Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
EzziK
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:17 pm
Contact:

Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by EzziK » Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:33 pm

I've bought several cool soundpacks with finished loops that I wanted to try... but ohh.... importaning that into cubase media bay was obsviously a challenge... (??) why ?? how can such a basic thing that I wanna have my own samples instead of just steinbergs is a thing I have to be searching around internet for half an hour without any answer ? Am I missing something very obvious here or what ? or have they made this deliberately unneccesarily pain in the ass so we just use steinberg stuff ? I just dont get it... why have they made such a basic function a mystery ?

EzziK
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by EzziK » Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:34 pm

I'm using cubase 9 btw

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by Grim » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:00 pm

Am I missing something very obvious here or what ?
Who knows....Did you copy the files to your drive already?
So if you use MB file explorer to find the folder you put them in and tick the box next to it does this not add them to mediabay??
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by Mrhehon » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:03 pm

A couple of years back I hated the media bay then one day I made my mind up to get my head around it. I now find it very quick and like the way you can filter say just the audio files or Kick drums or midi files, etc.

The answer to your question is, find the folders that you have added using the browser on the left of the MB and scan these folders. The new files will show up in the MB.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

EzziK
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by EzziK » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:19 pm

My hate for media bay has just started. I'm getting really *quiz* off that something so incredibly basic has to take me a god damn hour while I should be sitting making music.
Nothing happens when I rescan the folder that i've put in the harddrive. It just shows nothing. When I look at it in exxplorer its full of sounds and loops wav. but media bay shows its completely empty..... ughhhhhh

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by Grim » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:28 pm

Could you post a screencap maybe?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

EzziK
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by EzziK » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:37 pm

I finally managed to get the files to show up in media bay when I press f5, but that neat little feature on the right side, nope, can't see it there. But at least i can use the files now.. thats something. I wish I could have it on the right side of that little MB window aswell, would make it so much faster. But it doesn't show up there

misohoza
Member
Posts: 865
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by misohoza » Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:04 pm

You can create new Defined Location.
Select folder on the left, click Add, give it a name.

It won't show as thumbnail but you will be able to access it from the Media Bay rack in project window.
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

xerix
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:13 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by xerix » Fri Dec 23, 2016 2:12 am

- organise your samples maybe by date or type?
- its always better to make your own loops than use others
- it takes like 2 hours to learn media bay -- once you learn it workflow triples in speed

EzziK
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by EzziK » Fri Dec 23, 2016 2:36 am

yeah I've never used loops before, always wrote everything. This is the first time I've needed to use sampler like this and discovering media bay was at first annoying, but now it seems poweful and I'm just scratching the surface like a child. Any good tutorials you recommend ?

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by ZeroZero » Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:12 am

Maybe your using MB's filters by mistake, to screen out your files - that's why you cant find them.
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

EzziK
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by EzziK » Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:39 pm

hmm that doesn't sound impossible, How do I fix that ?

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Media Bay so weird ??

Post by ZeroZero » Fri Dec 23, 2016 10:07 pm

In the results pane, make sure All Media Types is shown on the left hand side. Make sure you don't see red in the search - delete all entry to see all.
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests