[RESOLVED] Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
rumbero
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

[RESOLVED] Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by rumbero » Wed May 09, 2018 8:32 am

Hi friends,

how can I make Cubase Pro to always start with Cubase Pro, without asking me anymore, whether I want to run Cubase Pro or Cubase Artist?
I ALWAYS want to run Cubase Pro, so consider this question annoying and not necessary. Is there a way to run Pro as predeterminated?
Last edited by rumbero on Mon May 21, 2018 2:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 7 Ultimate, Cubase pro 9.5.30, Steinberg UR22 mk2

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12282
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed May 09, 2018 1:39 pm

Hi,

Buy regular Cubase Pro license. The one you have is meant to be for dealers (you probably have it on a red USB-eLicenser, right?).

Another option, you have Cubase Artist license and Cubase asks you if you want to try Cubase Pro.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
rumbero
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by rumbero » Wed May 09, 2018 11:32 pm

Hi Martin, thank you for the answer. I definitely do own a regular Cubase Pro License on a dark purple USB-eLicenser. Is there a way to run Pro as default option, without that annoying question?
Windows 7 Ultimate, Cubase pro 9.5.30, Steinberg UR22 mk2

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by -steve- » Wed May 09, 2018 11:41 pm

Are you seeing this?
Image

If not, could you post a pic of your elc window? (obfuscate the USB Key serial number.)
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

User avatar
rumbero
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by rumbero » Thu May 10, 2018 9:22 am

This here:
Image

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12282
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu May 10, 2018 10:15 am

Sorry, I can't see the picture. Am I missing something?
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by planarchist » Thu May 10, 2018 11:19 am

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 10:15 am
Sorry, I can't see the picture. Am I missing something?
Not visible here either....
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, Tascam US1800, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Steinberg CI2+, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
rumbero
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by rumbero » Thu May 10, 2018 12:02 pm

This is the URL image's URL:
download/file.php?mode=view&id=29483&si ... 5789c8be6b

See it now?
Windows 7 Ultimate, Cubase pro 9.5.30, Steinberg UR22 mk2

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by peakae » Thu May 10, 2018 12:04 pm

Nope
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
rumbero
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by rumbero » Thu May 10, 2018 12:37 pm

Strange...
And now?
cubase-launch.gif
(14.01 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by planarchist » Thu May 10, 2018 1:15 pm

rumbero wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 12:37 pm
Strange...
And now?
cubase-launch.gif
Yes, can see that but that's just the error message. Steve asked for a screen grab of the eLC window (with license numbers hidden).
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, Tascam US1800, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Steinberg CI2+, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
rumbero
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by rumbero » Thu May 10, 2018 1:52 pm

Sorry, misunderstanding:
eLic.gif
(34.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Windows 7 Ultimate, Cubase pro 9.5.30, Steinberg UR22 mk2

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12282
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu May 10, 2018 3:49 pm

The message is called by the All Applications license, which is not a common reseller license. How does it get into your USB-eLicenser?
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Nickeldome » Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am

It's very strange that a license of Avenger Production Suite ends up on the e-licenser. Even more because it doesn't use one?!
But besides that it still doesn't explain why you get the choice of Pro or Artist? Do or did you have an installation of Artist before Pro? If so it might help to remove Artist and all traces of it?
Attachments
Avenger.jpg
(16.23 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro (always latest version) - Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.2 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / VST drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 5 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2 & Trillian / Arturia V-collecion / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around the 90’s)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12282
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri May 11, 2018 9:40 am

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
Do or did you have an installation of Artist before Pro? If so it might help to remove Artist and all traces of it?
Hi,

Cubase Pro and Artist is only one vinery/executable file. Only the license decides. So even if you installed "Cubase Artist", you have installed Cubase Pro in fact. And you can't install Cubase Artist only and keep Cubase Pro. It's the same installation.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Nickeldome » Fri May 11, 2018 9:55 am

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:40 am
Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
Do or did you have an installation of Artist before Pro? If so it might help to remove Artist and all traces of it?
Hi,

Cubase Pro and Artist is only one vinery/executable file. Only the license decides. So even if you installed "Cubase Artist", you have installed Cubase Pro in fact. And you can't install Cubase Artist only and keep Cubase Pro. It's the same installation.
Yes if course! It's determined by the active license on the elicencer. But somewhere it must detect an 'Artist' license? Maybe a reactivation of the pro license will help?
Cubase Pro (always latest version) - Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.2 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / VST drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 5 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2 & Trillian / Arturia V-collecion / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around the 90’s)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5006
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Grim » Fri May 11, 2018 10:21 am

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:55 am


Yes if course! It's determined by the active license on the elicencer. But somewhere it must detect an 'Artist' license? Maybe a reactivation of the pro license will help?
Martin explained already why this is....the OP has an "all application" license as well as his pro license.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5006
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Grim » Fri May 11, 2018 10:30 am

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
It's very strange that a license of Avenger Production Suite ends up on the e-licenser. Even more because it doesn't use one?!
I believe the Vengeance production suite requires USB elicenser and Avenger that you show the FAQ from is just one synth that is part of that suite.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
rumbero
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by rumbero » Fri May 11, 2018 11:12 am

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 3:49 pm
The message is called by the All Applications license, which is not a common reseller license. How does it get into your USB-eLicenser?
https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... cense.html
Windows 7 Ultimate, Cubase pro 9.5.30, Steinberg UR22 mk2

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5006
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Grim » Fri May 11, 2018 11:23 am

When did you activate the Pro license?

May be worth trying to run elicenser control as admin and running maintenance to see if it clears it....but you may just need to run Cubase over the 25 hour period so the all application license expires.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
rumbero
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by rumbero » Fri May 11, 2018 11:42 am

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
It's very strange that a license of Avenger Production Suite ends up on the e-licenser. Even more because it doesn't use one?!
Avenger don't, but Vengeance Multiband Sidechain Compressor does.
Windows 7 Ultimate, Cubase pro 9.5.30, Steinberg UR22 mk2

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by planarchist » Fri May 11, 2018 12:35 pm

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
But besides that it still doesn't explain why you get the choice of Pro or Artist?
I think Martin explained this correctly, the first license in the list covers all Applications, it's not a typical user's license.
Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
Do or did you have an installation of Artist before Pro? If so it might help to remove Artist and all traces of it?
Pro and Artist use exactly the same files, the license determines which features are turned on.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, Tascam US1800, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Steinberg CI2+, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by Nickeldome » Fri May 11, 2018 12:49 pm

planarchist wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 12:35 pm
Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
But besides that it still doesn't explain why you get the choice of Pro or Artist?
I think Martin explained this correctly, the first license in the list covers all Applications, it's not a typical user's license.
Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
Do or did you have an installation of Artist before Pro? If so it might help to remove Artist and all traces of it?
Pro and Artist use exactly the same files, the license determines which features are turned on.
I think Grim already explained this? :)
Cubase Pro (always latest version) - Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.2 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / VST drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 5 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2 & Trillian / Arturia V-collecion / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around the 90’s)

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by planarchist » Fri May 11, 2018 7:09 pm

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 12:49 pm
planarchist wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 12:35 pm
Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
But besides that it still doesn't explain why you get the choice of Pro or Artist?
I think Martin explained this correctly, the first license in the list covers all Applications, it's not a typical user's license.
Nickeldome wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:15 am
Do or did you have an installation of Artist before Pro? If so it might help to remove Artist and all traces of it?
Pro and Artist use exactly the same files, the license determines which features are turned on.
I think Grim already explained this? :)
Indeed....but neither his nor Martin's replies were visible to me when I put in mine.....and yous has only just appeared. Glitching somewhere.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, Tascam US1800, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Steinberg CI2+, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
rumbero
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying question at launch: "Pro" or "Artist"

Post by rumbero » Mon May 21, 2018 2:00 pm

Problem resolved moving the important licenses to a new dongle. Thanks to everybody who answered.
Windows 7 Ultimate, Cubase pro 9.5.30, Steinberg UR22 mk2

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: shimao46 and 4 guests