Different chords on multiple staves

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
manu_mlp
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:31 pm
Contact:

Different chords on multiple staves

Post by manu_mlp » Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:53 pm

Hello.

One question. I would like to put two different chords for two instruments.

Guitar 1 - Normal chords (like Piano and other instruments)
Guitar 2 - Chords with no 3rd

So I only need to change the ones on Guitar 2 line.
Any way I can achieve this? Something like the "unlink" function for Dynamics...

Thanks
iMac 5K OSX Sierra - 4 GHz Intel Core i7 -16 GB DDR3 a 1867 MHz
Cubase 9 - Dorico 1.1.0
Yamaha UR22

Derrek
Member
Posts: 906
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Different chords on multiple staves

Post by Derrek » Fri Sep 08, 2017 3:52 pm

That's an interesting situation. It could also come up if one were to use more complex chords on a piano part than could easily be played on a guitar. Doubtless this will not affect everyone but is an interesting challenge should Dorico decide to work on it.
Dorico 1.1.10, Finale (v25.4), GPO, JABB3, GWI
Windows 7 (also Mac Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard

piano_jochen
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Different chords on multiple staves

Post by piano_jochen » Sat Sep 09, 2017 10:22 am

That's definitely a must have feature! Daniel, what about Shift+Alt+Q to create an unlinked chord symbol? At the moment, the only workaround is Shift+X.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5210
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Different chords on multiple staves

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:47 pm

I can't say when it will be possible to have two different chord symbols at the same rhythmic position, but you should be able to achieve what you need to by creating a chord symbol at the next rhythmic position, e.g. by setting the rhythmic grid to something small like 16th (semiquaver), then hitting creating a chord symbol one 16th after the position where the original chord symbol is found. You can then hide the new chord symbol on the staff or staves on which it should not appear, hide the original chord symbol on the staff or staves on which it should not appear, and nudge the new one into position in Engrave mode.

manu_mlp
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Different chords on multiple staves

Post by manu_mlp » Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:03 pm

Ok tried many solutions. For now the easiest way it's to duplicate the flow and edit chords, for the Guitar 2 part.
For full score I guess I'll go back to Illustrator once again.

For me it's more important to have the chance to create a Drumkit line in Dorico, as for now I'm just faking it. The rest can wait, so no worries for this.
iMac 5K OSX Sierra - 4 GHz Intel Core i7 -16 GB DDR3 a 1867 MHz
Cubase 9 - Dorico 1.1.0
Yamaha UR22

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andgle, John Ruggero, mdgrandy and 13 guests