Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
David Tee
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:54 pm
Contact:

Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by David Tee » Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:40 am

I've worked out how to hide chord symbols for different instruments (Setup, right click on the instrument where you don't want chord symbols showing) so that they only appear above the first instrument. However, if that first instrument is hidden for a few bars, how can I then show the chord symbols without having them shown on multiple staves when the first instrument appears?

The layout is very common - Voice / Piano. The voice appears in bar 5 after a 4 bar Piano intro.
• MacPro (mid 2012), 64 GB Ram, OSX 10.13.2, Cubase 9.5

pianoleo
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by pianoleo » Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:53 am

Glad it's not just me!

Currently you have to do this manually, as follows:

Show chord symbols in BOTH instruments.
In Write mode select empty vocal bars. Go Edit/Filter/Chord Symbols. From the "Chord Symbols" section in the bottom pane flick the switch and then tick the box for "Hidden".
Then select all the remaining piano bars, filter chord symbols, flick and tick as above.

According to Daniel a "Show chord symbols on top line" feature has already been implemented in the next minor release; hopefully out within a few weeks.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius 8.5, Logic Pro X, Dorico 1.2 etc.
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997)

pianoleo
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by pianoleo » Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:56 am

P.S. I've assigned Cmd-Shift-Alt-K to "Filter Chord Symbols", just as I did years ago in Sibelius. I suppose Cmd-Shift-Alt-Q would be more appropriate to Dorico...
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius 8.5, Logic Pro X, Dorico 1.2 etc.
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997)

David Tee
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by David Tee » Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:00 am

pianoleo wrote:
Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:53 am
Glad it's not just me!

Currently you have to do this manually, as follows:

Show chord symbols in BOTH instruments.
In Write mode select empty vocal bars. Go Edit/Filter/Chord Symbols. From the "Chord Symbols" section in the bottom pane flick the switch and then tick the box for "Hidden".
Then select all the remaining piano bars, filter chord symbols, flick and tick as above.

According to Daniel a "Show chord symbols on top line" feature has already been implemented in the next minor release; hopefully out within a few weeks.
Thanks for this - much appreciated!
• MacPro (mid 2012), 64 GB Ram, OSX 10.13.2, Cubase 9.5

pianoleo
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by pianoleo » Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:02 am

Just thinking about it, this is also possible in Engrave Mode - that feels (to me) like the obvious place to do it - but you can only select one chord symbol at a time so it's considerably slower.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius 8.5, Logic Pro X, Dorico 1.2 etc.
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997)

dwlarson
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by dwlarson » Sun Jul 30, 2017 2:42 am

Is it possible to have chords showing on different instruments in different flows? For example, I might have one flow with just piano (with chords printed above), and a second flow with a lead instrument or vocal line. I want the chords to appear above the lead line but not the piano (in the lead/piano part only). I haven't figured out how to do that without manually hiding the chords in the piano part...
Win7, i7, 8GB, Dorico 1.2.0.37
Sibelius 8+
Photoscore 7.02
Church musician/arranger

pianoleo
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by pianoleo » Sun Jul 30, 2017 11:12 am

The short answer is "not yet". You're not doing it wrong, it's just the way that things are set up for now - the only way is to set chord symbols to show in both piano AND lead instrument (or vocal line), and then hide the ones you don't want.

Here is Dan's email from the 5th (verbatim):

"Hi Leo,

Just to say that we've also today implemented the option to allow chord symbols to be drawn only above the top staff, instead of following the settings for individual players defined in Setup mode. The new option will be on the Staves and Systems page of Layout Options and will be in the forthcoming minor update, which is hopefully only a few weeks away.

D"
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius 8.5, Logic Pro X, Dorico 1.2 etc.
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997)

andgle
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by andgle » Sun Jul 30, 2017 11:50 am

Great news!
Anders

dwlarson
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by dwlarson » Sun Jul 30, 2017 9:56 pm

That IS great news indeed! And a simple way to accomplish what I'm trying to do. Thanks!
Win7, i7, 8GB, Dorico 1.2.0.37
Sibelius 8+
Photoscore 7.02
Church musician/arranger

matanr
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by matanr » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:42 pm

Is there a way to toggle all chord symbols to show on and off? I started a chart with chord symbols on the rhythm section only, and now need it for all instruments in the next flow...

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5954
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:48 pm

I'm not sure what the issue is, matanr: do you have completely different instruments in your next flow? Or do you want chord symbols to appear for one instrument in one flow but not in the next? You can always select the staff that shows the chord symbols that you want to hide in that flow, then switch on the 'Hide chord symbol' property in the Properties panel.

falhousen
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by falhousen » Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:35 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:48 pm
I'm not sure what the issue is, matanr: do you have completely different instruments in your next flow? Or do you want chord symbols to appear for one instrument in one flow but not in the next? You can always select the staff that shows the chord symbols that you want to hide in that flow, then switch on the 'Hide chord symbol' property in the Properties panel.
Hi Daniel,

Just for clarity, can you give a detailed instruction for hiding chord symbols in a flow? When you say "select the staff" do you mean "Go to the Setup tab, right-click on the player in question, and select the preferred options under "Chord Symbols"?

If not, how do I access the "Hide chord symbol" property?

My problem is actually that even though chord symbols are present for my player in 2 consecutive flows, the chords only play in the 1st flow, and don't even appear in the Play panel for the 2nd flow. I can't figure out why there is a difference between the 2 flows.

Sorry if this is obvious; I hesitated to write, but I haven't found an answer in the forum, or by Googling, reading the blog/online manual, release notes, etc.

Thanks, I'm loving 1.2.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5954
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:30 am

When I wrote that reply back in early August, Dorico 1.1 was the current version, in which you could select chord symbols simply by clicking in a blank part of the bar in which they appear, but since Dorico 1.1.10 at the end of August that has no longer been possible, which makes the instruction misleading. Sorry about that – times change, and so too does Dorico!

You need a selection of only chord symbols in order to see and set/change the ‘Hide’ property in the Chord Symbols group of the Properties panel: if you have any other items of any other type in the selection, you’ll see only the Common group in the Properties panel. There’s no good way of making a selection of chord symbols in just a passage of music using the keyboard alone at the moment, but you should be able to marquee select them reasonably easily.

However, the bigger question is why your chord symbols aren’t playing back in the second flow. Could you zip up and attach your project here, or failing that email it to me? If you email it to me, please be sure to include a link to this thread so I am reminded what I’m supposed to be looking at.

falhousen
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord Symbols and hidden instruments

Post by falhousen » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:49 am

Thanks Daniel, I just emailed you a zipped Dorico file with the issue I'm experiencing.

Happy Holidays

- Scott

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JackvL and 6 guests