Refunds?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Fitz
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:29 am
Contact:

Refunds?

Post by Fitz » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:43 pm

How do we go about getting refunds? Cubase that doesn't support 32bit plugins is utterly useless to me. Had I known this before purchasing I wouldn't have bothered.
macOS 10.11.x / C9.5 Pro

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by rumlee » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:45 pm

Why don't you use Jbridge like others?
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
Fitz
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Fitz » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:47 pm

Apparently doesn't work with OSX later than 10.10

https://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridgem/
macOS 10.11.x / C9.5 Pro

User avatar
Fitz
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Fitz » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:58 pm

Support ticket opened for refund, we will see what happens before I take other routes.

It's a real shame as I was really looking forward to finally having an undo in the mixer. As it stands I've opened it only to discover my core plugins are now useless. Utterly, utterly useless.
macOS 10.11.x / C9.5 Pro

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by rumlee » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:59 pm

Fitz wrote:Apparently doesn't work with OSX later than 10.10

https://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridgem/
But it says, that it is being implemented. Maybe ask them about ETA?
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
Fitz
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Fitz » Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:03 pm

I shouldn't have to screw around contacting third party suppliers for functionality I didn't even know I needed. Steinberg should have clearly stated before purchase that they were removing functionality, at which point I would have not purchased their product.
macOS 10.11.x / C9.5 Pro

User avatar
DLearyUS
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by DLearyUS » Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:07 am

steinberg announced on site in their news feed a couple months ago that cubase 9 would be 64 bit only. guess you missed that. regretful you cannot enjoy a truly great product :|

https://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeve ... -3778.html
Cubase v9.5 Pro / Win10-64 Pro/ Tascam FW-1884+FE8+FE8 / ART TubeOpto8 Xpander

shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by shanabit » Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:00 am

DLearyUS wrote:steinberg announced on site in their news feed a couple months ago that cubase 9 would be 64 bit only. guess you missed that. regretful you cannot enjoy a truly great product :|

https://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeve ... -3778.html
This info should be on the PURCHASE screen when you go to buy AND in the pages for C9, it is NOT found anywhere.
Anyone cross grading will not see that article you linked as well. Others who dont frequent the forum or have the HUB turned off for whatever reason would not see that as well.

*C9 Requires 64bit plugins and WILL NOT work worth 32 bit versions* should be in all advertising. THis would have avoided all these *quiz* off people as well.
Non-participating in perpetuity. Enjoy your forum

User avatar
DLearyUS
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by DLearyUS » Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:46 am

i would have to agree with you it is a pretty major change / consideration when purchasing a product that has supported both since version 5. these days i find this happening more...eg ikmultimedia amplitube is only 64bit now. hope all works out for you :-)
Cubase v9.5 Pro / Win10-64 Pro/ Tascam FW-1884+FE8+FE8 / ART TubeOpto8 Xpander

shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by shanabit » Sat Dec 10, 2016 3:39 am

DLearyUS wrote:i would have to agree with you it is a pretty major change / consideration when purchasing a product that has supported both since version 5. these days i find this happening more...eg ikmultimedia amplitube is only 64bit now. hope all works out for you :-)

Im all 64 bit here, have been for two years, its the point and this is the 2nd time steins has done this, DX was the first plugin they dropped and didn't tell anyone at all
Non-participating in perpetuity. Enjoy your forum

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Weasel » Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:18 am

Apparently doesn't work with OSX later than 10.10
You're on a Mac, right? Check out Sound Radix's 32 Lives. Works like a charm and runs
so much easier and better than JBridge ever did. Totally brainless to run and no stupid wrapped apps filling up your dock. 32 bit plugs run more efficiently than Steinberg's lame bitbridge and JBridge. $20 bucks off right now.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

Patepro
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Patepro » Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:33 am

sentinel is the right way. There is no other way to force developers to go on 64 bit. on the other hand you got more possibilities with 64bit. i think you should contact jbridge. i got plenty of 32 bit vsti and vst effect. no blacklist and no problem which could not be solved by jbridge.
C10 - Windows 10-64
i7 8700K - Asus-Prime-A - 32 GB RAM - MSI GTX1070 - Apple Cinema 30
RME UCX (USB used) - many VSTi, many plugs

User avatar
Minimalist
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Minimalist » Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:48 pm

I would have voted for dropping 32 bit even if some of my plugins won't work anymore. It's a pain when Cubase bombs.

User avatar
Parrotspain
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Parrotspain » Sat Dec 10, 2016 3:09 pm

I have a solid group of 32 bit plugs that I still cherish and use, they don't cause crashes and have been working well in C8.5, mainly without JBridge - though I need it for some.

This "amputation" was announced - ish! It's true, but for me it completely screws with backwards compatability. I don't want to have to keep multiple versions of Cubase on an already busy SSD. I would like the new features of C9 and would pay the price but for this.

So, until JBridge catches up or Steinberg see sense and make the plug in sentinel tolerant or optional, I am holding back.

Steinie, you are at grave risk of losing yet another professional and devotee (since Pro24)

As to refund, I think it's completely justified, as the implications of this change weren't clearly stated in the promotion in my opinion. It has been spun as an improvement to program stability, not as a major loss of functionality.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40

Win10 Home 64. Biostar A960D+ AMD FX8350. 32Gb.
Softube Console 1 Mk2, TC Powercore, Faderport

User avatar
JACKnight
Junior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by JACKnight » Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:22 pm

A really workable idea is to use Vienna Ensemble for 32bit stuff.

Cheers
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX1050ti / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / Fireface 802-ADI8pro / UAD 2 Duo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 9.5, Nuendo 8.2, Wavelab 9.5

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Jalcide » Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:29 pm

JACKnight wrote:A really workable idea is to use Vienna Ensemble for 32bit stuff.

Cheers
But only for VSTis.

Or, very simple reverb-oriented effects, in simple "sends" use-cases, using Vienna's Audio Input plugin. In my real-world examples, sync issues happened using Vienna's Audio Input.

Long story short: The way Vienna's Audio Input bypasses the normal way audio outputs for inserts, and instead teleports (circumvents) to a server instance receiver on another buss, causes PDC (Plugin Delay Compensation) issues if the PDC value is different between those two busses.

Basically, Vienna's Audio Input was designed, mainly, for reverb sends, where the problem is avoided.

Just a heads up in case you try it and run into sync/delay issues.

That said, if you get lucky and are working entirely with zero latency plugins, or are not using complex Group Busses, you may get Vienna's Audio Input working fine without sync issues.

I should note that this is not a Cubase issue or a DAW issue, or even a "bug" per se in Vienna, but an inherent limitation in the way Vienna's Audio Input is architected (how it circumvents, and also how it reports a fixed latency). It doesn't let the DAW properly do its PDC thing.

To long, don't read, but my saga is posted here for anyone interested: https://www.vsl.co.at/community/posts/t ... post227378
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
Fitz
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Fitz » Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:30 pm

Weasel wrote:
Apparently doesn't work with OSX later than 10.10
You're on a Mac, right? Check out Sound Radix's 32 Lives. Works like a charm and runs
so much easier and better than JBridge ever did. Totally brainless to run and no stupid wrapped apps filling up your dock. 32 bit plugs run more efficiently than Steinberg's lame bitbridge and JBridge. $20 bucks off right now.
Thanks to someone posting this in the other thread, this is actually the route I've taken and I agree it's great. (Hope I got the discount actually - I didn't notice!)

It's actually better than the 8.5 bridge as you see the GUI just like back in the 32 bit day :)
macOS 10.11.x / C9.5 Pro

vinark
Member
Posts: 573
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Refunds?

Post by vinark » Thu Dec 15, 2016 5:12 pm

I think the OP deserves a refund! I knew about 64bit only because a visit the forum regularly but nowhere on the site is this mentioned in the system requirements! So it is easy not to be aware of it. A simple needs 64 bits OS and plugins would have been enough. That said I happily use some 32 bit plugs with Jbridge , but this is on windows!
Good luck to the OP!

User avatar
Fitz
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: Refunds?

Post by Fitz » Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:28 pm

For info - Steinberg offered me a refund which was appreciated and the right thing to do, however after recommendations of people here I bought a license for 32 Lives which is great (however it does double the cost of the upgrade to C9) so I refused their offer and will stick with C9.

I do however stand by my suggestion that Steinberg should clearly indicate that they have removed 32bit plugin support from C9 somewhere that is clearly visible before purchase so that people can make an informed decision.
macOS 10.11.x / C9.5 Pro

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests