Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editing

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.

Is the Lower Zone Useful or a hinderence for editing

Poll ended at Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:43 am

I love it
34
44%
Still Trying to get used to it
25
32%
I hate it and have disabled it
18
23%
 
Total votes: 77

mart
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editing

Post by mart » Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:43 am

I've tried to warm to the idea but for me I've disabled the lower zone. It eats up too much screen space and I find editing using it too fiddly.
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3854
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by Prock » Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:52 am

mart wrote:I've tried to warm to the idea but for me I've disabled the lower zone. It eats up too much screen space and I find editing using it too fiddly.
I really don't "Hate" it as mentioned in the survey but, I have disabled it for the same reason you stated.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9172
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by -steve- » Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:07 am

Loving it on my 2560x1600 monitor.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by djw » Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:18 am

SteveInChicago wrote:Loving it on my 2560x1600 monitor.
I'm jealous. It's very cramped on my 2560x1080 monitor.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3864
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by raino » Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:02 pm

The poll needs another option. I find that for some tasks the Lower Zone is great, but for other tasks the full Window editor works better. So I don't think it's an either/or situation. Like when you're cooking - sometimes the big knife is best while other times it's the little one.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
JACKnight
Junior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by JACKnight » Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:22 pm

Hey,

It took me a bit to get used to it...as with some of the other new features...but once I caught on I found it ingeniously helpful.
I'm working on a pair of 24inch monitors set to 1680x1050 and have set some handy shortcuts on my Mackie MCU...so it has really become a pretty cool thing, especially for a quick peek at the mix or a quick midi edit....

Cheers
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX1050ti / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / Fireface 802-ADI8pro / UAD 2 Duo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 9.5, Nuendo 8.2, Wavelab 9.5

beerbong
Member
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by beerbong » Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:31 pm

For MixConsole - good for Group's and Buses
Sampler - Really good
Chord Pads - really good
Audio Editor - seems kind of weak for editing things.. I find the purpose for this editor a bit confusing as to it's purpose.
  • no snap or snap to hit-points
    the Draw button does nothing (probably should start applying volume edit right away?)
    probably should have some hitpoint slider + tools here for use of basic copy paste, trimming on hitpoint. example of usage that I could use here - double left-click an area selects the area between hit-points. Another click+drag lets you start moving that part.
Key Editor - not bad, looks good right away. Maybe a feature to help keep relevant notes always in view
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

mart
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by mart » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:19 pm

beerbong wrote:For MixConsole - good for Group's and Buses
Sampler - Really good
Chord Pads - really good
Audio Editor - seems kind of weak for editing things.. I find the purpose for this editor a bit confusing as to it's purpose.
  • no snap or snap to hit-points
    the Draw button does nothing (probably should start applying volume edit right away?)
    probably should have some hitpoint slider + tools here for use of basic copy paste, trimming on hitpoint. example of usage that I could use here - double left-click an area selects the area between hit-points. Another click+drag lets you start moving that part.
Key Editor - not bad, looks good right away. Maybe a feature to help keep relevant notes always in view

Its generally the editor I'm getting at with this poll.

The sampler thing doesnt interest me. Its nothing I couldnt do with Kontakt. The duplicated mix console which doesnt sync to the other mix console also doesnt interest me. I already have the mixer up on a second screen and a remote surface in front of me
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

Niles
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:41 am

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by Niles » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:30 pm

raino wrote:I find that for some tasks the Lower Zone is great, but for other tasks the full Window editor works better.
Yes, same here. Very usefull for quick edits across the project.

jpgtr
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by jpgtr » Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:54 pm

No C9 here - but I never liked the "lower zone" feature (SB obviously borrowed) in Logic Pro X.
2012 Mac Pro 10.13.6, 24 GB RAM, Nuendo 10.1 UAD-2 Duo

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by Winter Rat » Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:19 pm

It can't be a hindrance because you can disable it.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3864
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by raino » Thu Dec 22, 2016 12:55 am

Winter Rat wrote:It can't be a hindrance because you can disable it.
Excellent point.

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: But why should I need to disable it. It should be configured exactly like I want it by default. :roll:
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1807
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by GargoyleStudio » Thu Dec 22, 2016 1:02 am

I've disabled it for editors because I have an existing workflow with my 2 monitors... I can't use the mixer because it doesn't have the ControlRoom section... I haven't had to use the sampler yet in a composition, nor the chord pads... I haven't voted because you haven't given me an option which says 'I haven't found a need for it yet'. Perhaps when I'm working on my laptop I'll use it? So, it looks like it should be useful but I guess not in my workflow right now.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.0 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, Arturia]

shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by shanabit » Thu Dec 22, 2016 1:10 am

I really don't understand all the moaning about the lower zone. Its primary use is for smaller laptops and to put it on parity with Logic and StudioOne, if you don't like it turn the thing off!! Im digging it
Last edited by shanabit on Thu Dec 22, 2016 1:26 am, edited 2 times in total.
Non-participating in perpetuity. Enjoy your forum

