Switching from Elements to Artist

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Switching from Elements to Artist

Post by Vendimion » Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:37 pm

Hi everybody,

I've been looking the comparison version and apart more Audio and Midi tracks, more effects and more virtual instruments (which for the last doesn't attract me at all) I was wondering what was the real interest in switching from Elements to Artist taking into account the expensive price of it.

I've already noticed, and really disapointed, that the Overview Line option have been removed from Cubase Elements 8 to Elements 9! Is it available in Artist 9? (viewtopic.php?f=250&t=108921)

Could you guys tell me the reasons why you choosed to switch from Elements to Artist

Thanks a lot for your comments

Best,
Julian
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3789
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Switching from Elements to Artist

Post by Prock » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:34 pm

You have seen the comparison chart. Have you considered these additional functions/features? These alone would make it "worth it" for me.

Render in-place
Dedicated punch points
Full instrument expression control
TrackVersions
MixConsole History

You'll also have to purchase a USB eLicenser. That allows you to use your software on different computers (by plugging the eLicenser into the other computer). Of course you could do the same with your Elements version if you transfer the soft eLicense to a USB eLicense.

https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/c ... rison.html

Have fun choosing ;)

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Switching from Elements to Artist

Post by Jenks » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:46 pm

Artist has 24 physical I/O ports available - Elements has 24.
Artist has up to 64 audio, 128 MIDI and 32 instrument tracks - Elements has 48 audio, 64 MIDI and 24 instrument tracks.
Artist has more VSTi's slots than Elements.
Artist has MixConsole History, Elements doesn't.
Artist has full-screen mode, Elements doesn't.
Artist has sidechaining, Elements doesn't.
Artist has 32 Group Channels, Elements has half that.
Artist Key and Drum editors and Chord Pads are enhanced in Artist - basic in Elements.
Artist has Track Versions and Full Instrument Expression control - Elements doesn't.
Artist has more VSTi's and Plug-ins than Elements.
Artist has full audio editing toolset, Elements only has basic.
Artist has Realtime time-stretching and pitch-shifting including zplane Elastique v3 algorithms - Elements can only do this for playback.
Artist supports Lanes and Comping and dedicated punch points - Elements has none of these.
Artist has Track Visibilities, Render-in-place and VST Transit - Elements doesn't.

Apart from that, they are the same.
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Switching from Elements to Artist

Post by Vendimion » Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:58 pm

Ok, got it!

Thanks for the comments
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rvolkman and 5 guests