How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
paulcopeland
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:43 pm
Contact:

How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by paulcopeland » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:12 pm

G'day from Australia.

I have a score with voice and piano and I want to delete the voice stave in the first system.

I have searched the forum for answers and

I have tried Layout Options, Vertical Spacing, Hide Empty Staves
After first system
All systems
Allow individual staves of multi-staff instruments to be hidden

and all combinations of the above, but the stave with empty bars still displays.

Here is a screen dump of my challenge.

Thank you for your help and seeya.

Paul.
Attachments
Hide Stave.jpg
(180.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Andre
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:49 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by Andre » Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:30 pm

I think to delete that empty stave you need to delete voice instrument instrument in Setup.
My music and tutorials on http://www.andrevanharen.com
iMac 2,8 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB ram, macOS Sierra.
Sibelius 6.2, Sibelius 7.5, Sibelius 8.5. Cubase 8.5, Logic Pro X. EWQLSO Gold, Kirk Hunter Diamond Orchestra/Concert Strings 2/Concert Brass 2, NotePerformer 2.0 etc etc...

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Member
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by MarcLarcher » Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:40 pm

Hi !
I had a similar problem, and the first system would not disappear (be hidden) because I had changed things in it (I changed the clef…). Deleting the clef change did the trick. It is possible that there are some "explicit" objects written on those first bars, even though any musician would say they are empty. You might want to show every flag possible (in edit menu, flags, show all), try deleting the rests… Then, hide empty staves all systems should work.
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

paulcopeland
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:43 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by paulcopeland » Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:22 am

HI Andre,

thank you for your suggestion. Unfortunately when I delete the player all the staves related to that player are deleted. I probably didn't express myself correctly as I only want one stave in one system hidden/deleted.

Hi Marc,

Thank you for your suggestion.

I have deleted the rests, and also deleted the tempo marking from the stave.

I have tried Layout Options, Vertical Spacing, Hide Empty Staves
After first system
All systems
Allow individual staves of multi-staff instruments to be hidden

and all combinations of the above, but the stave with empty bars still displays.

There must be a way to delete a stave on a system that doesn't have any data, but I don't know how. Please help.

Thank you.

Paul.
Attachments
Stave still not hidden.jpg
(163.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Member
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by MarcLarcher » Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:50 am

Well, Paul,
Actually it SHOULD work ! Is your file with no copyright limitations ? Then you could zip it up here so we can see what's going on… I sent one I was working on to Daniel, and he was the one who found out the problem came from a change of clef. Anyway, I always use the "hide empty staves" option, and it works, unless "something" is in the staves.
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

paulcopeland
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:43 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by paulcopeland » Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:24 am

Hi Marc.

Thank you for your quick response.

The file is imported from an XML file so I don't know if that would make a difference.

Here is the file full of all the bad formatting. I am just learning Dorico and the first thing I want to do is to get rid of the voice part in the first system. The music is my own arrangement so it is not copyright.

Thank you for your assistance.

Paul.
Attachments
3 For The Blind Can See without rests.zip
(431.07 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

User avatar
Andre
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:49 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by Andre » Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:42 am

I checked the score but can't find a way either, there is something strange though because rests should be showing at least. That is how it is set in Layout Options. When I enter something in a bar in that system, all the rests in that system are showing, but deleting that note, all of them disappear again.
My music and tutorials on http://www.andrevanharen.com
iMac 2,8 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB ram, macOS Sierra.
Sibelius 6.2, Sibelius 7.5, Sibelius 8.5. Cubase 8.5, Logic Pro X. EWQLSO Gold, Kirk Hunter Diamond Orchestra/Concert Strings 2/Concert Brass 2, NotePerformer 2.0 etc etc...

andgle
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by andgle » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:26 am

Marc is right, it's the clef change in bar 1 that's preventing the staff from hiding. Click it, hit delete, and select 'Hide empty staves' in layout options.

Note: Only the clef change will disappear - the predefined clef will still be there. The only visible difference is that the clef won't selectable anymore.
Anders

macOS Sierra

andgle
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by andgle » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:29 am

Andre wrote:
Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:42 am
There is something strange though because rests should be showing at least. That is how it is set in Layout Options. When I enter something in a bar in that system, all the rests in that system are showing, but deleting that note, all of them disappear again.
This is the expected behavior when you use the 'Remove rests'/'End voice' function
Anders

macOS Sierra

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Member
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by MarcLarcher » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:31 am

Yes, deleting the clef solves the problem.
I noticed that the instruments are not right — I never heard a flute singing…
In Dorico, some edits work differently for singers than for other instruments : dynamics are automatically above the staff and so on…
I upload your file with my corrections. I hope it helps !
3 For The Blind Can See without rests.dorico.zip
(462.17 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

paulcopeland
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:43 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by paulcopeland » Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:57 pm

Thank you Marc for spending time looking at the score and uploading the file. Very educational for me.

Best wishes in all that you do and seeya.

Paul.

OSLC
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a stave of empty bars at the start of the music

Post by OSLC » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:23 pm

Paul, I have found that importing XML files often results in a duplicate [hidden] clef at the start of the system. Selecting the clef and deleting it seems to eliminate the duplicate and leaves the original intact. Then the system will be hidden (if this option is selected in the layout options).

I've also found it helpful to reassign the instruments in the Setup to get proper sounds and symbol placement (vocal staves vs. instrumental staves). Also Select ALL and Reset Appearance, Rest Position, Reset Beaming straightens out numerous issues for importing XML files. YMMV.
Windows 7, 8GB, Core i7, Dorico 1.0.30.4124, Sibelius 8.5.1 / PhotoScore Pro 7.0.2

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests