Tied notes

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
thiagotiberio
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:27 pm
Location: New York, NY, USA
Contact:

Tied notes

Post by thiagotiberio » Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:56 pm

Hi Daniel & team!

I have some situations where I find Dorico's behavior to be a bit strange... for example, I am trying to achieve this during note entry:

Image

So I enter the first two notes... then hit T to prepare the tie... and I play the two-note chord, it ties the bottom one properly, but also ties the top one—to another note waaaaay before in the music!

Image

Is this intended? Surely not, right...?
–π

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Tied notes

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:20 pm

This is a rough edge that arises from the differences between inputting with the computer keyboard and the MIDI keyboard. If you input those notes with the computer keyboard, then hitting T before you type the first note of the next chord, the tie will automatically switch off, so when you type the second note of the chord, it won't be tied; however, when you play on the MIDI keyboard, if the tie tool is active when you play both notes together, Dorico will try to tie both of them.

User avatar
thiagotiberio
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:27 pm
Location: New York, NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Tied notes

Post by thiagotiberio » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:49 pm

I see. Can this behavior be refined, you think?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Tied notes

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:31 pm

Not in the short term, no.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kunstderfuge and 15 guests