Rendering Midi to Audio

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
jffj
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:00 pm
Contact:

Rendering Midi to Audio

Post by jffj » Fri May 11, 2018 8:59 pm

I'm currently using Elements 9.5 and I don't see a "render in place" feature to create an audio track from midi. Does anyone know how to do this on Elements? Thanks.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1714
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Rendering Midi to Audio

Post by Stephen57 » Fri May 11, 2018 10:08 pm

I'm not sure how Elements actually works, but you may have to do an export audio mix down, track by track.

Put the midi track in solo and do export audio mix down, then do the next track.

Does Elements have Group Tracks?
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

jffj
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Rendering Midi to Audio

Post by jffj » Sat May 12, 2018 12:23 am

It does have group tracks. I'll try the export. Thanks

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1714
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Rendering Midi to Audio

Post by Stephen57 » Sat May 12, 2018 1:51 am

jffj wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 12:23 am
It does have group tracks. I'll try the export. Thanks
I'm not sure if Elements will let you do this, but here's one way to record a live audio track from a VST Instrument in Cubase Pro.

Setup:
1. Create Instrument Track (E. Piano for example)
2. In Mixer or Lower 3rd, Right Click on Track and Select "Add Group Track" (outside folder)
3. Add Audio Track

Routing:
Instrument Track's Output is Routed to the Group Track
Group Track's Output is Routed to "No Bus"
Audio Track's Input is Set to Group Track

The Group Track acts like a patch chord (and much more), named "Jumper" in example.

Recording:
Place Audio Track into Record Ready
Record Track

Record VST-i (Midi) Track to Audio Track.png
(51.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
Posts: 1646
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Contact:

Re: Rendering Midi to Audio

Post by Scab Pickens » Sat May 12, 2018 6:43 am

Stephen57 wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 1:51 am
jffj wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 12:23 am
It does have group tracks. I'll try the export. Thanks
I'm not sure if Elements will let you do this, but here's one way to record a live audio track from a VST Instrument in Cubase Pro.

Setup:
1. Create Instrument Track (E. Piano for example)
2. In Mixer or Lower 3rd, Right Click on Track and Select "Add Group Track" (outside folder)
3. Add Audio Track

Routing:
Instrument Track's Output is Routed to the Group Track
Group Track's Output is Routed to "No Bus"
Audio Track's Input is Set to Group Track

The Group Track acts like a patch chord (and much more), named "Jumper" in example.

Recording:
Place Audio Track into Record Ready
Record Track

Record VST-i (Midi) Track to Audio Track.png
Recording from busses is not a feature of Cubase Elements.

I'm not sure why you are talking about group tracks. It will work for individual tracks as well. Not in Elements, though ...
Windows 7 | Cubase Pro 9.5 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1714
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Rendering Midi to Audio

Post by Stephen57 » Sat May 12, 2018 4:10 pm

Scab Pickens wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 6:43 am
Stephen57 wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 1:51 am
jffj wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 12:23 am
It does have group tracks. I'll try the export. Thanks
I'm not sure if Elements will let you do this, but here's one way to record a live audio track from a VST Instrument in Cubase Pro.

Recording from busses is not a feature of Cubase Elements.

I'm not sure why you are talking about group tracks. It will work for individual tracks as well. Not in Elements, though ...
The question comes up frequently, the topic made no mention of Version and this forum does includes all versions of Cubase, so if not useful for the OP then perhaps useful information for other users. This was one my first questions when starting with Cubase. :)
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

drmad
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 4:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Rendering Midi to Audio

Post by drmad » Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:50 am

I believe the right way to do that is to freeze the instrument: display the VST Intruments rack and click on the freeze icon of the desired instrument. This will replace the MIDI track with an audio track corresponding to the output of that particular track.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests