a few days ago. It has/had HSSE 1.1. I'm quite prepared to believe the full version of Dorico has more up-to-date components, but I was (and am still) hoping to see (hear!) this for myself in comparison to Sibelius 8.6.
P

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5628
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:55 pm

I think the version number thing is a red herring: the version number for HALion Sonic SE and HSO reported in Steinberg Download Assistant is 1.1, but that's just because of their association with Dorico 1.1. That is just a version number being shown for the installer itself, not for the software inside it. And we know that's not very helpful, and we have asked our installer team to help us improve it.

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Mon Jul 10, 2017 8:35 am

Philip, your case is really strange. I've discussed this again with my colleagues and though we don't have a solution, we have one more idea what you could try.
The audio engine of Dorico is in terms of audio processing 100% same to that of Cubase. You may know or not know, Cubase is Steinberg's famous DAW software which runs reliably on hundred thousands of computer systems every day. Could you please go here https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/s ... ubase.html and get the trial version of Cubase LE? Don't get the trial for Cubase Pro, as that needs a USB dongle for license activation, get Cubase LE, the little brother, but again, the audio engine is the same.
Please install and see if you can get sound out with that. If you've never worked with DAWs and not sure how to set it up properly and what to do, please tell, I can provide you with pertinent information.
Steinberg employee

plebas
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:50 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by plebas » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:14 am

OK, Ulf. I installed Cubase LE as you asked. The instructions were reasonably staightforward. I wrote a small piano test file, but it produced no sound on my system, although it clearly was meant to be doing so, as the levels monitor showed sound being generated. It did not detect my speakers at first, and I had to switch them on manually. I also tried the keyboard. That did the same as the test file, just as in Dorico/HALION SE. I noticed (as I noticed in Dorico) that its response was always rather delayed and stuttering. But I could hear no sound, though the sound system of the computer clearly works just before and just after running Cubase. The other thing that happened was that Cubase would not exit cleanly. I had to use the Task Manager to kill it. Finally, I reinstalled the low latency ASIO driver (as I had not loaded it at first, due to it being already on my computer from Dorico). It made no difference - still no sound.

Clearly, there is some sort of incompatibility with the sound (conexant speaker chip) on my laptop - a Lenovo G50-80 laptop with Windows 10, bought 6-10 months ago.

Philip

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:37 am

Hi Philip, thanks for your effort. But somehow, I still can't believe it.
I mean, your computer is not a no-name brand, Lenovo sells millions of those models, I also have two laptops of that line at home. Still, you get sound from any other app, but not from Dorico/Cubase (which share the same audio engine code.)
I've created a test project with Cubase Elements, just one audio track with and one audio clip with just a 440Hz sine wave, please see attachment. This is the most basic, trivial setup and must produce sound on your system. If you load the project, you will get prompted because the project's root path changed, but just click the "New" button. Then hit the space bar which will start the transport. Still no sound...?
Attachments
test.zip
(492.07 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Steinberg employee

plebas
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:50 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by plebas » Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:39 am

Have just tried it. It loaded fine. But it did not produce the sine wave sound...
However, I noticed:
1) when first loading the test.cpr file it says the output and input devices are "unmapped"
2) in the main console I managed to connect the audio outputs left and right manually to "Conexant SmartAudio 1 and 2"
3) the more I persevered, the more often I got a small burst of intermittant sound (of the correct A-440 frequency, I'd say) lasting perhaps 1/10th second or so. The monitor shows sound being generated continuously with a large amplitude.
4) I needed (I think) to change the (Windows) speaker properties to 16-bit 44100Hz, as it generally defaults to 24-bit.
Sorry!
Philip

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1020
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by fratveno » Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:39 am

plebas wrote:The other thing that happened was that Cubase would not exit cleanly. I had to use the Task Manager to kill it.
That happens 50% of the time for most people... so don't worry, it usually terminates eventually, just be patient :)
Dorico 1.1 - Windows 7

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:50 am

Philip, we are all totally puzzled. I've discussed your case with several engineers here and also with our support guys, if they ever heard of such a case like yours before. But everyone had just big question mark on their faces.
Still, here's something that we'd like you to try:
- Load again my test project into Cubase, then go to Device > Device Setup. There, choose VST Audio System. There are several options. What if you untick 'Activate Multi Processing' and 'Activate ASIO-Gurad'. Does it make any difference? How about if you set Audio Priority from 'Normal' to 'Boost'?
- Choose from the menu Devices > VST Performance. A little window opens with some metering like display. How does that look like with you, is it showing lots of activity and peaks? It shouldn't, should stay always on the left side with such a small project.
- What if you open the Windows Task Manager during playback, what does the CPU performance say?
- You could try running Latency Monitor on your system (http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon_os) and see if that reveals anything critical. Mind you though, it's a third party tool, run at your own risk.
- And one more, what is the buffer size you use in the Generic Low Latency Driver? In the control panel you can change the size. What if you set it to maximum possible size, getting any better?

Thanks for your ongoing effort.
Steinberg employee

plebas
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:50 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by plebas » Tue Jul 11, 2017 11:36 am

At last some sound! It's the 'Activate Multi Processing' option (with or without 'Activate ASIO-Gurad') that scuppers the sound. The audio priority makes no difference. Looking at the VST performance monitor shows almost 100% activity with multiprocessing activated, but this drops to near 0% when it is disabled. The CPU performance on my computer does run rather high (about 34%) most of the time, even with no obvious programs running - I don't know why. Trying to create sound with or without multi-processing makes little difference to this. I can't see how to adjust the buffer size of the ASIO driver, however,...
Philip
Last edited by plebas on Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:18 pm

Hi Philip, that with the multi processing is really interesting and unexpected. I'd rather like to discuss this further via direct mail with you. Could you please send me a mail to u dot stoermer at steinberg dot de ?
Steinberg employee

plebas
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:50 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by plebas » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:40 pm

OK...will do.
P

plebas
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:50 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by plebas » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm

Hi Ulf and others,

Problem solved! It was the tracking program "Prey". It was making the CPU run at around 30% continuously and for some reason it prevented Dorico (and Cubase) from operating with multiple processors. Both programs work fine now and CPU usage is down to a few percent (and the battery of the laptop lasts much longer!)

Now I can compare Dorico and Sibelius as I'd hoped to do in the first place!

Many thanks for your help.

Philip

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:28 pm

Great that you found out the culprit and many thanks for sharing the information.
Cheers,
Ulf
Steinberg employee

Traubitz
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:25 am
Contact:

Re: No Sound on Windows 10

Post by Traubitz » Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:48 pm

Congrats on finding the issue! It was definitely turning into a puzzler. ;)

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MaestroD, R Pearl and 7 guests