Change fonts and save as default?

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Change fonts and save as default?

Post by islandmusicpro » Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:40 pm

Hi all,

as Dorico slowly matures, I'm now devoting some time to learn how to use it.
A few questions will surely arise in the coming weeks and months, such as this one

How do I change text items in the score to my liking? I've found how to change them one by one in the engrave menu, but would ideally like to do it in bulk and only once, having my choices as the default next time.

Help is much appreciated, Yours,
Benji
Cubase Pro 9.5, Windows 10 1803 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2.4.4, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5.6.6, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 2
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

pianoleo
Senior Member
Posts: 2044
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Change fonts and save as default?

Post by pianoleo » Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:49 pm

You need to do it twice, but only twice.

Go to Engrave mode. Then:
Engrave menu > Font Styles. Go to Default Text Font and set that to whatever you like. All character font styles will update accordingly (unless you've overridden them already). There's no easy way of setting these as defaults for future projects, but a) it's a quick thing to do and b) you could always get an empty project looking the way you want it and then save it as "Empty Template" for next time.

then

Engrave menu > Paragraph Styles. Go to Default Text and set that to whatever you like. All paragraph font styles will update accordingly (unless you've overridden them already). For this section there IS a Save as Default button, and if you click it, this will carry forward to future projects (but not existing ones).
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 2 etc.
& HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: Change fonts and save as default?

Post by islandmusicpro » Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:50 pm

Thx!!!
Cubase Pro 9.5, Windows 10 1803 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2.4.4, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5.6.6, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 2
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: Change fonts and save as default?

Post by islandmusicpro » Sun Mar 04, 2018 5:10 pm

Leo,
last question for today: I recall there was an option for the last system in a frame to go full length across the frame, regardless of the amount of music within. Where do I set that again?

Sincerely,
Benji
Cubase Pro 9.5, Windows 10 1803 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2.4.4, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5.6.6, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 2
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 1716
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Change fonts and save as default?

Post by Derrek » Sun Mar 04, 2018 5:44 pm

Layout Options > Note Spacing
staffWidth.png
(46.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Dorico 2.1.10, Finale (v25.5), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3, CuBase newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac High Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: Change fonts and save as default?

Post by islandmusicpro » Sun Mar 04, 2018 5:48 pm

Got it! Thx so much! Looked just like I remembered it... :D
Cubase Pro 9.5, Windows 10 1803 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2.4.4, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5.6.6, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 2
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Oboino, pianoleo and 6 guests