Dorico blocking sound from other divices

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
stein55
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 5:25 pm
Contact:

Dorico blocking sound from other divices

Post by stein55 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:08 pm

When I launch Dorico, it's blokking sound from other programs wich using MIDI, or recording divices as Goldwave. And it Blocks sound fra streaming Devices like You Tube. Very unpracktical when you whant to use You Tube lessons to learn more about Dorico. What shall I do?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico blocking sound from other divices

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:52 pm

You need to go to the Generic Lower-Latency ASIO Driver settings (via Edit > Device Setup) and switch off the option at the top of the dialog concerning exclusive ownership of the audio device.

stein55
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico blocking sound from other divices

Post by stein55 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:26 pm

Thanks. That Works. :)

User avatar
Jode
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 8:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico blocking sound from other divices

Post by Jode » Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:23 pm

Read this: viewtopic.php?f=246&t=104440

It is astonishing how people just don't SEARCH BEFORE THEY POST! For example this issue of Dorico "blocking sound" has been discussed boringly many times. Daniel and the team should not have to repeat and repeat the same things again and again.

User avatar
ShikiSuen
Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 2:47 am
Location: Lethbridge, Canada
Contact:

Re: Dorico blocking sound from other divices

Post by ShikiSuen » Mon Aug 14, 2017 3:16 am

Just a following-up: Some audio interfaces has their ASIO drivers written to block audio in order to let ASIO applications use the audio interface exclusively. This surely leads inconveniences to most Windows users who want to do non-ASIO playback at the same time. Generic Lower-Latency ASIO Driver (i.e. GLL Driver) settings, as what Daniel suggested, is a choice for most people.

Now I am providing a plan-B in case that you or anyone here meets any trouble with GLL driver incompatiblility issues with their integrated audio chipset: Install a demo version of the latest FL Studio and it already come with its own FL Studio ASIO driver, which is pretty easy-to-use and stable, too.
[DAC + Monitor] laptop built-in DAC, ATH-M50X;
[DAW + OS] PreSonus Studio One 3.5.1 on macOS 10.13 High Sierra;
[Notation Tool] Steinberg Dorico 1;
[Computer] MacBook Pro 13-inch late-2016 CTO, Core-i7 6567U (Dual-Core 3.3GHz).

ianpartridge
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico blocking sound from other divices

Post by ianpartridge » Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:58 am

Why does http://www.image-line.com/downloads/fls ... nload.html say "FL Studio installs with generic ASIO4ALL drivers" then?

User avatar
ShikiSuen
Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 2:47 am
Location: Lethbridge, Canada
Contact:

Re: Dorico blocking sound from other divices

Post by ShikiSuen » Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:18 pm

ianpartridge wrote:
Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:58 am
Why does http://www.image-line.com/downloads/fls ... nload.html say "FL Studio installs with generic ASIO4ALL drivers" then?
You only have checked articles in lieu of the actual installer which ships both FL ASIO and ASIO4ALL, allowing the user to choose what he prefer.
[DAC + Monitor] laptop built-in DAC, ATH-M50X;
[DAW + OS] PreSonus Studio One 3.5.1 on macOS 10.13 High Sierra;
[Notation Tool] Steinberg Dorico 1;
[Computer] MacBook Pro 13-inch late-2016 CTO, Core-i7 6567U (Dual-Core 3.3GHz).

earmsby
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico blocking sound from other divices

Post by earmsby » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:44 pm

Glad to find this topic. I tried a bunch of different terms searching but got no results. Finally tried one more combination of words describing the problem. I was able to make the edit described above and that solved the problem. Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Derrek and 12 guests