Transposing tool

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Transposing tool

Post by richardC » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:29 pm

Is there a way to use the transposing tool that avoids all double sharps and flats? I've tried ticking all the boxes on or off but still get some pretty wild spellings. Also applies to the respell tool as well. thanks.

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Member
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by MarcLarcher » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:14 pm

To help you, I guess D's team will need an example file exhibiting that behavior — if I do transpose from G to F, I won't get those double sharps or flats…
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by richardC » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:53 pm

I'm not a 'tonal' composer, which may contribute. Will post an example later.

LSalgueiro
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:51 am
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by LSalgueiro » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:07 pm

Well, Dorico's Transpose doesn't explicitly adhere to a tonal framework, though you can specify to transpose the key signature as well. My slightly uneducated guess is that the result is processed by the note-spelling algorithm before displaying the notes, so everything should hold up and be coherent in context. Have you forced a lot of notes to respell?

richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by richardC » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:47 pm

I have to respell (or try to) almost every time I transpose something.

LSalgueiro
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:51 am
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by LSalgueiro » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:03 am

richardC wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:47 pm
I have to respell (or try to) almost every time I transpose something.
I meant whether you forced many notes to respell prior to the transposition.

richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by richardC » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:19 am

No haven't done that

richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by richardC » Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:52 pm

Here is an example:
transposeDor.jpg
(212.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet

LAE
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by LAE » Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:41 pm

Try to transpose augmented second up. That won't solve all your problems though, but maybe some.
Dorico 1.1
Finale 2014.5
Windows 10

LAE
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by LAE » Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:44 pm

What if you just move the passage chromatically with alt+shift+up arrow?
Dorico 1.1
Finale 2014.5
Windows 10

richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by richardC » Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:19 pm

Thanks for the suggestion LAE. Any method I use will require spending time to respell any given passage, especially if you're transposing a whole phrase.

LAE
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by LAE » Sat Oct 28, 2017 9:48 am

Not that I don't think you didn't solve this and continued working, but I just had to do some testing myself.
When the whole section is respelled, Dorico follows the logic of keeping the intervals horizontally the same. This makes sense, but will create the double flats and sharps. Each chord has to be respelled separately.

What you are after would be a function similar to Finale's "Retranscribe" which would choose the simplest way to spell every single chord, not taking into account what was before or what comes after. But probably you would have to change things to your liking also in that case... And, there is no function like that in Dorico AFAIK.
Dorico 1.1
Finale 2014.5
Windows 10

richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Transposing tool

Post by richardC » Sat Oct 28, 2017 6:52 pm

Sibelius had a box that could be checked not to use double sharps or flats. Would save a lot of time.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Claude Lapalme, Ed Hirschman, kent, musicmaven, vertbois and 11 guests