Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by Vendimion » Thu Nov 09, 2017 4:59 pm

Did you made an update of your BIOS/UEFI or a Windows update and got in trouble with you licences??
I though it could be useful to share with you about how to fix it (from tech support):


This error is usually due to Windows 10 major updates - it can also be due to moving the Soft-eLicenser file from another machine or a hardware change, but I don't think this is the case here, correct?

It is usually solved this way:

-- Open the eLicenser Control Center with right-click -> Run as admministrator
-- Once the eLC panel opens, please click on Maintenance

Once completed, the Soft-eLicenser should be repaired and working properly.

Should this also fail, you can use the eLC Installation Helper:
http://support.steinberg.de/elc/win/elc ... helper.exe

Please note that this will delete the Soft-eLicenser and the license contained there, generating a new empty Soft-eLicenser with a different number.
With the new Soft-eLicenser, you can reactivate the Basic FX Suite using the reactivate procedure:
https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/so ... ation.html

However, this is generally not needed.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

powernemo
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by powernemo » Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:19 pm

This was very useful and it worked. Thank you!

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by Denis van der Velde » Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:29 am

Thx for the info.
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C95,W95,Halion6,Groove Agent,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFI Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

User avatar
Falu Quilombo
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:19 pm
Location: Argentina/Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by Falu Quilombo » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:09 pm

I bought Cubase 9.5 pro yesterday and when I entered the activation code nothing happened. I do use windows 10, maybe this process will work?

fiddler2007
Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by fiddler2007 » Sun Aug 19, 2018 3:22 pm

Falu Quilombo wrote:
Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:09 pm
I bought Cubase 9.5 pro yesterday and when I entered the activation code nothing happened. I do use windows 10, maybe this process will work?
Got it running? Try the latest eLicenser control. USB can be a nuisance too; check drivers and switch off power management in Device manager/USB Serial etc/properties. F

User avatar
X-quality
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by X-quality » Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:33 am

Снимок.PNG
(241 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Falu Quilombo wrote:
Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:09 pm
I bought Cubase 9.5 pro yesterday and when I entered the activation code nothing happened. I do use windows 10, maybe this process will work?
Yesterday morning i order 9.5 PRO , stil cant work and same problem with the code:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

USb perfet working with my Cubase 6 EDU

code i have receive by mail 32 digit for Cubase Pro 9.5 Upgrade from Cubase Artist 6 / 6.5 / 7 / 7.5 / 8 / 8.5 / 9 maybe I should not have bought it having EDU version but I ask before official reseller and the store did not say anything in checout

fiddler2007
Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by fiddler2007 » Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:40 am

For the EDU version it seems you need a permitted teachers registration from Steinberg to get the license rolling, you might want a proper code as teacher. You could try to upgrade, but i think Steinberg does not up- or crossgrade edu versions. I have a full retail legit unused PRO 9.5 for sale, not activated even. and some 30% cheaper than standard price. Bought for a second computer in another location, but i changed plans. PM me if you're interested. If your EDU version the store might take it back if not activated, once so you're stuck with it; on eBay bought versions might have buyers warranty if you can claim or prove you were mis-informed or not answered properly by the seller F

User avatar
X-quality
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by X-quality » Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:39 am

Thanks
i think about if i receive my cash back;)

I just do not understand why it's so hard to write this on the line before buying or paying , f :oops: ucking freaks. And their support is silent for 10 hours

fiddler2007
Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by fiddler2007 » Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:55 pm

Steinberg support it sometimes quite slow, unless you'd PM a supporter via this forum directly, don't mention the f word lol BTW .... But licensing problems are usually done via sales IMO, could be even by the AskNet company. F

User avatar
X-quality
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by X-quality » Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:22 pm

before buying, I asked them about UPDATE18 offer. who knew what had to be asked about compatibility, and I doubt that he knows what it is
Please check with Steinberg Support EU about whether your Cubase 6 Education version can use the currently discounted 40% offer. Please use the email address of info@steinberg.de to confirm whether you can purchase your selected upgrade for you Cubase 6 Education version.

Regards,

Scott
asknet Customer Service
in same day I also call an official steinberg reseller in my country he replied I have no problems, you EDU version will cease to be edu after purchases :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

UPDATE
may is help to another owner of edu version
Thank you for contacting Steinberg support!
You have purchased the wrong upgrade. You have ordered an Upgrade from Cubase Artist but you do not own a Cubase Artist licence.
It is not possible to charge already paid money with a new purchase.

I have initiated the refund.
Our shop partners at Asknet will get in touch with you within the next 48 hours.

The available update for your Cubase 6 licence is the following:
Cubase Pro 9.5 Update from Cubase 4 / 5 / 6 / 6.5 €299.00
https://shop.steinberg.net/c/shop?ID=46778

Asknet so what was the problem for example to add in the title for users of EDU to Cubase 4 / 5 / 6 / 6.5

I do not blame anyone, I myself hurried though asked a million people before buying ,apparently a CD Artist 6 in my steinberg box made me choose what I chose
Last edited by X-quality on Wed Aug 22, 2018 12:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Eliasbrown
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 5:54 am
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by Eliasbrown » Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:15 am

This was very useful. Thank you so much!
Elias Brown

User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by Vendimion » Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:33 am

In order to not experience this hardrive footprint issue which can happen with a Windows Update, repair or just a reinstall I have moved my license from my hardrive to my usb stick. Now if the stick should fail I guess you can retrieve to a new stick with the eLicenser information you sent in the database.
I still use my dongle from SX3!
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

jonahramirez
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 3:47 am
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by jonahramirez » Mon Oct 01, 2018 3:54 am

Hello guys. I just bought cubase 9.5 and the usb elicenser will not arrive for some time. Is it possible to run the program without the usb elicenser? if so how? its not letting me. thank you

User avatar
lordadb
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by lordadb » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:44 am

jonahramirez wrote:
Mon Oct 01, 2018 3:54 am
Hello guys. I just bought cubase 9.5 and the usb elicenser will not arrive for some time. Is it possible to run the program without the usb elicenser? if so how? its not letting me. thank you
Nope. Soft eLicenser is not available for the full version of Cubase.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (italian) - Win 10 Pro x64 - CPU AMD FX-8350 @ 4.42 GHz - RAM 16 GB - TC Electronic StudioKonnekt 48 (x2) - ATI Sapphire R7 250 Ultimate
My Studio: http://lipstickstudio.maurolamanna.it

misnoma
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by misnoma » Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:56 pm

Worked for me! Immediately after the Windows 10 October 2018 update, I saw message from Cubase that my elicenser hardware had changed. Running "maintenance" in elicenser control center resolved the error, as described.

@vendiminion yes i learned only recently that i can drag a license from the soft elicenser to the usb dongle. This is useful. However I understand that, once you have done it, you can't move it back.
Cubase Pro 9.5, Windows 10 Fall Creators Update. i7-7700K. RME 9632. Waves. Sonnox.

User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Soft eLicenser issues? Here's how to fix it

Post by Vendimion » Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:30 am

misnoma wrote:
Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:56 pm
@vendiminion yes i learned only recently that i can drag a license from the soft elicenser to the usb dongle. This is useful. However I understand that, once you have done it, you can't move it back.
Indeed, it seems as you said that you can't move it back to the drive, at least by draging it. May be there is another way to do it, in case you would like to ?? Good point
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EmilStudio, Reflection and 5 guests