Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Al Junior
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:57 pm
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by Al Junior » Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:54 pm

Wepsta wrote:
Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:50 am
Guys look @ this https://sendvid.com/3i5g2pf7
The key is never go under 128 samples with HT On.
128-256 Buffer + HT on + Asioguard = best performance.
HT needs minimum 128 Buffer or you get a popcorn machine ;)
Hi. I tried to repeat your benchmark. In my case, the processors are loaded only by 65%. If I turn off the Hyperthreading, then the processors are loaded by almost 100 percent. But more than 33 Halions do not pull in both cases.
Attachments
halion_cpuload.jpg
(593.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet
PC: Dual Xeon E5-2690 V2, Supermicro X9DAi-O, 64gb RAM, Radeon R7 240, 256 gb Samsung 840 PROx2,
4x512gb Plextor m5 pro raid 0 with LSI Megaraid 9271-4i, 3TB Toshiba x2, Win 10 Pro for Workstations x64 eng
RME HDSPe AIO, Digilab Digicon DAC-202, Genelec 1037B, Cubase 9.5 Pro, Halion 5, Eastwest HS, HB, HW

Wepsta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:51 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by Wepsta » Tue Jan 23, 2018 3:41 pm

Ok nice 👍 to me this looks like the Asio load need more clock speed, the limit is Cubase in this case.
Try it with VEP on same machine your Workstation is much more powerful.
Win 10 Pro - Cubase 9.5 - Apollo Quad MKII Thunderbolt - Core i9-7980XE 3,8Ghz NH-D15 - PRIME X299-A - 32GB DDR4-2666 - 950Pro 512 - GTX 1060 3GB - Super Flower Leadex Gold 1000W ATX 2.3 - Fractal Design Define R5

Zerpio
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by Zerpio » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:16 pm

nicoroy123 wrote:
Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:55 pm
I have managed to improve my ASIO performance significantly on a 6 cores CPU so I thought I could share my settings in case it could help someone.

A lot of problems came from some Intel and Win10 features that are always trying down-clock the CPU speed to save power consumption, which is totally an ASIO killer. This was causing my ASIO meter to be very unstable, and was causing ASIO drop outs on heavy load.

CPU is a i7-6850K base clock at 3.6Ghz with a Turbo Boost at 3.8Ghz and a Turbo Max at 4.0Ghz. Max memory speed at 2400Mhz.

The key for me was to figure out how to "lock" the CPU at 4.0Ghz (Turbo Boost Max), all the time, which is the maximum speed of the CPU, without having Win10 or BIOS feature to down-clock the speed of the CPU.

So here all the BIOS settings I had to manually change to make sure the CPU stays at it's full potential, all the time:

1-Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P) at Profile 1, to have my RAM running at 2400Mhz instead of the default 2133Mhz
2-Intel Turbo Boost Technology: Enabled, all Default
3-Intel Turbo Boost MAX Technology 3.0: Enabled. (This is what makes my CPU running at the max 4.0Ghz.)
4-Hyper Threading: Enabled. Seems to be ok for me

Now to prevents the CPU to be down clocked or down powered:
5-CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E): Disabled
6-C3 State Support: Disabled
7-C6/C7 State Support: Disabled
8-CPU EIST Function (Enhanced Intel® Speed Step Technology): Disabled
9-In Windows, make sure to use the High Performance Power Plan. In advanced properties, make sure to have all Processor Power settings at 100%.

Now, after a reboot, my CPU is locked 4.0Ghz all the time, with my RAM running at 2400Mhz.

My ASIO meter is now barely going over 20%, even under heavy load instead of moving back and forth and causing ASIO drop outs.

Hope it helps someone.
Nick

This can't be upvoted enough, thanks Nick you shurely saved my day and the performance on two mashines : :D

I'm now running 18 synths 64smp buffersize UR44 on Intel Core i7-7800X Skylake-X clocked to 4.5Ghz. I never go above 33% load and I have 2.3ms latency. My system are now rock steady.

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by J-S-Q » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:31 pm

Wepsta wrote:
Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:50 am
Guys look @ this https://sendvid.com/3i5g2pf7
The key is never go under 128 samples with HT On.
128-256 Buffer + HT on + Asioguard = best performance.
HT needs minimum 128 Buffer or you get a popcorn machine ;)
This is what I find too. At a buffer of 64 or 32, performance improves when Hyperthreading is disabled but at 128 or above, it's better with Hyperthreading on. I'm running an AMD 1920x (24 logical cores). Cubase can fully load all 24 cores, given the right type of project.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

Sebaduh
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by Sebaduh » Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:16 am

Any official news on this?
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe,Core i9 7940X,64Gb Ram,Geforce GTX1060,SSD OS,Raid 0 Audio,Rme Fireface 800,Eastwest,VSL,Spitfire,8DIO,etc...Windows version TBD due to compatibility issues.

KeySlinger
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 1:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by KeySlinger » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:55 pm

Is this still a Thing? I mean it was announced almost a year ago :( is this even possible to fix by Steinberg/Microsoft?

User avatar
ntsarb
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:33 am
Location: London

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by ntsarb » Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:12 am

It appears that Windows Pro for Workstations will provide new, kernel-level optimisations for low latency applications.

https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/02/1 ... rkstation/

https://blogs.windows.com/business/2017 ... iCMEUoz.97

The new, relevant power plan is currently available via the Windows insider programme.

Is Steinberg looking into this? Can we have an update on whether Windows Pro for Workstations will affect the performance of Cubase Pro?

Thank you
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Music Hardware: AKAI MPK261, UR22 mkII, CC-121, Roland FP80, Yamaha HS-7, Sennheiser HD380 Pro
Music Software: Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Elements 9.5, Halion 6, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Groove Agent 4, The Grand 3 and various libraries/plugins.
Computer Hardware: ASUS X299-E WS, i9 7900X, 64GB DDR4 RAM, Samsung 850 EVO SSD, 4x GTX 1080 Ti (for HPC), 4x WD Red HDDs in RAID 10 (ReFS).
Computer Software: Win 10 Pro for Workstations, 64bit ver. 1709.

User avatar
ManChicken
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by ManChicken » Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:09 am

Something else for consideration...

https://www.facebook.com/notes/vb-audio ... 165445117/

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hattrixx and 4 guests