Shift + Q for chord symbol entry doesn't work

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
luiza177
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:43 pm
Contact:

Shift + Q for chord symbol entry doesn't work

Post by luiza177 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:15 am

As the title says, if I highlight a note and press Shift+Q, nothing happens. I'm on version 1.1.10 on Win10 x64. Am I missing something obvious? Or is it perhaps because my keyboard layout is English/United States - International?

Rob Tuley
Member
Posts: 887
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: Shift + Q for chord symbol entry doesn't work

Post by Rob Tuley » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:31 am

You have to be in note entry mode, with the orange caret cursor showing.

Just "selecting a note" and pressing Q won't work. AFAIK it should work fine with variety of US or UK English keyboard. I keep accidentally switching my UK keyboard into USA mode with the special characters in different places, but the letters don't move!

Claude Lapalme
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 6:29 pm
Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Shift + Q for chord symbol entry doesn't work

Post by Claude Lapalme » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:59 am

I think he means chord symbols (shift-q), not chord entry (q).
Claude Lapalme - Conductor, Arranger, Orchestrator
Music Director @ Red Deer Symphony Orchestra
Artistic Director @ Rosa Barocca

luiza177
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Shift + Q for chord symbol entry doesn't work

Post by luiza177 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:36 am

Exactly. And for the record, it works neither in note entry mode nor with the arrow tool/selection.

andgle
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Shift + Q for chord symbol entry doesn't work

Post by andgle » Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:42 am

Does Write > create chord symbol work?

If you have edited your key commands prior to 1.1, you may have to reset them or add some manually.
Anders

macOS Sierra

John at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Shift + Q for chord symbol entry doesn't work

Post by John at Steinberg » Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:24 am

At the moment if you have edited any key commands before installing the update you won't have the new key commands like Shift + Q.
Go to Edit > Preferences on Windows, Dorico > Preferences on Mac and in the Key Commands section use the Reset Key Commands button.

We aim to change this in the future so that you can keep any edits you have made and also get new shortcuts from updates.

luiza177
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Shift + Q for chord symbol entry doesn't work

Post by luiza177 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:20 am

It works now. Thanks, John.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests