Adjusting bar number size?

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Adjusting bar number size?

Post by richardC » Fri Nov 10, 2017 5:46 pm

I'm working on a piece for bassoon and piano, and the bassoon staff has been reduced in size. Unfortunately the bar numbers are so small I can't see them. Is there a way to adjust them. Alternately, if I can't adjust the size is there a setting for system object position so that I can have them show over the piano part where they will be larger?

thanks

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 1034
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Adjusting bar number size?

Post by Derrek » Fri Nov 10, 2017 6:28 pm

Have you experimented with Engrave menu > Font Styles > Bar Number Font settings? I would imagine changing the Font Size or (even more likely) the Relative/Absolute setting would help accomplish what you desire.
barNumbers.png
(21.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Dorico 1.1.10, Finale (v25.4), GPO, JABB3, GWI
Windows 10 (also Mac Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard

richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Adjusting bar number size?

Post by richardC » Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:16 pm

Thanks Derrek, that worked. Now if I could only get rid of the brackets.

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Member
Posts: 989
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adjusting bar number size?

Post by MarcLarcher » Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:36 am

Which brackets? Maybe posting a picture of your screen might help us helping you!
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Adjusting bar number size?

Post by richardC » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:59 pm

barnumbrackets.jpg
(106.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Here's a pic, although for some reason this turned out to be the only instance of a bar# with brackets, and I can't find a way to remove them.

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 1034
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Adjusting bar number size?

Post by Derrek » Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:24 pm

The only way I could get brackets on a measure number was when it was a Rehearsal Number and brackets were explicitly chosen as an Engraving Option.
brackets.png
(85.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
  • Was this file by any chance imported (as XML) from another program that might have specified the brackets?
  • If you (temporarily) ask to display measure numbers on every measure (in Layout Options), do all of them have the brackets?
Dorico 1.1.10, Finale (v25.4), GPO, JABB3, GWI
Windows 10 (also Mac Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard

richardC
Junior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Adjusting bar number size?

Post by richardC » Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:17 pm

I just found out the problem. There was a broken bar across a page (which btw I hate) which was unintentional, hence the bracket to show the bar was split.

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 1034
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Adjusting bar number size?

Post by Derrek » Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:05 am

That's nice to know. Thanks.
Dorico 1.1.10, Finale (v25.4), GPO, JABB3, GWI
Windows 10 (also Mac Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boye, Chris Davey, David Tee, louram, Oboino and 10 guests