Homebase for Sonar users

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Locked
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by JMCecil » Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:57 pm

OH ... yes ... sorry I didn't realize you had all the parts open. That person was correct. Glad you got it.
EDIT: It's only in the menu if it is a shared copy.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Jimbo88
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by Jimbo88 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:13 am

Hey everyone!

I just ported over from Sonar and have a question. Am I suppose to have access to Halion? When I load up Cubase i get an error message saying i do not have the proper eLisenses for a bunch of plugins I dloaded from the Cubase assist after I got Cubase up and running.

I'm thinking Sonar crossovers might not have all product access due to the discounted price and we should be able to use our Sonar plugins to get started.

Anyway, thanks in advance and I'm really, really liking Cubase...I should have jumped here long ago.
CakeWalking Dead (Sonar)

Cubase 9.5 Pro
RME Fireface 400
Sweetwater Creation Station

User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
Posts: 912
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by Ed Doll » Fri Dec 22, 2017 2:41 pm

Jimbo88 wrote:
Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:13 am
Hey everyone!

I just ported over from Sonar and have a question. Am I suppose to have access to Halion? When I load up Cubase i get an error message saying i do not have the proper eLisenses for a bunch of plugins I dloaded from the Cubase assist after I got Cubase up and running.

I'm thinking Sonar crossovers might not have all product access due to the discounted price and we should be able to use our Sonar plugins to get started.

Anyway, thanks in advance and I'm really, really liking Cubase...I should have jumped here long ago.
Hi and welcome! With the crossgrade you get a regular and in no way stripped down Cubase Pro 9.5 license. But it is just the Cubase Pro 9.5 including the SE versions of HALion and Groove Agent.
The Steinberg Download Assistant includes more products that require additional licenses indeed - like HALion Sonic (without the "SE") and HALion. If you downloaded these and get a license error, you can either request a trial activation code for them or uninstall them again. Trials are available here: https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/s ... ml#c362267
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud!

SuperG
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by SuperG » Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:54 am

I have a couple of questions, hopefully not too involved.
When you freeze an instrument track, is there any representation on the time line of the rendered audio?

I guess in this case it's taking some getting used to the way Cubase handles VST outputs.

2 I'm using a Yamaha MU100 and the patch script for it seems to be working great. Cubase limits drums to channel 10. I understand it's a convention, but is this due to a [mode 10] statement in the patch script? Its not a big deal, but the MU really doesn't care what channel you put drums on as long as get the proper bank/program data sent to it....
Win 10 i7-6700, Cubase 9.5, Sonar Platinum, Motu 896 MKIII Hybrid, Motu Ultralite MKIII Hybrid

JohanSabatianGremlin
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by JohanSabatianGremlin » Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:44 am

Is there a setting somewhere that will make playback stop automatically at the end of the project? I looked through preferences but didn't see anything.

I did a search of the forum and found a thread that suggested a few workarounds such as adding an arranger track and/or somehow defining the length of the project. But those workarounds are, well, workarounds. Does the function exist or are workarounds the only option at this point?

SuperG
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by SuperG » Sun Dec 24, 2017 2:44 am

Woohoo!

I am now officially a Cubase user - I went ahead and purchased the crossgrade from Sweetwater. An early Christmas for me!

I'm finding that the major differences that need getting used-to are UI/mouse clicks and stuff. Sonar was firmly wedded to the windows platform and thus had a rather consistent conventions, where Cubase seems a bit different. This isn't something that muscle memory won't quickly conquer though. I'm really impressed with Cubase's capabilities. I really like the control room - it solves a lot of monitoring issues that Sonar was lacking.

I'll continue to post my observations as an Sonar user transitioning to Cubase.
Win 10 i7-6700, Cubase 9.5, Sonar Platinum, Motu 896 MKIII Hybrid, Motu Ultralite MKIII Hybrid

User avatar
dlion16
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by dlion16 » Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:28 pm

Hi. I tried to run pro, but found I need to buy an eliscense to run the demo. So I tried to run elements but it keeps asking for a key. I uninstalled everything starting from scratch now. If I dl the dl manager and then only dl elements, will I be able to install it without a key? Thanks.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd Gen.
KRK Rokit 5 Speakers
INTEL I7-3820 3.6 GHZ; 32GB RAM
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
2 Internal SSD Drives, 3 External USB drives.

chirs241097
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:14 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by chirs241097 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:55 am

I've been a user of the Absolute Collection for some time and I used it in SONAR Platinum.
I found the Cubase Pro crossgrade interesting and decided to give it a try. I got used to the workflow pretty quickly and found all the features corresponding to the ones I used most in SONAR.
However it seems to be impossible for me, who live in China, to get the crossgrade. The distributor of Steinberg here is Yamaha music & electronics (China). They have very outdated information on their website: https://i.imgur.com/8ziuQc4.png (I have no idea why the list on the right duplicates itself).
The product page of Cubase 9.5 is (even worse than) machine translated and does not provide any means to purchase.
Does that means users in China won't be able to get the crossgrade? My trail is expiring in a few days. Could someone here help me?
Programmer and amateur musician in China.
SONAR Platinum/Absolute Collection 3/Rapture Pro/Trilian/Groove Agent 2/Addictive Drums 2/EZDrummer
i7-6600U/16GiB RAM/512GiB SSD || i7-2960XM/16GiB RAM/1.5TiB hybrid storage || old Yamaha MIDI keyboard

User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
Posts: 912
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by Ed Doll » Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:17 am

dlion16 wrote:
Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:28 pm
Hi. I tried to run pro, but found I need to buy an eliscense to run the demo. So I tried to run elements but it keeps asking for a key. I uninstalled everything starting from scratch now. If I dl the dl manager and then only dl elements, will I be able to install it without a key? Thanks.
You can download through the Steinberg Download Assistant but you'll still need the correct activation code (license) to run Cubase Elements.
You can get it here: https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/s ... ml#c387940 (a re-download of the software is not necessary. You need the activation code only).
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud!

User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
Posts: 912
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by Ed Doll » Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:20 am

chirs241097 wrote:
Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:55 am
I've been a user of the Absolute Collection for some time and I used it in SONAR Platinum.
I found the Cubase Pro crossgrade interesting and decided to give it a try. I got used to the workflow pretty quickly and found all the features corresponding to the ones I used most in SONAR.
However it seems to be impossible for me, who live in China, to get the crossgrade. The distributor of Steinberg here is Yamaha music & electronics (China). They have very outdated information on their website: https://i.imgur.com/8ziuQc4.png (I have no idea why the list on the right duplicates itself).
The product page of Cubase 9.5 is (even worse than) machine translated and does not provide any means to purchase.
Does that means users in China won't be able to get the crossgrade? My trail is expiring in a few days. Could someone here help me?
I am sorry for that rather bad experience! I have forwarded it to our sales department.
If you can access our webshop, it should be possible to order the crossgrade from us directly as a download product: https://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/buy_p ... ro-95.html (last entry in the list)
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud!

chirs241097
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:14 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by chirs241097 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:44 am

Ed Doll wrote:
Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:20 am

I am sorry for that rather bad experience! I have forwarded it to our sales department.
If you can access our webshop, it should be possible to order the crossgrade from us directly as a download product: https://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/buy_p ... ro-95.html (last entry in the list)
Thanks for your quick reply!
I can find the crossgrade in the webshop this afternoon (it wasn't there several days ago). I'm pretty sure that I'm able to get the crossgrade now!
Programmer and amateur musician in China.
SONAR Platinum/Absolute Collection 3/Rapture Pro/Trilian/Groove Agent 2/Addictive Drums 2/EZDrummer
i7-6600U/16GiB RAM/512GiB SSD || i7-2960XM/16GiB RAM/1.5TiB hybrid storage || old Yamaha MIDI keyboard

MUDGEL
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:45 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by MUDGEL » Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:07 am

Hi Cubasers! I don’t know if that’s the correct term but I’ll use it until corrected.
Well I’m another refugee from Cakewalk. Started there in 1993 when the impending closure of Amiga forced me elsewhere namely PC.
Now that I’m running Cubase 9.5.1 I figure that’s about all the PC DAWs I’ve tried except Digital Performer.

I’m looking forward to being as involved here as I was over there and excited to be trying a DAW I haven’t tried before. My signature should give you an idea of how serious I am about my gear (still building my new PC),
The Cakewalk forum was a bit of a second home so I hope I can get that feel here and make new friends. I think there’s a few of us coming over. I’m not trying things out, I’ve jumped in.
Mike V. (MUDGEL)

STUDIO: Win 10 Pro x64, Cubase Pro 9.5 x64,
PC: ASUS Z370-A, INTEL i7 8700k, 32GIG DDR4 2400, OC 4.7Ghz.
Storage: 7 TB SATA III, 750GiG SSD & Samsung 500 Gig 960 EVO NVMe M.2.
Monitors: Adam A7X, JBL 10” Sub.
Audio I/O & DSP Server: DIGIGRID IOS & IOX.
Screen: Raven MTi + 43" HD 4K TV Monitor.
Keyboard Controller: Native Instruments Komplete Kontrol S88.

User avatar
bartveld
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by bartveld » Wed Dec 27, 2017 4:46 pm

Ed Doll wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:44 pm
bartveld wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:28 pm
As I am a former Sonar user who's made the jump to Cubase I feel it's appropriate to put this question here, even though it's not technical: What's customer service at Steinberg like? I ask this because I filled out a ticket 17 days ago and still haven't received any answer. The experience with Cakewalk was rather different. And yes, I also put the question here at the forum, but there, too, everyone seemed preoccupied with their own problems (or maybe they didn't have an answer).
I assume that this has the potential of derailing this topic quite a bit ;) As the support manager for Europe, I can honestly say that we try our best to answer as fast as possible. Every now and then we succeed and every now and then we fail (yes, 17 days counts a a major fail).
In autumn we were on a good way to reduce the backlog again but the Christmas business and other events just like the Cakewalk incident didn't really help. That's how it is and we hope to improve the situation after the Christmas holidays again.
Let me come back here and sing the praises of Ed Doll, who helped me patiently and resolved my query.
On another note: A few days ago I did some MIDI-editing in the Key Editor and I was very pleasnatly surprised by the ease with which this is done. Especially the right-click pop-up of the tools right under your cursor is a simple but magnificent extra, which makes a big difference compared to Sonar.

SuperG
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by SuperG » Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:12 pm

Discovered the 'logical" editor the other day. Wow - it made for some short work in the list editor. VERY handy!
Win 10 i7-6700, Cubase 9.5, Sonar Platinum, Motu 896 MKIII Hybrid, Motu Ultralite MKIII Hybrid

KeithAdv
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by KeithAdv » Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:17 pm

Hiya transitioners!

I have to say I'm pretty delighted with Cubase, despite using only Cakewalk/Sonar for nearly 30 years. I use Cubase exclusively now.

I just thought I'd share something with you that helped me out a lot. When I bought Cubase, I also got a Black Friday deal on Groove 3's Cubase 9 Explained. Turned out to be a great buy because although it doesn't go very deep, it helped get very comfortable with my new DAW in a hurry. Since then, I found this which I also bought (they even reduced my price a little due to the course I already purchased!)

Groove 3 Power User Bundle

Some of the courses are based on previous versions of Cubase but I still think mostly apply. It's 8 courses that--at the bundle price of $48--cost $6 each.

The bad news is the sale runs four about 4 more days, so get in if you want it.

User avatar
dlion16
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by dlion16 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:02 pm

Thanks, Ed. Got it running, liking it. Couple questions.

In sonar, I could access an asio control panel to change buffers from 128 to 256… how to in cb?

In sonar, I can select a midi clip and its associated instrument and bounce to track to write to audio. How to cb?

Quick way to duplicate like ctrl-drag in sonar?

Much appreciated.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd Gen.
KRK Rokit 5 Speakers
INTEL I7-3820 3.6 GHZ; 32GB RAM
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
2 Internal SSD Drives, 3 External USB drives.

User avatar
l3v3l6
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by l3v3l6 » Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:19 am

dlion16 wrote:
Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:02 pm
Thanks, Ed. Got it running, liking it. Couple questions.

In sonar, I could access an asio control panel to change buffers from 128 to 256… how to in cb?

In sonar, I can select a midi clip and its associated instrument and bounce to track to write to audio. How to cb?

Quick way to duplicate like ctrl-drag in sonar?

Much appreciated.
1. Studio > Studio Setup. Choose your audio device. There's a button for its Control Panel applet. https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... ol%2Cpanel


2. Click the Freeze button in the track inspector.
https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... ing_t.html

3. In Cubase it's Alt+Drag to create a copy.

All the manuals are available online in web or PDF format.
https://steinberg.help/cubase-manuals/c ... e-pro-9-5/
Windows 10 Pro x64, Cubase 9.5.10, Intel 7700K, 16GB RAM, MR816CX, Deep Mind 12, Virus TI Polar, Moog Voyager RME, JBL 4326P Monitors.
Ambient Alchemy

JClosed
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 7:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by JClosed » Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:30 am

MUDGEL wrote:
Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:07 am
Hi Cubasers! I don’t know if that’s the correct term but I’ll use it until corrected.
Well I’m another refugee from Cakewalk. Started there in 1993 when the impending closure of Amiga forced me elsewhere namely PC.
Now that I’m running Cubase 9.5.1 I figure that’s about all the PC DAWs I’ve tried except Digital Performer.

I’m looking forward to being as involved here as I was over there and excited to be trying a DAW I haven’t tried before. My signature should give you an idea of how serious I am about my gear (still building my new PC),
The Cakewalk forum was a bit of a second home so I hope I can get that feel here and make new friends. I think there’s a few of us coming over. I’m not trying things out, I’ve jumped in.
Hi MUDGEL, nice to see you here.

I am an old Sonar user myself, and made the final jump to full Cubase in April this year. Until then I was primarily using Cubase with Sonar as third (I am using Ableton Live too) DAW (well - I use Wavelab Elements too). I have not tried DP myself, because I heard the older versions where not that stable and easy to use. That seems to be improved now. Still - the Cubase/Live combination is all what I need (and more), so I feel no urge to dabble around with other DAW's. Maybe sometime on a rainy and slow day? Who knows...

Anyway - The forum here is not as lively as Sonar's forum, but it's not bad either. People here are most times visiting to asking questions or report errors (or perceived errors). In a lot of cases those problems are solved fast by the helpful other visitors here. It's just not really a "chatting" forum, like the Cakewalk forums, but by no means bad.

Anyway - If you have questions about Cubase, or problems with Cubase, just come over here and ask away... ;-).

MUDGEL
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:45 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by MUDGEL » Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:09 am

It’s been like landing on an alien planet where you don’t know anything. I had to look up the manual to work out how to insert a plugin. Absolutely foreign. I’m sure I’m going to have many moments like that, but that’s OK as I’m a manual kind of guy. But I’ve yet to really spend much time with it as my PC died the day after I installed it. Maybe it was an allergic reaction to Cubase. Just kidding really.
In the meantime I got the last of the components today for the build in my signature and get stuck in.

Good to see a familiar name over here. I’m sure there’ll be more of us as time goes by.
Mike V. (MUDGEL)

STUDIO: Win 10 Pro x64, Cubase Pro 9.5 x64,
PC: ASUS Z370-A, INTEL i7 8700k, 32GIG DDR4 2400, OC 4.7Ghz.
Storage: 7 TB SATA III, 750GiG SSD & Samsung 500 Gig 960 EVO NVMe M.2.
Monitors: Adam A7X, JBL 10” Sub.
Audio I/O & DSP Server: DIGIGRID IOS & IOX.
Screen: Raven MTi + 43" HD 4K TV Monitor.
Keyboard Controller: Native Instruments Komplete Kontrol S88.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by JMCecil » Thu Dec 28, 2017 4:26 pm

To duplicate parts you can drag the little box on the side/middle of the part.

To bounce MIDI parts + instruments use the "EDIT -> Render In Place" function. It's important to actually read the manual on that. There is a lot of things you can do with it.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2509
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by peakae » Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:05 pm

I would encourage new Steinberg users to drop by the lounge
viewforum.php?f=198
Tell us who you are, what you do, in what area of the world you live.
If you have some music to share, "Made With Steinberg" is the place to discuss, praise or get help with a song.
viewforum.php?f=219
There has been more chatter in general forum the past, but the Signal to Noise ratio was getting out of hand.
I think the moderators are doing a great job, keeping threads On Topic. That also makes it easier to search for solutions, when a problem arises.
Hope you all are going to have a great time here, Welcome.
See you in the Lounge.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

SuperG
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by SuperG » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:28 am

MUDGEL wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:09 am
It’s been like landing on an alien planet where you don’t know anything. I had to look up the manual to work out how to insert a plugin. Absolutely foreign. I’m sure I’m going to have many moments like that, but that’s OK as I’m a manual kind of guy. But I’ve yet to really spend much time with it as my PC died the day after I installed it. Maybe it was an allergic reaction to Cubase. Just kidding really.
In the meantime I got the last of the components today for the build in my signature and get stuck in.

Good to see a familiar name over here. I’m sure there’ll be more of us as time goes by.
I'd say you need at least a month to get your "sea legs" here for prior Sonar users. Cubase is pretty broad - but it's UI conventions for interface elements are quite different than the "Windows Standard" conventions of Sonar.

Case-in-point: I finally decided to investigate visibility "Zones" in the visibility inspector. I tried like mad to click on the "dot", but nothing happened. So, it's over to the manual (no proper help file) and there it says to drag the dot "to the left" or "to the right". So I tried dragging. Nada. Zip. Zero. I scratched my head for a minute before an idea popped up. Lets try clicking to either side of the dot - Bingo! So, the manual wasn't much help, and there's nothing about that "dot" user interface element to even suggest that it's a toggle control. So whenever you hear some hipster rant about UI skeumorphism and claim that it limits creativity, you'll know he's full of beans. Flat design is simply a stylistic decision that may or may not contribute to a better experience. It's been a few weeks of little trials like that. Still, I'm more than happy with Cubase - just thought it would be easier to transition.
Win 10 i7-6700, Cubase 9.5, Sonar Platinum, Motu 896 MKIII Hybrid, Motu Ultralite MKIII Hybrid

MUDGEL
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:45 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by MUDGEL » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:41 am

I hope to be finished replacing the tailgate/hatch on my car tomorrow then I’ll finish building my new PC and look forward to the delights of installing win 10 from scratch. It was the free update from win 8.1. I’ve been told it’s as simple as installing it then contacting MS by phone for activation.
Then onto installing all the software and Plugins. All the sample libraries are Ok. This is finally be an exclusive DaW and multimedia workstation. Woohoo!
Mike V. (MUDGEL)

STUDIO: Win 10 Pro x64, Cubase Pro 9.5 x64,
PC: ASUS Z370-A, INTEL i7 8700k, 32GIG DDR4 2400, OC 4.7Ghz.
Storage: 7 TB SATA III, 750GiG SSD & Samsung 500 Gig 960 EVO NVMe M.2.
Monitors: Adam A7X, JBL 10” Sub.
Audio I/O & DSP Server: DIGIGRID IOS & IOX.
Screen: Raven MTi + 43" HD 4K TV Monitor.
Keyboard Controller: Native Instruments Komplete Kontrol S88.

User avatar
djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1661
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by djw » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:21 pm

SuperG wrote:
Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:28 am
there's nothing about that "dot" user interface element to even suggest that it's a toggle control. So whenever you hear some hipster rant about UI skeumorphism and claim that it limits creativity, you'll know he's full of beans. Flat design is simply a stylistic decision that may or may not contribute to a better experience.
They used to be like radio buttons where the other dots were empty circles, which made it more clear. I don't think it has much to do with using skeuomorphism or not.
🥕

jpbanks
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Homebase for Sonar users

Post by jpbanks » Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:22 pm

JohanSabatianGremlin wrote:
Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:44 am
Is there a setting somewhere that will make playback stop automatically at the end of the project? I looked through preferences but didn't see anything.

I did a search of the forum and found a thread that suggested a few workarounds such as adding an arranger track and/or somehow defining the length of the project. But those workarounds are, well, workarounds. Does the function exist or are workarounds the only option at this point?
Hello, unfortunately, I don't believe there is a setting to automatically stop playback. I did a search as you have done and I found nothing except for the workaround. It's frustrating but I've gotten into the habit of stopping playback.
AMD Ryzen 7 1700X Eight-Core 3.40 GHz, 16.0 GB, GeForce GTX 1070 , Steinberg UR22, 64-bit Windows 10 Home

Locked

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests