converting stereo channels to mono?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
radiospace
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:45 am
Contact:

converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by radiospace » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:07 pm

I just imported a project from Cubasis to Cubase Pro 9.5 for the first time. It has put all the mono instruments and voices onto stereo tracks/channels.

Is there anyway to convert these existent channels to mono? (To save on plug-in processing power and for other reasons)

Thanks

stingray
Member
Posts: 874
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by stingray » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:49 pm

There are several ways to do this.

One way:
- File / Export / Audio Mixdown
- in the Channel Selection section activate Channel Batch Export
- tick the required channels in the boxes
- in the Audio Engine Output section select 'Mono Downmix' and choose the same resolution as the project for the sample rate and bit depth
- in the Import into Project section activate 'Audio Track'
- click on the Export button

see the manual for further details on Export Audio Mixdown window

KHS
Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by KHS » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:57 pm

stingray wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:49 pm
There are several ways to do this.

One way:
- File / Export / Audio Mixdown
- in the Channel Selection section activate Channel Batch Export
- tick the required channels in the boxes
- in the Audio Engine Output section select 'Mono Downmix' and choose the same resolution as the project for the sample rate and bit depth
- in the Import into Project section activate 'Audio Track'
- click on the Export button

see the manual for further details on Export Audio Mixdown window
I don't think he is asking how to convert a stereo file to mono, but how to change a stereo track (with a mono file) to a mono track.
Only way afaik is to create new mono tracks and move the events to those new tracks or import the files again into mono tracks.
Cubase 9.5 Pro - Presonus Audiobox 44VSL - I7-7700K - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo.

radiospace
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by radiospace » Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:45 am

yes, KHS is right, I'm trying to put recordings which are already in mono onto mono tracks.

I used "export to Cubase" on my iPad Cubasis, and that is a special format file that Cubase then reads and creates a Cubase 9.5 project that matches the original Cubasis project (including with plugs and automation, etc.). So I have not imported any individual files. It might be that the files themselves have been converted to stereo upon the output.

I might just try bussing everything to a mono channel and hide the original tracks and see if I can mix that way. The real issues is that plug-ins are changing the stereo field in weird ways, moving the vocal left and right, etc. Quite confusing. (I'm new to Cubase so the moreso).

stingray
Member
Posts: 874
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by stingray » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:55 am

KHS wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:57 pm
I don't think he is asking how to convert a stereo file to mono, but how to change a stereo track (with a mono file) to a mono track.
I realised that but unfortunately in Cubase you can't do that directly, hence my suggestion. The technque is "one way" to do it (a time saving workaround).

KHS wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:57 pm
Only way afaik is to create new mono tracks and move the events to those new tracks or import the files again into mono tracks.
That's a good technique, although potentially time consuming if you have a lot of tracks / events.

stingray
Member
Posts: 874
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by stingray » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:21 am

radiospace wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:45 am
I used "export to Cubase" on my iPad Cubasis, and that is a special format file that Cubase then reads and creates a Cubase 9.5 project that matches the original Cubasis project (including with plugs and automation, etc.).
Are you using Cubase Pro to play the project? If so, what file format is used for the audio files when you open the Pool window (Media / Open Pool window) ?
radiospace wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:45 am
I might just try bussing everything to a mono channel and hide the original tracks and see if I can mix that way.
?? Not sure what you mean by that. Why not drag the events to mono tracks as suggested by KHS?

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by planarchist » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:52 am

stingray wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:21 am
Why not drag the events to mono tracks as suggested by KHS?
Yes, this is probably the "easiest" option....you'll also have to drag across Inserts and copy sends too onto the new Mono Track(s). Might be worth putting in a request on the Cubasis forum for an option to Export the song files as is and not turn Audio tracks into Stereo ones. Lars, the Steinberg employee over there answers most questions so I'm sure he'll at least say something.

FWIW, in my experience even ignoring Mono/Stereo differences the projects never sound the same.....not a major issue for me as the iPad is only for use as a sketch pad but I suppose it would be good if it all came across identical!
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, Tascam US1800, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Steinberg CI2+, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

radiospace
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by radiospace » Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:50 pm

stingray wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:21 am
radiospace wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:45 am
I used "export to Cubase" on my iPad Cubasis, and that is a special format file that Cubase then reads and creates a Cubase 9.5 project that matches the original Cubasis project (including with plugs and automation, etc.).
Are you using Cubase Pro to play the project? If so, what file format is used for the audio files when you open the Pool window (Media / Open Pool window) ?
radiospace wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:45 am
I might just try bussing everything to a mono channel and hide the original tracks and see if I can mix that way.
?? Not sure what you mean by that. Why not drag the events to mono tracks as suggested by KHS?
Files are .wav, mono, 44/24 bit.

I was trying the bussing thing because I assumed the files themselves were already converted to stereo. For future note, if you drag a stereo file to a mono channel will it convert it or treat it as a mono file, or would I need to export and reimport?

Also it is a big project and the audio files do not start simultaneously (nor at the beginning of bars) and I did not want to risk knocking anything out of sync, so I thought using a mono bus was the safest method as opposed to creating new mono audio files or tracks.

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by planarchist » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:16 pm

radiospace wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:50 pm
For future note, if you drag a stereo file to a mono channel will it convert it or treat it as a mono file, or would I need to export and reimport?

It doesn't convert it to a Mono file but it behaves as though it is a Mono track, so it sums the two outputs. Easy to check, just drag a stereo file onto a Mono track and watch the meters.
radiospace wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:50 pm
Also it is a big project and the audio files do not start simultaneously (nor at the beginning of bars) and I did not want to risk knocking anything out of sync, so I thought using a mono bus was the safest method as opposed to creating new mono audio files or tracks.
Yes, this is easily done when moving things around. You can solve it by putting your left locator at bar 1 and the right somewhere within the existing audio track and double clicking. This creates an empty part. Glue this to the existing track and you'll have a stem that begins at bar 1. Still some work if you've got a big project. :(
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, Tascam US1800, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Steinberg CI2+, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

radiospace
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by radiospace » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:26 pm

planarchist wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:16 pm

Yes, this is easily done when moving things around. You can solve it by putting your left locator at bar 1 and the right somewhere within the existing audio track and double clicking. This creates an empty part. Glue this to the existing track and you'll have a stem that begins at bar 1. Still some work if you've got a big project. :(
Thanks! That is good to learn.

I also have automation from Cubasis written into the original stereo channels, which is another reason I was learning towards just bussing to mono and leaving those intact. I know I can copy and paste automation as well but it's time consuming and I am prone to make mistakes.

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by planarchist » Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:32 pm

radiospace wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:26 pm
I also have automation from Cubasis written into the original stereo channels, which is another reason I was learning towards just bussing to mono and leaving those intact. I know I can copy and paste automation as well but it's time consuming and I am prone to make mistakes.
Ah, yes, that might complicate it further........maybe busing is best after all!

If you do ask over at the Cubasis Forum for an option to leave Mono files as such then do let me know and I'll add my vote to it
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, Tascam US1800, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Steinberg CI2+, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

digitalson
Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:34 am
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by digitalson » Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:36 pm

Does anyone remember when if you clicked on the stereo/mono circles on the channel it would change from stereo to mono and vica versa....also I think nuendo has a feature that can change audio events back and forth
i7 ,64gb 1866 mem x79 chipset, ssd os,4 x ssd drives raid 0 motu pci 96 ins and outs @96k for external gear
tons of vintage outboard gear 3 monitors and 42" LCD for spotting to film
Windows 7 pro 64 sp1
Gtx 780 ,all liquid cooled CPU overclocked to 4 ghz

KHS
Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: converting stereo channels to mono?

Post by KHS » Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:58 pm

digitalson wrote:
Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:36 pm
Does anyone remember when if you clicked on the stereo/mono circles on the channel it would change from stereo to mono and vica versa....also I think nuendo has a feature that can change audio events back and forth
It does ring a bell, but if it was something we could do in an old Cubase version or it's something i remember from demoing some other daws i'm not sure of.
Cubase 9.5 Pro - Presonus Audiobox 44VSL - I7-7700K - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests