Latency

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
biesmusik
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Latency

Post by biesmusik » Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:45 am

Hello, How low latency can you have?
iMac 27 i7 3 TB HD 48 GB ram high sierra cubase 9.5.30 absolute
Collection 3 steinberg ur 22 mk2
I have 8,5 ms!?
Best reguards
Tobias nilsson

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2687
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by peakae » Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:22 am

As low as your audiointerface allows you to go.
Reduce buffer size for lower latency, if your system and project size allows.
On my system I can play a vst instrument using 0.7ms latency, but then I can’t do much else.
It is different from person to person, how much is too much.
Remember that plugins in the signal path can add to latency, a limiter on the master bus can easily add 25ms to the latency.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Rapoza
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by Rapoza » Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:57 pm

That seems like a crazy low latency to me, Peakae. I'm impressed.

biesmusik
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by biesmusik » Sun Jun 10, 2018 11:31 am

Thanx! How do you lower your latency?

x-pander
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by x-pander » Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:51 am

https://www.joelcarlo.net/wp-content/up ... ttings.png you go there, click on control panel and then change the buffer size.

biesmusik
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by biesmusik » Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:40 am

Thanx!! got the latency down to 3 ms !! buffersize to 32!! The buffer size were at 256 !!

tlmauer3
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:01 am
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by tlmauer3 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:23 pm

Peakae, do you know if loading external hardware as plugins can be just as much as a resource hog as digital plugs? I was always under the impression that after you ping it in sync and have that all set up, there shouldn’t be any burden on processing power; or at the very least, nothing as noticeable as most digital plugs.

I use a lot of hardware and usually have close to a dozen external boxes connected, yet I don’t really see any kind of pattern in being able to predict if it’s going to be a potential problem loading any particular external effect or if it’s smooth sailing as if I never added the external hardware plugin. I'm on 9.5 Pro on a late 2014 Mac, i7, 16 RAM, 500 Gb, but haven’t tested it on 9.5. Just 9, 8.5, and 8.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vinylizor and 3 guests