Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
cubasekitkat
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:24 am
Contact:

Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by cubasekitkat » Thu Dec 22, 2016 2:27 pm

Hi Cubasers, :ugeek:

I read around the web that if you have a mono track you can't put a stereo delay insert on it, with Cubase, and you have to set an FX send to apply a stereo delay on a mono track.
Further, I have a few Waves' plugins that come in both mono and stereo version.
But if I open an insert on a mono track - I've Cubase 7.5 - looks like I can put a stereo delay on it.

Can you please clarify me how to deal with mono and stereo inserts on Cubase?

Thank you.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3785
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by Prock » Thu Dec 22, 2016 2:45 pm

There are a few ways to take care of this. For me... I always just record my mono source/bus to a stereo audio track (I currently have no need to use a mono track). The link I attached is a conversation about this method, other methods, pro/cons, etc.

viewtopic.php?f=198&t=100307&hilit=mono

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

cubasekitkat
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:24 am
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by cubasekitkat » Thu Dec 22, 2016 2:59 pm

Prock wrote:There are a few ways to take care of this. For me... I always just record my mono source/bus to a stereo audio track (I currently have no need to use a mono track). The link I attached is a conversation about this method, other methods, pro/cons, etc.

viewtopic.php?f=198&t=100307&hilit=mono

Regards 8-)
Hi Prock and t.y.

Can you explain me how mono and stereo inserts work on Cubase please?
i.e. I have a mono audio track. Can I apply a stereo insert right on it, yes or not?
i.e. only stereo insert with stereo audio track tracks and viceversa?
Gonna check that link.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3785
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by Prock » Thu Dec 22, 2016 4:07 pm

cubasekitkat wrote:
Prock wrote:There are a few ways to take care of this. For me... I always just record my mono source/bus to a stereo audio track (I currently have no need to use a mono track). The link I attached is a conversation about this method, other methods, pro/cons, etc.

viewtopic.php?f=198&t=100307&hilit=mono

Regards 8-)
Hi Prock and t.y.

Can you explain me how mono and stereo inserts work on Cubase please?
i.e. I have a mono audio track. Can I apply a stereo insert right on it, yes or not?
i.e. only stereo insert with stereo audio track tracks and viceversa?
Gonna check that link.
I'm really not smart enough to explain "how" mono and stereo inserts work with Cubase. But I can say this... over the years I have learned that some stereo insert effects will not sound right when you apply them to a recording being played back on a mono audio track. But you can just copy or move that mono audio recording to a stereo audio track and now that same stereo insert effect seems to work and sound fine and mono insert effects sound fine too. So I never record any audio to a mono track. Period.

Please note that when recording a mono source (like a mic or guitar) you really need to record that through a mono bus. That mono bus can be assigned to a stereo (or mono) audio track. If you record the mono source through a stereo bus, then you will probably get issues. So don't do that.

Again, that's just me, and as you can see and read in the other post, there are many different views/reasons for recording and not recording this way.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

cubasekitkat
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:24 am
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by cubasekitkat » Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:45 pm

@Prock. Thank you.
The point is that we are in a Cubase forum linked by Steinberg itself.
Understanding the correct workflow between mono and stereo inserts into a DAW is not a superficial thing.
It is essential, basic.
I appreciate you help but I'd just like to have a qualified, precise and concise answer from Steinberg.
I am not asking the moon here.

Best.

P.s. I am not talking much about recording tho, I am more on a mixing side in this question.

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by Grim » Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:34 pm

If you need a stereo result then the plug must be on a stereo channel.
You can still put a stereo plug on a mono channel but the result will be mono.

So you can put mono audio on to a stereo track to achieve this as Prock suggested or you can route to a stereo group and insert the plugin there (set mix as desired)or for typical send FX like reverb or delay you can use stereo FX channel and send to it (Always set mix 100% wet in the plug)
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by silhouette » Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:36 pm

One thing I have found about using a mono track with insert effects is that panning is fairly staightforward. If you are using a mono source on a stereo track with stereo insert effects you should use the combined panner so that you don't lose some of the stereo signal. Obviously the combined panner narrows the stereo field to the required position in the mix.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by djw » Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:55 pm

cubasekitkat wrote:The point is that we are in a Cubase forum linked by Steinberg itself.
I appreciate you help but I'd just like to have a qualified, precise and concise answer from Steinberg.
This forum isn't an official support channel so you'll mostly be talking to other users.

beanstalk40
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by beanstalk40 » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:52 pm

Found this...

viewtopic.php?p=474099

Should help...
Machine 1 - WIN 7 x64, Cubase 9.5 Pro, Intel Core i7 4790k, Gigabyte GA-Z97M-D3H, 16GB RAM, EMU 1820M

Machine 2 (laptop) - WIN 8.1 x64, Cubase 9.5 Pro, HP Envy J111TX, Core i7 4700MQ, 8GB RAM, Audient ID4

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1716
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by suntower » Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:27 pm

beanstalk40 wrote:Found this...

viewtopic.php?p=474099

Should help...
The answer Martin gives near the bottom is how I mostly work. The fact is that many plug-ins don't work properly with a 'Mono' Audio track UNLESS the vendor has a mono-specific version (like Waves or UA do with many of their plugs). Eg. a modulation plug may only give you the left side of the effect with a 'Mono' channel... not what one expects.

Always using a Stereo channel gives me one less thing to think about. I don't see a down side.

<HTH>

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

PeppaPig
Member
Posts: 914
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono and stereo plugins novice question.

Post by PeppaPig » Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:14 pm

I used to always use stereo tracks, however with uad stuff it costs you twice as much dsp power, so for stuff like compression etc. I deal with in mono but then send to a stereo track if I want stereo signal processing.
Cubase Pro 10.00.40, 9.5, Pro9.0.20. WaveLab 9 EL. UA Apollo Quad FW, UA PCI Octo, UA Satelite Quad, Adam T5V, Golden Audio pre73 DLX, Behringer ADA8200, Joe Meek AC3, Intel i7 6850x@4.2Ghz (6C/12T), Asus x99 Deluxe II, AMD 6450 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 860 and 850 SSDs, 64Gb RAM - Melodyne Studio, Komplete ultimate 11, Halion 6, GA,GA2,GA3,GA4 (+sp), OZ6, OZ7, OZ8 adv, Neutron Adv, BFD3, SoundToys rack, Panorama P1, M-Audio Oxygen, Yamaha YPP55 - outboard: PRO VLAII, Digitech Time machine RDS4000, 1950s Ferrograph Series 5, Mics: AKG C1000S, Rode NT2A and M5 pair, SE2200A, SE X1R, Fame-VT67 (cheap valve U67 clone), Heil PR20&PR22, Behringer Mic2200 used for reamping with a bit of nastiness!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests