Yamaha PSR- S keyboards and CB 9

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Yamaha PSR- S keyboards and CB 9

Post by kimbo72 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:11 pm

Hi there,

Is there anyone who uses a Yamaha psr- s--- keyboard with Cubase.

I can run it but the keyboard don't sent the FX like delay of distortion to Cubase.
Am i i missing something in the settings from the keyboard or Cubase?

Regards Kimbo
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR- S keyboards and CB 9

Post by kimbo72 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:21 pm

Any one use external instruments with Cubase?
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR- S keyboards and CB 9

Post by Grim » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:42 pm

Please clarify which exact model of PSR and how this is all connected and integrated into Cubase.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR- S keyboards and CB 9

Post by kimbo72 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:54 am

Grim wrote:Please clarify which exact model of PSR and how this is all connected and integrated into Cubase.
I have a Yamaha psr-s970 keyboard.
With a USB cable to my desktop and 2 jack cables to my NI komplete audio 6
I have installed the device for the psr-s970 keyboard in cubase 9 so i can choose the presets of the keyboard.
But it is not fully working in CB 9 sometimes the FX from the keyboard is totally wrong.

I hope i can use it fully with Cubase 9.
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR- S keyboards and CB 9

Post by Grim » Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:56 am

If you are recording/listening audio via the NI komplete then the problem must be at the keyboard end?

When you say the FX are wrong...what does this mean ....wrong compared to what??
If you listen to the keyboard with headphones is it the same or different than you're hearing over the audio outputs?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR- S keyboards and CB 9

Post by kimbo72 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 6:57 pm

Grim wrote:If you are recording/listening audio via the NI komplete then the problem must be at the keyboard end?

When you say the FX are wrong...what does this mean ....wrong compared to what??
If you listen to the keyboard with headphones is it the same or different than you're hearing over the audio outputs?
I think that Cubase don't send or receive the good information from my PSR-S970.
On the keyboard i can here the good sound/preset when i playing on it in Cubase.
But when im playing in cubase on my Komplete Kontrol keyboard the FX of that sound/preset are gone.

With FX in mean the FX on each sound/preset like decay, chorus, distortion exc.
A electric guitar comes whit a distortion FX but in cubase is that distortion gone.

Thanks for helping, and sorry for my bad english im a dutch man.
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR- S keyboards and CB 9

Post by Grim » Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:17 pm

OK..This is nothing to do with Cubase. It is the rather odd way that the keyboard assigns it's built in FX.

There is some discussion here which confirms that this happens when using any external controller.

http://www.psrtutorial.com/forum/index. ... ic=19879.0

I really can't help any more than this without the keyboard here to play around with but seems like you need to look into the Voice Set/Effect settings.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR- S keyboards and CB 9

Post by kimbo72 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:46 pm

Ok anyway thanks for your help.
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests