Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Thu Oct 19, 2017 3:14 pm

I'm aware I can use the Pitch Shift offline tool but surely there must be a way to pitch shift in real time ie pitching up speeds the track in BPM aswell as giving the chipmunk effect & vice versa for pitching down.

It seems possible if the track is tied to the songs BPM, ie increasing the BPM will pitch shift the track but I don't want my pitch shifting to be tied to song BPM.

Am I missing something here? Any input would be much appreciated.
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17315
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:15 pm

Hi,

You can use Transpose track and Transpose by semitones.

If you mean something more like pitch automation curve, this is not possible.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:50 pm

Thanks for your reply.

When I transpose an audio track by semitones, it applies timestretch. That's the problem. I want transposing to behave as if I was playing the audio via the sampler track with no timestretch involved.

I have a feeling it isn't possible unless I process the audio offline using the Pitch Shift window. This isn't intuitive for me as I'm used to using DJ software like Native Instruments Traktor which lets you change pitch on the fly.
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by AP » Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:47 pm

Audio process > pitch shift...
Cubase Pro 10.20. Latest 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.14 UR28M, CMC.

User avatar
Hippo
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by Hippo » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:45 pm

Try changing to one of the tape modes in the pool

Hippo
i9 9900k 32gig ram Steinberg UR44 Windows 10

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2155
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by marQs » Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:32 pm

What’s asked for is accessible via the infoline. Realtime, instantly, no menus involved.
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo/Quad | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:46 pm

AP wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:47 pm
Audio process > pitch shift...
I mentioned that in my original post but that's offline only.
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:47 pm

Hippo wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:45 pm
Try changing to one of the tape modes in the pool

Hippo
As mentioned, this works (when musical mode is set to musical) but is tied to a songs BPM unless I'm mistaken.
Last edited by 40W on Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:51 pm

marQs wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:32 pm
What’s asked for is accessible via the infoline. Realtime, instantly, no menus involved.
Yes, but it applies timestretch unless in tape mode which is tied to song BPM. I want the same kind of ease of access to transpose but without it timestretching or adjusting the songs overall BPM.

I'm not sure if I've explained things right because all the suggestions so far (which I appreciate btw) I've already made clear I'm aware of, unless of course I've missed something... ?
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

User avatar
Hippo
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by Hippo » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:00 am

I do not understand your problem then
Please post a before and after example using Native Instruments Traktor to give us an idea of what your after.

Hippo
i9 9900k 32gig ram Steinberg UR44 Windows 10

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2155
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by marQs » Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:36 am

40W wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:51 pm
marQs wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:32 pm
What’s asked for is accessible via the infoline. Realtime, instantly, no menus involved.
Yes, but it applies timestretch unless in tape mode which is tied to song BPM. I want the same kind of ease of access to transpose but without it timestretching or adjusting the songs overall BPM.

I'm not sure if I've explained things right because all the suggestions so far (which I appreciate btw) I've already made clear I'm aware of, unless of course I've missed something... ?
Doesn’t happen here, it’s just pitching.
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo/Quad | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 961
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by J-S-Q » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:18 am

40W wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:47 pm
Hippo wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:45 pm
Try changing to one of the tape modes in the pool

Hippo
As mentioned, this works (when musical mode is set to musical) but is tied to a songs BPM unless I'm mistaken.
When in Tape mode, you can use the Timestretch tool to give the behaviour that I think you are looking for. i.e. as if you were playing the audio via the sampler track with no timestretch involved. The only issue here is that you cannot accurately change pitch in semitone intervals. You will have to judge the pitch by ear unless anyone has a solution to this that I'm unaware of.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17315
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Oct 20, 2017 2:08 pm

What about to use LoopMas FX?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

tim_heinrich
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by tim_heinrich » Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:38 am

Should I make a video for you?

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:40 pm

Hippo wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:00 am
I do not understand your problem then
Please post a before and after example using Native Instruments Traktor to give us an idea of what your after.

Hippo
Basically I want to be able to do the same thing as Pitch Shift [see pic] but in real time and with the time correction function unticked (see pic) by adjusting the semitone parameters in the info line.
Pitch Shift.png
(90.87 KiB) Not downloaded yet
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:41 pm

tim_heinrich wrote:
Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:38 am
Should I make a video for you?
If it's not too much trouble as I still don't know how it's done.
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:45 pm

marQs wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:36 am
40W wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:51 pm
marQs wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:32 pm
What’s asked for is accessible via the infoline. Realtime, instantly, no menus involved.
Yes, but it applies timestretch unless in tape mode which is tied to song BPM. I want the same kind of ease of access to transpose but without it timestretching or adjusting the songs overall BPM.

I'm not sure if I've explained things right because all the suggestions so far (which I appreciate btw) I've already made clear I'm aware of, unless of course I've missed something... ?
Doesn’t happen here, it’s just pitching.
Please could you post up a screen cap of the settings you see because on my end the audio is being timestretched to stay at a fixed tempo even tho the pitch is changing?
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:47 pm

J-S-Q wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:18 am
40W wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:47 pm
Hippo wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:45 pm
Try changing to one of the tape modes in the pool

Hippo
As mentioned, this works (when musical mode is set to musical) but is tied to a songs BPM unless I'm mistaken.
When in Tape mode, you can use the Timestretch tool to give the behaviour that I think you are looking for. i.e. as if you were playing the audio via the sampler track with no timestretch involved. The only issue here is that you cannot accurately change pitch in semitone intervals. You will have to judge the pitch by ear unless anyone has a solution to this that I'm unaware of.
Thanks for the suggestion but that wouldn't work as I'm trying to use the info line pitch change settings to adjust a tracks pitch on the fly but without it being timestretched.
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:50 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 2:08 pm
What about to use LoopMas FX?
No pitching functionality unless I want some sort of DJ scratch or spin effect.
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7


40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by 40W » Sat Oct 21, 2017 4:26 pm

tim_heinrich wrote:
Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:59 pm
So, here is the video.

English
https://youtu.be/94vKA4t93Vg

German
https://youtu.be/Q3eDN5aGMCg
Many thanks for this, I really appreciate it, great video!

The method I was hoping for was to simply use the info line to pitch shift in real time but without the timestretching (so no pitch shift menu, sampler track or drag file techniques would be of use) but I guess Cubase offers so many alternative methods that I guess I'll have to choose another.

Thanks again!
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

tim_heinrich
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by tim_heinrich » Sat Oct 21, 2017 6:03 pm

Thanks, you are welcome.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3000
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by peakae » Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:42 pm

I don't understand, I have probably misunderstood something
If I have a piece of audio and I want to change the pitch, I use the Split tool to cut the range.
Select that piece and in the Info line I use Transpose and/or Fine-Tune, and make sure the Algorithm is set to Elastique pro Time or Pitch (Tape will not work) or their Formant versions.
That does not do any timestretch, and use it all the time on vocals to create harmonies, that I often send to the reverb only.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

jfcture
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2016 12:31 am
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by jfcture » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:33 am

Hi, i think the intent is to be able to timestretch an audio event so that the rhythm expressed in bpm follows a chosen tempo "without pitch correction" because all cubase's timestretch algorithms are destructive. The only way i  found to alter the audio's rhythm in a non destructive way is to use offline pitch shift and to check-off "time correction". This is not practical for mixing events, like a dj would mix records by syncing beats playing with a pitch control knob.
I find weird that cubase's pitch shift has an option to opt out of time correction but it's time stretch / tempo track doesn't have the option to opt out of pitch correction. In Cubase we can totally sequence all the elements we put on, and play with the time (speed) they occur but for stretching or shrinking an event that represent a fully complete (mastered) song so that it's tempo matches a chosen bpm, there's no option to prevent deterioration of the audio quality by trying to somehow preserve the pitch. As if thats was always desired. There must be a reason for this obvious limitation. It would be great to at least have an answer by someone who understand the question ! 

User avatar
FXM
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 9:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the pitch of audio without timestretch?

Post by FXM » Thu May 23, 2019 1:03 pm

In the sample editor, use 'Pitch Shift' , and uncheck 'Time correction'

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests