Saving VST instrument programs - how?

All about our Cubase LE and Cubase AI OEM bundle software.
Post Reply
Airlane1979
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:40 pm
Contact:

Saving VST instrument programs - how?

Post by Airlane1979 » Wed May 23, 2018 1:10 pm

Cubase LE AI Elements 9.5

I've read the manuals and am still confused. How do I manage my presets for VST instruments? I have
  • a number of free VST synths in Cubase;
  • along with those, a bunch of free sounds/presets for them;
  • plus new sounds I've created on those synths.
What are the best ways to organise the presets? I see there is a previewer, but it usually doesn't display anything much so I find the files using Load Preset, which is a bit of a faff. Then, when I create a new sound, where do I store it so that Cubase sees it? I notice that when I save the new sound, it does not appear in the VST synth's program display. I think I have my folders in the wrong place. How do I make the previewer see all my sounds?

A few words of guidance, please!

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 11709
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Saving VST instrument programs - how?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon May 28, 2018 1:35 pm

Hi,

How do you "create a new sound"? Do you use any specific VSTi? Or do you use a VSTi + set of plug-ins? If it's based on one VSTi only, you can store it in the VSTi directly. If it's based on multiple VSTi + VSTs, save it as a Track Preset.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Airlane1979
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Saving VST instrument programs - how?

Post by Airlane1979 » Thu May 31, 2018 7:41 am

I mean a VSTi virtual synth instrument. I'm confused as to where to store newly-created patches. The previewer doesn't show them after I've saved them, probably because I've saved them in the wrong place. Steinberg's manual is so brief as to be almost useless and it gives no hints or guidance, just basic facts.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 11709
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Saving VST instrument programs - how?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu May 31, 2018 7:43 am

Hi,

What Instrument (VSTi) do you use? The Preview works only for internal HALion Sonic. Btw, you have to provide any MIDI/keyboard input.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Airlane1979
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Saving VST instrument programs - how?

Post by Airlane1979 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:03 am

I use a number of instruments, many I've downloaded free such as PG-8X, deputy64 etc. The preset viewer (the box that appears with Filters/Results/Previewer) doesn't often show any of the programs/patches that are available in my folders - but sometimes it does, even with my free synths, and I don't know why. I'd like to know how I organise my presets so they appear in it.

I just need a little basic guidance on managing patches in these synths. I'm confused!

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 11709
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Saving VST instrument programs - how?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:26 pm

Hi,

The Browser in the Add Track dialog shows just HALion Sonic SE presets. If you want to load other presets type, you have to load it from the MediaBay directly.

I would recommend to use Track presets.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Post Reply

Return to “Cubase LE and Cubase AI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest