bug: impossible to tie two notes

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
Maximilian
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:36 am
Contact:

bug: impossible to tie two notes

Post by Maximilian » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:27 am

Please look to the attached foto and project.
Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-14 um 10.24.19.png
(38.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet
überbindungsbug.dorico.zip
(323.2 KiB) Downloaded 21 times

pianoleo
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: bug: impossible to tie two notes

Post by pianoleo » Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:20 am

Delete the two notes and reinput with Force Duration (O) turned on.

To clarify: You may need to enter the first note, then (with the caret still activated) enter the tie and then enter the second note.

It never occurred to me that anyone would try to enter tied notes in any other order, but the proliferation of threads regarding this topic in the past few weeks would indicate that people don’t think about the tie until after they’ve entered the notes and the tie overrides existing Forced Durations.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius 8.5, Logic Pro X, Dorico 1.1.10 etc.
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997)

Maximilian
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: bug: impossible to tie two notes

Post by Maximilian » Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:50 am

pianoleo wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:20 am
Delete the two notes and reinput with Force Duration (O) turned on.
Thank you for your answer. I did it with Force Duration, but it doesn't help. It is really a bug.

User avatar
kevin b
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:51 am
Location: Düsseldorf
Contact:

Re: bug: impossible to tie two notes

Post by kevin b » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:14 pm

I was able to get it to work, but only when when i force wrote the rests as well. See attached.
Screen Shot 2017-11-14 at 12.12.24 PM.png
(15.83 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Kevin Beavers
composer
www.kevinbeavers.com

Maximilian
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: bug: impossible to tie two notes

Post by Maximilian » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:26 pm

It doesn't work for me if I force the rests. But I noticed that I get the tied note if I delete the last note.

Maximilian
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: bug: impossible to tie two notes

Post by Maximilian » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:05 pm

pianoleo wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:20 am
Delete the two notes and reinput with Force Duration (O) turned on.

To clarify: You may need to enter the first note, then (with the caret still activated) enter the tie and then enter the second note.
I tried it again and now it worked like you explained. Perhaps I made first time a mistake.

musicmaven
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:11 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: bug: impossible to tie two notes

Post by musicmaven » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:34 pm

Dear Macimillian and pianoleo,

I think it is best not to delete anything. Force Duration can work beautifully by just over-writing the current note value to the desired one.

Simply click on the note to be corrected, press Enter, then the desired note value and pitch, then T, then the next desired note value and pitch.
Dorico 1.1.10, Finale 1.0 through Finale 97, Sibelius 2-7.5, Notion 5.2, MuseScore 2, iMac, MacBook Air, Oxygen 61, CME Xkey 25-key Mobile Keyboard Controller

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boye, Chris Davey, David Tee, louram, Oboino and 10 guests