LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
chimpspanner
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:49 pm
Contact:

LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by chimpspanner » Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:58 am

So say I have a parameter on an insert, and I want a sinusoidal/square/etc. movement to it. Is there any way to do this without automation (which would result in many automation points)? Could I use something like auto LFO to drive it, or is there some other function in Cubase that'd allow me to do this? Thanks!
http://www.paulortizmusic.com

HP Envy J130ea | i7 4700MQ | 12GB RAM | 2GB GeForce 740m | Win 10 64-bit | Cubase Pro 8.5

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by djw » Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:48 am

Nope, nothing like that is built in. It's on many people's wish list.

User avatar
TEEF
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 2:38 pm
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by TEEF » Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:25 am

chimpspanner wrote:So say I have a parameter on an insert, and I want a sinusoidal/square/etc. movement to it. Is there any way to do this without automation (which would result in many automation points)? Could I use something like auto LFO to drive it, or is there some other function in Cubase that'd allow me to do this? Thanks!
This may be of help?

viewtopic.php?f=198&t=101364&hilit=Alexis
TEEF

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by djw » Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:55 am

I think this would be the closest thing for MIDI, but I haven't gotten it to work myself.

http://www.cableguys.com/midishaper.html

chimpspanner
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by chimpspanner » Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:21 pm

Hm, yeah I can see in theory how using QC's would work but I also can't quite get it going.

Seems to me that Cubase would benefit from internal modulation sources that can be tied to plugin parameters (and, I suppose, interpreted as host automation data). Those modulation sources could, in turn, be controlled by/performed with MIDI (key presses to LFO reset, note value to automation value, etc.).

I'm sure people could do a lot of great things with that kind of functionality.

Until then, this is why I spend half my time in Reason 9! :lol:
http://www.paulortizmusic.com

HP Envy J130ea | i7 4700MQ | 12GB RAM | 2GB GeForce 740m | Win 10 64-bit | Cubase Pro 8.5

User avatar
PulsePsycle
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:20 am
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by PulsePsycle » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:25 am

djw wrote:I think this would be the closest thing for MIDI, but I haven't gotten it to work myself.

http://www.cableguys.com/midishaper.html
Works great. I use it with VST, VSTi, Hardware synths, even modular.
Latest version x64 - Win10 x64 - 12GB - i7 - M-Audio 2626 x 3 - ESI M8U XL x 3.
Favorite synths: Doepfer A100 System ,Oberheim SEM Pro, Moog Voyager, Korg Odyssey.

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by djw » Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:19 pm

PulsePsycle wrote:
djw wrote:I think this would be the closest thing for MIDI, but I haven't gotten it to work myself.

http://www.cableguys.com/midishaper.html
Works great. I use it with VST, VSTi, Hardware synths, even modular.
How do you set it up in C9? The Cableguys guide just doesn't work for me. No note data comes through.

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by vic_france » Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:45 pm

Provided you have available some kind of MIDI Loopback, you can use the Auto LFO MIDI plugin (on a MIDI track, therefore), routed to the MIDI Loopback Send, and then pilot QuickControls, in the Device Setup menu, from the MIDI Loopback Return.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by djw » Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:03 pm

vic_france wrote:Provided you have available some kind of MIDI Loopback, you can use the Auto LFO MIDI plugin (on a MIDI track, therefore), routed to the MIDI Loopback Send, and then pilot QuickControls, in the Device Setup menu, from the MIDI Loopback Return.
Do you mean a virtual midi cable? That wouldn't be ideal since then the project will only play properly on a computer with that same setup.

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by vic_france » Wed Dec 21, 2016 6:15 pm

djw wrote:
vic_france wrote:Provided you have available some kind of MIDI Loopback, you can use the Auto LFO MIDI plugin (on a MIDI track, therefore), routed to the MIDI Loopback Send, and then pilot QuickControls, in the Device Setup menu, from the MIDI Loopback Return.
Do you mean a virtual midi cable? That wouldn't be ideal since then the project will only play properly on a computer with that same setup.
On PC that would be the case (Mac has its own IAC Bus.. specifically for that purpose). But there are freeware MIDI Loopback apps easily available.. you'd only need to reset the MIDI routing from the MIDI track and to the Quick Controls.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
PulsePsycle
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:20 am
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by PulsePsycle » Thu Dec 22, 2016 7:06 pm

djw wrote:
PulsePsycle wrote:
djw wrote:I think this would be the closest thing for MIDI, but I haven't gotten it to work myself.

http://www.cableguys.com/midishaper.html
Works great. I use it with VST, VSTi, Hardware synths, even modular.
How do you set it up in C9? The Cableguys guide just doesn't work for me. No note data comes through.
This is how I set it up. I'm still on 8.5 but it should work on 9 I assume.

First I put MidiShaper as an insert on an Audio Track
Cable01Capture.PNG
(16.33 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Second I point the input routing of a midi track to the Midi Shaper of the audio track
Cable02Capture.PNG
(35.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Third Choose a Midi CC in the Midi Shaper.
There should be activity in the Midi Track now.
Put Monitor to ON on the Midi track otherwise you loose activity when selecting another track.
Cable03Capture.PNG
(126.96 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Fourth Set the Output Routing of the Midi Track to your Synth, FX or whatever.
Or, use the Midi Sends for this purpose. That way you can set up 4 Synths, whatever simultaneously.

Seems I can upload 3 attachments only but the fourth step is obvious I hope.

Succes.
Latest version x64 - Win10 x64 - 12GB - i7 - M-Audio 2626 x 3 - ESI M8U XL x 3.
Favorite synths: Doepfer A100 System ,Oberheim SEM Pro, Moog Voyager, Korg Odyssey.

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by djw » Thu Dec 22, 2016 7:35 pm

Thanks for that guide, I'll try it out. Off-topic: were you actually one of the people who used Psycle?

User avatar
PulsePsycle
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:20 am
Contact:

Re: LFO routing in Cubase - is it possible?

Post by PulsePsycle » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:23 am

djw wrote:Thanks for that guide, I'll try it out. Off-topic: were you actually one of the people who used Psycle?
Nope.
Latest version x64 - Win10 x64 - 12GB - i7 - M-Audio 2626 x 3 - ESI M8U XL x 3.
Favorite synths: Doepfer A100 System ,Oberheim SEM Pro, Moog Voyager, Korg Odyssey.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests