Tape Stop Effect

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
jmgotsoul
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:21 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Tape Stop Effect

Post by jmgotsoul » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:16 pm

I'm coming to Cubase from Pro Tools. PT has a built-in audio plugin called Vari-Fi to create tape stop effects. You can either slow down or speed up. Logic Oro X also has a built-in feature that allows you to create fade in/out but do it as a tape stop. I'm wondering if Cubase has anything built-in? If not, what are some tape stop plugins people are using that do both slow down and speed up?
Composer / Music Producer | https://www.julianmusicprod.com | @julianmusicprod | Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Mac Pro, 2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB RAM, 3 x 2 TB SSD SATA, OS 10.12 | Avid HD I/O

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Tape Stop Effect

Post by Prock » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:27 pm

I use the free 64 bit version of iZotope Vinyl. It works good for tape stop. Making a tape spin up effect is possible but there is a procedure using Cubase's "reverse audio" a few times to "build" that effect.

I detail the "Spin up" procedure here:
viewtopic.php?f=250&t=113070&hilit=IZotope

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: VB3, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

jmgotsoul
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:21 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Tape Stop Effect

Post by jmgotsoul » Tue Feb 06, 2018 4:08 pm

Prock wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:27 pm
I use the free 64 bit version of iZotope Vinyl. It works good for tape stop.
I also have the iZotope Vinyl plugin. The only thing I don't like about it is i can't configure the stop (1 beat, 2 beats, etc). Because of that I don't really use it. I might have to look at it again.
Composer / Music Producer | https://www.julianmusicprod.com | @julianmusicprod | Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Mac Pro, 2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB RAM, 3 x 2 TB SSD SATA, OS 10.12 | Avid HD I/O

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Tape Stop Effect

Post by JMCecil » Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:05 pm

There is a time envelope option in the audio processing section. You can also use loopmash.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

In_Stereo
Member
Posts: 927
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Tape Stop Effect

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:34 pm

I sometimes use the pitch envelope feature (audio processing), which can be similar and sometimes works pretty well. Haven't tried Loopmash for that, but these days I usually use Abbey Road Vinyl from Waves, where you can time the tape stop exactly how you want it, and it sounds great.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Tape Stop Effect

Post by Prock » Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:47 pm

jmgotsoul wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2018 4:08 pm
Prock wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:27 pm
I use the free 64 bit version of iZotope Vinyl. It works good for tape stop.
I also have the iZotope Vinyl plugin. The only thing I don't like about it is i can't configure the stop (1 beat, 2 beats, etc). Because of that I don't really use it. I might have to look at it again.
I have to agree, that it really is not adjustable.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: VB3, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

jmgotsoul
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:21 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Tape Stop Effect

Post by jmgotsoul » Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:50 pm

In_Stereo wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:34 pm
I usually use Abbey Road Vinyl from Waves, where you can time the tape stop exactly how you want it, and it sounds great.
I'm familiar with this plugin. I always thought it had slow down but not speed up. Is that correct?
Composer / Music Producer | https://www.julianmusicprod.com | @julianmusicprod | Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Mac Pro, 2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB RAM, 3 x 2 TB SSD SATA, OS 10.12 | Avid HD I/O

In_Stereo
Member
Posts: 927
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Tape Stop Effect

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:52 pm

jmgotsoul wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:50 pm
In_Stereo wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:34 pm
I usually use Abbey Road Vinyl from Waves, where you can time the tape stop exactly how you want it, and it sounds great.
I'm familiar with this plugin. I always thought it had slow down but not speed up. Is that correct?
Yes, unfortunately you're right. My bad, I didn't realize you meant both.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

jmgotsoul
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:21 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Tape Stop Effect

Post by jmgotsoul » Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:00 pm

Yeah both PT and Logic have built-in ability to do slow down and speed up. If Cubase doesn't have this built-in then I am hoping to find a plugin that has both. I can definitely use a slow down, bounce to audio and reverse to create a speed up but I'm really hoping to not have to do that when I could do it previously with just the click of a button.
Composer / Music Producer | https://www.julianmusicprod.com | @julianmusicprod | Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Mac Pro, 2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB RAM, 3 x 2 TB SSD SATA, OS 10.12 | Avid HD I/O

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1790
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Tape Stop Effect

Post by GargoyleStudio » Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:34 pm

I used to use a plugin called Tape Stop (hey, what a suprise!), from Tbt, https://www.kvraudio.com/product/tapestop_by_tbt. But it's only 32 bit, so not so useful now. Also I always had trouble automating it, so I used to render the effect asap.

Haven't found another one yet which has the same features :(

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb9.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, Arturia]

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hjwinge, Magnus_N, pgstudio and 4 guests