hide staves not working on one page

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
belkina
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:12 pm
Contact:

hide staves not working on one page

Post by belkina » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:56 pm

I imported a musicxml orchestral score from Sibelius. Mostly it is OK, but I have hide empty staves turned on for all pages, but there is one single page in the middle of the piece where it will not hide them, no idea why.

?????

andgle
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: hide staves not working on one page

Post by andgle » Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:05 pm

There's probably some hidden objects in the staff that prevents Dorico from hiding it. My initial guess would be a clef. See if you can select any of them, and if you can - hit delete.
If not, go to View -> Signposts, and enable all of them. If any red flags turns up, delete them.

If neither of these options helps you, upload a screenshot or the project itself to the forum.
Anders

macOS Sierra

belkina
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: hide staves not working on one page

Post by belkina » Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:44 pm

andgle wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:05 pm
There's probably some hidden objects in the staff that prevents Dorico from hiding it. My initial guess would be a clef. See if you can select any of them, and if you can - hit delete.
If not, go to View -> Signposts, and enable all of them. If any red flags turns up, delete them.


It is not one staff which is showing up but ALL the empty staves, just on that page. See the attached screenshot.
Attachments
BelkinScore.jpg
(132.99 KiB) Not downloaded yet

andgle
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: hide staves not working on one page

Post by andgle » Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:51 pm

Check if any of the time signatures can be selected individually (in a single staff only). Also check if the clefs can be selected if you haven't tried already. What happens if you delete the 'Atonal' signpost?
Anders

macOS Sierra

pianoleo
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: hide staves not working on one page

Post by pianoleo » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:37 pm

It looks like the beginning of the flow. Do you definitely have staves set to hide on every system, INCLUDING the first one?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius 8.5, Logic Pro X, Dorico 1.1.10 etc.
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997)

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5655
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: hide staves not working on one page

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:40 pm

Make sure you select and delete the clefs at the start of each staff.

belkina
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: hide staves not working on one page

Post by belkina » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:42 pm

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:40 pm
Make sure you select and delete the clefs at the start of each staff.

Why do I have to do that on this page and not everywhere else^

belkina
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: hide staves not working on one page

Post by belkina » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:43 pm

pianoleo wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:37 pm
It looks like the beginning of the flow. Do you definitely have staves set to hide on every system, INCLUDING the first one?
YES, I checked that, and it was correctly set.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5655
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: hide staves not working on one page

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:48 pm

You have to delete the clefs at the start of the flow because importing a MusicXML file often results in additional clefs being created at the start of the flow that don’t really need to be there: ideally Dorico would not produce additional clefs in this situation, but at the point at which it imports the clefs from the MusicXML file it doesn’t know whether or not the clefs it has imported will end up being the same as the default ones belonging to the instruments it creates. Delete the extraneous clefs at the start of the first bar and you’ll be all set.

belkina
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: hide staves not working on one page

Post by belkina » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:10 am

Thank you Daniel! :-)

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boye, Chris Davey, David Tee, louram, Oboino and 9 guests