User avatar
kresbeatz
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:38 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by kresbeatz » Thu Dec 22, 2016 1:12 am

Really really like it. My workflow now much faster. Always using it on my 34" UltraWide 3440x1440 display.
i7-5820 / 32GB RAM + Benq 32" + RME UFX + UAD OCTO PCIe
Cubase 10.5, HALion 6, Absolute 4, WaveLab 9.5
Moog Sub 37 / Elektron Analog Keys / SE Boomstar 4075 / Clavia Nord Lead 4 / DSI Prophet-6 / Neve 1073LB x2, Strymon BigSky, Strymon Mobius
Expert Sleepers ES-3, ES-5 and ESX-8MD

digitalgeist
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:39 am
Location: Fairfield, CT
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by digitalgeist » Thu Dec 22, 2016 4:49 am

Loving it so far. Not so much for the mixer which I put on a second monitor altogether, but for sample editing and MIDI editing it's great! Very much like Ableton Live, in fact I caught myself hitting shift+tab earlier today to switch views by mistake (which is the hotkey for that in Live).
Thanks!
-Alex
Mid 2014 MacBook Pro
2.5GHz i7, 16GB RAM
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

User avatar
Frog
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by Frog » Thu Dec 22, 2016 5:37 am

Single monitor user here, laptop or 24" inch monitor. Having used other DAW with the so-called consolidated window, I really like the lower zone. I size it as needed, then only open it when needing to made an edit, or set mixer levels for several tracks. Otherwise, I use the arrange window, now Project Zone wide open.

When I need a full screen key, score editor, or mixer, then I use key commands for that.
2017 2.9GHz MBP; 2012 quad core i7 Mac Mini, SSDx2, 16 GB RAM; macOS 10.4, Apollo Quad via TB, Cubase Pro 9.5, HALion 6/Iconica, GA4.2, Dorico 1.2, MIDI guitars, Motif Rack XS-fw16e

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by suntower » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:05 am

There should be a 'I have no strong feelings either way' option.

I'm not using it, but I understand why some might... what with all the talk about a 'single window interface'.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
jimknopf
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by jimknopf » Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:27 am

Love it. Does exactly what I want for fast workflow in one screen situations. Wouldn't want to work without it ever again!

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by Winter Rat » Thu Dec 22, 2016 1:40 pm

raino wrote:
Winter Rat wrote:It can't be a hindrance because you can disable it.
Excellent point.

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: But why should I need to disable it. It should be configured exactly like I want it by default. :roll:
What do you exactly mean? Do you need additional settings of any kind for the Lower Zone or what?
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3864
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by raino » Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:34 pm

Winter Rat wrote:
raino wrote:
Winter Rat wrote:It can't be a hindrance because you can disable it.
Excellent point.

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: But why should I need to disable it. It should be configured exactly like I want it by default. :roll:
What do you exactly mean? Do you need additional settings of any kind for the Lower Zone or what?
Time to get a tuneup on your snark detector. :D

I was making fun of folks who complain about having to go through the horrible effort it takes to change a preference because the default isn't the way they'd set it. ;)
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1298
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by silhouette » Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:27 am

A tiresome, irrelevant waste of development time that could have gone into solving features that don't work properly. Just my opinion of course. There is not enough space on a larger screen, so I can't see how it could be useful on a small laptop screen. Luckily I don't have to deal with it and it has gone...forever.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 10 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 12 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette x 3 - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

Tracker
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by Tracker » Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:44 am

I turned it off as I can't find a use for it that improves my workflow with 3 monitors.
I did create a key command for - create sampler track - when an audio region is selected this automatically brings up the sampler editor in the lower zone. Then I have to click the arrow in the top right corner to get it to open up big on one of my other screens in it's own window which still doesn't close it in the LZ.
I have preferences set to - double click opens editor in a window - but that doesn't wotk for the sampler track. Am I missing something simple?
Cubase 10.5, Windows 10 64bit, RME HDSPe AIO, UAD-2
I7 6800k(4.3ghz), Asus X99-A, 64gb 3200 ddr4(4x16)
Radeon RX560 triple monitors (2x22" dvi, 1x55" 4k hdmi).

mart
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by mart » Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:33 am

silhouette wrote:A tiresome, irrelevant waste of development time that could have gone into solving features that don't work properly. Just my opinion of course. There is not enough space on a larger screen, so I can't see how it could be useful on a small laptop screen. Luckily I don't have to deal with it and it has gone...forever.
I agree with everything you have said. I think the software is worse off for it
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: Is the Lower Zone usable or a hinderance for editi

Post by mitchiemasha » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:58 am

I don't hate it but i don't use it. I will use it for the sampler though. Just not at that point in any of my projects.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests