Hide empty divisi staves?

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by gerrie »

Hello,

Is there somehow a way to hide empty divisi staves? When for instance Violin div 1 is playing, and Violin div 2 should be quiet, you can get empty staves as opposed to 'tutti', where they both play the same material or nothing at all.
Using mutiple players has the disadvantage of using up space when they play the same material whereas quiet staves are hidden all right.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8410
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by pianoleo »

Just add another divisi flag and remove the extra stave there. It’s what the feature was designed for :)
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by gerrie »

Ok, I have to study the feature some more, you have to do this manually throughout the score then. It's about the situation where there are lets say four divisions and you want one of them to continue exclusively for a while. Would be nice if you could set the max number of divisi needed, write music on the different staves in Galley view and let the program hide the empty staves. And add a tutti flag when they all play the same material.
Last edited by gerrie on Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by gerrie »

I walk against the following: when trying to start with a divisi flag with only division 3 and change to a divisions 1, 2 and 3, then the music goes from division 3 to division 1.
In other words: when you have 3 divisions and you delete div 1 and div 2 then div 3 becomes div 1. This is not always what you want when for instance division 3 has to start with the lowest voice.
It looks like Dorico always thinks that when there is only one division with music then it must be division one. This means that when you want to start with division 3 you cannot hide the staves for div 1 and 2.

Am I wright?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19006
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

You can always create a new divisi change with only one division and number it to whatever you want it to be.

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by gerrie »

Yes, I know, but when you 1) start with for instance a divisi change with only one division (Add section division, delete section 1) and 2) write music for section 2 (which is the only section) and then 3) create a new divisi change for section 1 + 2 to add music for section 1 then the music entered for section two winds up in section one. I try to simplify my problem:
Creating a divisi change with only one division (number 2) and writing, say, 8 bars of music. Then create a new divisi change with three divisions (1, 2 and 3) on bar four. The music of the one division (number 2) winds up in section one. So, if you want to add section 1 to the already existing music on section 2 you have to move the existing music from section 1 to section 2 before you can continue writing in section 1.
If you have a divisi change with only one division, and add more divisions, the existing one is always the first, or highest one, whatever number you gave it. While you might want it to be the middle one or lowest one.

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by gerrie »

Another related exemple: Starting with 3 divisions and writing music for all three, continue writing on division three without the others. Change divisi deleting division 1 and 2 leads to the music on division 3 to disappear, because the only remaining division is division 1 while you want it to be division 3.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19006
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

This has been discussed before: divisi staves are always added below, and that's just the way it is and the way it will be staying. I don't think this changes anything with regard to you being able to achieve the end result that you require.

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by gerrie »

Right, I didn't find the discussion. So with a bit of moving the notes around I can get the result indeed.
Nice new photo! :)

w6u0
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by w6u0 »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:28 am
This has been discussed before: divisi staves are always added below, and that's just the way it is and the way it will be staying. I don't think this changes anything with regard to you being able to achieve the end result that you require.
The old version of Dorico 2 can hide all empty divisi staves through layout options. And the solo player divisi staves are added above the group players.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19006
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

The solo players are indeed positioned above the group players, but not by virtue of having staves added above the original main staff. You can see which staves are which if you look in galley view.

randywombat
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by randywombat »

gerrie wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:58 am
Right, I didn't find the discussion. So with a bit of moving the notes around I can get the result indeed.
The discussion I think Daniel is referring to is here: viewtopic.php?f=246&t=139707&p=752083

w6u0
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by w6u0 »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:30 am
The solo players are indeed positioned above the group players, but not by virtue of having staves added above the original main staff. You can see which staves are which if you look in galley view.
Thanks for your reply Daniel. My question is: I can easily hide all the empty staves (include the empty divisi staves) in Dorico 2.0, but this function is no longer working in the most recent update. I like how it was because it made the score so neat and well-defined. Is there any way to downgrade the programme to 2.0 version?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19006
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

I wouldn't recommend downgrading to Dorico 2.0 because there are hundreds of changes and improvements in version 2.1 and 2.1.10 that you should really not live without. We reworked the 'Allow individual staves of multi-staff instruments to be hidden' option between Dorico 2.0 and 2.1 in order to fix a number of other problems, and decided at that point that divisi changes should be excluded from that feature. If you need to hide one section of a divisi, we would recommend using a divisi change: if you want to hide the third divisi section, say, then create a new divisi change with only two sections.

w6u0
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Hide empty divisi staves?

Post by w6u0 »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 11:04 am
I wouldn't recommend downgrading to Dorico 2.0 because there are hundreds of changes and improvements in version 2.1 and 2.1.10 that you should really not live without. We reworked the 'Allow individual staves of multi-staff instruments to be hidden' option between Dorico 2.0 and 2.1 in order to fix a number of other problems, and decided at that point that divisi changes should be excluded from that feature. If you need to hide one section of a divisi, we would recommend using a divisi change: if you want to hide the third divisi section, say, then create a new divisi change with only two sections.
Thanks so much for your recommendations. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dankreider, madsv, pianoleo and 6 guests