Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
richardrli
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:54 am
Contact:

Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by richardrli » Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:20 am

I want to apply reverb to only a small portion of a track, but the inserts menu automatically applies reverb to the entire track. How can I do this without needing to create a new track?

claesbjo
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by claesbjo » Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:45 am

well, you can´t. Not like in studio one or reaper, where you can put inserts on separate events within a track.

I would probably do an offline processing of the part, or send to a reverb and automate the send
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3033
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by peakae » Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:44 am

Or just automate the bypass on your insert.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Jim B
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by Jim B » Wed Dec 21, 2016 6:47 pm

Not at my computer at the moment but it CAN be done.
Can't let us know your set up and which version of Cubase you are using?
I will post the solution in about an hour.
Musician, songwriter, singer, guitarist, band member.
System: HP Ali-in-One 24-f0xx, Intel i3-813OU CPU @2.20GHz 2.21 GHz, Windows 10 64bit.
DAW: Cubase Pro 10.30, Focusrite 2nd gen 1818i interface, Padshop Pro, Halion Sonic 3, VST Connect Pro, PreSonus e 4.5 monitors, AKG K240 cans.
Instruments: M Audio KeyRig 49, Sigma OMT-1STE+ acoustic guitar , Washburn D20n acoustic guitar, Weissenborn lap slide acoustic guitar, Epiphone resonator acoustic guitar, Fender Deluxe Roadhouse stratocaster

Our band singles recorded using Cubase & VST Connect: https://soundcloud.com/stanhope-road

Jim B
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by Jim B » Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:32 pm

Right,

This is how I do it:

Select range selection tool and highlight the section you want to add reverb to.
Go to Audio>Plug ins>reverb and select the reverb or any other plug in you want to use
At the bottom of the reverb ( or whatever effect you choose) GUI you will see some extra buttons or tabs which are:
More - Preview - Process - Cancel
By "preview"-ing you can hear the results of the parameters you've set for the particular section you have highlighted.
Once you are happy with the sound click "Process" at the bottom of the effect GUI

Job done,

Best,

Jim B
Musician, songwriter, singer, guitarist, band member.
System: HP Ali-in-One 24-f0xx, Intel i3-813OU CPU @2.20GHz 2.21 GHz, Windows 10 64bit.
DAW: Cubase Pro 10.30, Focusrite 2nd gen 1818i interface, Padshop Pro, Halion Sonic 3, VST Connect Pro, PreSonus e 4.5 monitors, AKG K240 cans.
Instruments: M Audio KeyRig 49, Sigma OMT-1STE+ acoustic guitar , Washburn D20n acoustic guitar, Weissenborn lap slide acoustic guitar, Epiphone resonator acoustic guitar, Fender Deluxe Roadhouse stratocaster

Our band singles recorded using Cubase & VST Connect: https://soundcloud.com/stanhope-road

ceemusic
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by ceemusic » Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:23 pm

Put the verb on a send normally & automate the send level.

richardrli
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:54 am
Contact:

Re: Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by richardrli » Thu Dec 22, 2016 12:20 am

Jim B wrote:Not at my computer at the moment but it CAN be done.
Can't let us know your set up and which version of Cubase you are using?
I will post the solution in about an hour.
I'm using Cubase Elements 9

richardrli
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:54 am
Contact:

Re: Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by richardrli » Thu Dec 22, 2016 12:23 am

Jim B wrote:Right,

This is how I do it:

Select range selection tool and highlight the section you want to add reverb to.
Go to Audio>Plug ins>reverb and select the reverb or any other plug in you want to use
At the bottom of the reverb ( or whatever effect you choose) GUI you will see some extra buttons or tabs which are:
More - Preview - Process - Cancel
By "preview"-ing you can hear the results of the parameters you've set for the particular section you have highlighted.
Once you are happy with the sound click "Process" at the bottom of the effect GUI

Job done,

Best,

Jim B
So I'm not finding the plugin option under audio. Perhaps you have a different version of Cubase? I've attached a screenshot of what I have
Attachments
Screenshot (69).png
(164.28 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Jim B
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by Jim B » Thu Dec 22, 2016 2:18 am

Looks like you have Cubase elements, so I guess you don't have the option I outlined, sorry about that.
That's why it's a good idea to show your system spec in your signature.
Looks like it will be the sends and automation route then.

Good luck,

Jim N the
Musician, songwriter, singer, guitarist, band member.
System: HP Ali-in-One 24-f0xx, Intel i3-813OU CPU @2.20GHz 2.21 GHz, Windows 10 64bit.
DAW: Cubase Pro 10.30, Focusrite 2nd gen 1818i interface, Padshop Pro, Halion Sonic 3, VST Connect Pro, PreSonus e 4.5 monitors, AKG K240 cans.
Instruments: M Audio KeyRig 49, Sigma OMT-1STE+ acoustic guitar , Washburn D20n acoustic guitar, Weissenborn lap slide acoustic guitar, Epiphone resonator acoustic guitar, Fender Deluxe Roadhouse stratocaster

Our band singles recorded using Cubase & VST Connect: https://soundcloud.com/stanhope-road

beanstalk40
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: Apply Reverb to Portion of Track

Post by beanstalk40 » Thu Dec 22, 2016 4:39 am

Another method...

1.Duplicate the track.
2.in the duplicated track keep only that portion on which you want reverb. Delete this same portion from the original track.
3.insert reverb on duplicated track.
Machine 1 - WIN 10 x64, Cubase 10.5 Pro, Intel Core i7 4790k, Gigabyte GA-Z97M-D3H, 16GB RAM, EMU 1820M

Machine 2 (laptop) - WIN 8.1 x64, Cubase 10.5 Pro, HP Envy J111TX, Core i7 4700MQ, 8GB RAM, Audient ID4

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests