Cubase and Win 10 updating

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ricardo79
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:33 am
Contact:

Cubase and Win 10 updating

Post by Ricardo79 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:06 am

Hi,

I was looking for ideas for how to deal with Win 10 Home update; it seems to be causing some issues, i.e. clicks and dropouts, in Cubase when Win 10 accesses the internet to look for updates (or tries to access the internet if I have disabled the wireless card)

My approach at present is to run the updater first thing when I start up the computer in the morning. I can lose 15 min or so some days but this seems to help.

Does anyone have any better ideas?


Please note that I have already "fixed" the other issues such as unused sound drivers and video drivers.
Cubase 9.5 Pro: RME UCX: 16GB: i7-3820: Geoforce 210 :Win 10 Home 64: LG 25 Ultrawide+Samsung BX2440

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2461
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase and Win 10 updating

Post by Prock » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:52 pm

Luckily I fo not see (hear) a similar issue but here is a thought...

Not sure if this is available in the Win 10 Home edition but in Pro there are settings in the Win 10 update section that allow for checking and doing the actual update install at a time/frequency of your choice. It also allows for some other "adjustments" that might minimize the effect the updates are having when updating at the same time as using Cubase.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.10, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: VB3, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

nexis
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase and Win 10 updating

Post by nexis » Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:16 am

For me, My computer is NEVER connected to the internet while recording. That also goes for the virus checker. That also gets disabled.
Cubase 9 PRO, Steinberg MR816 CSX (2 of them), Windows 10 Pro, i7 Processor, 24 gigs of RAM, 3 TB Drives, Dual Monitors

mbsmike
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase and Win 10 updating

Post by mbsmike » Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:42 am

The only way I see to somewhat tame 10 Home edition is to go into the Network & Internet> Ethernet in settings and turn on "metered connection". In settings make sure under updates & security > advanced options that enabling this policy........ is unchecked.

This works on my Home machines.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dariobavicchi, Hedshaker, ShoLee, tsching, Vaijj and 13 guests