Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18631
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:41 am

James K wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:10 am
Dragging midi or audio files to sampler track broken here too.

It is surprising how something like this wasn't caught before release.
Hi,

Change the 64 to 32 bit floating processing precision in the VST Audio System.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1631
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by planarchist » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:03 am

There seem to rather a lot of issues on this update (stating the obvious?). It's always hard to gauge what percentage of users are affected but still is it not concerning that there's been no comment from Steinberg?
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Ambientdave
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:17 am
Location: Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Ambientdave » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:10 am

planarchist wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:03 am
There seem to rather a lot of issues on this update (stating the obvious?). It's always hard to gauge what percentage of users are affected but still is it not concerning that there's been no comment from Steinberg?
I agree
As a greenhorn of Cubase,I am concerned as to the issues of bugs being raised.Not being an expert,but would have thought that this maintenance update would have sorted out the bugs, before Cubase 10 arrives.
I bet Steinberg are working hard behind the scenes,to fix the issues.
Windows 10 Pro, with Intel i5 340GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD,500GB HDD,external 1TB HDD,

Audio interface, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen,monitoring through Beyerdynamic DT250 headphones.
Microphone: Rodes NT1A
Midi controllers: Akai MPK249 and M Audio Oxygen 25,
Software: Cubase Pro 10 (latest version),various sound libraries and plugins

ofernandez
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:26 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by ofernandez » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:21 am

Ambientdave wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:10 am
planarchist wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:03 am
There seem to rather a lot of issues on this update (stating the obvious?). It's always hard to gauge what percentage of users are affected but still is it not concerning that there's been no comment from Steinberg?
I agree
As a greenhorn of Cubase,I am concerned as to the issues of bugs being raised.Not being an expert,but would have thought that this maintenance update would have sorted out the bugs, before Cubase 10 arrives.
I bet Steinberg are working hard behind the scenes,to fix the issues.
If they worked hard, they wouldn't have to release these disastrous updates. :evil:
HP Workstation Z640 - Dual Intel XEON E5-2609 v3 - 16GB - Nvidia GTX 980 - ZOOM UAC-2 -
Steinberg Cubase 9.5 Pro - Windows 10 (1083) -

Ambientdave
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:17 am
Location: Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Ambientdave » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:45 am

ofernandez wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:21 am
Ambientdave wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:10 am
planarchist wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:03 am
There seem to rather a lot of issues on this update (stating the obvious?). It's always hard to gauge what percentage of users are affected but still is it not concerning that there's been no comment from Steinberg?
I agree
As a greenhorn of Cubase,I am concerned as to the issues of bugs being raised.Not being an expert,but would have thought that this maintenance update would have sorted out the bugs, before Cubase 10 arrives.
I bet Steinberg are working hard behind the scenes,to fix the issues.
If they worked hard, they wouldn't have to release these disastrous updates. :evil:
Yeah I know a lot of people are upset,but would imagine they are working hard behind the scenes.Also image the amount of software code to work through is horrendous
And of course I appreciate some people,earn a living from producing music,via Cubase,so can only imagine their frustration
It would be good if Steinberg kept its customers updated,about the latest issues/progress etc
Windows 10 Pro, with Intel i5 340GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD,500GB HDD,external 1TB HDD,

Audio interface, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen,monitoring through Beyerdynamic DT250 headphones.
Microphone: Rodes NT1A
Midi controllers: Akai MPK249 and M Audio Oxygen 25,
Software: Cubase Pro 10 (latest version),various sound libraries and plugins

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 815
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Steve Helstrip » Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:31 am

Wow, just reading through the comments while downloading. I think I'll be giving this one a miss. :o
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

Lasso
Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Lasso » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:15 pm

no problems here so far
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

valsolim
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Brno, Czechia
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by valsolim » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:26 pm

I also haven't come across any new issues with this update. However, I should mention that I use only 32-bit internal processing and 24-bit recording format.

Best regards
--
Miloslav
Cubase Pro 9.5, Dorico Pro 2, HALion 6, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10, Plogue Bidule, Cognitone Synfire, Celemony Melodyne, MeldaProduction, ToneBoosters, Voxengo, Steinberg MR816csx, Presonus DigiMax FS, ART HeadAmp 6 Pro, IK Multimedia ARC 2, Adam Audio A7X + Sub10, AKG K271 mkII, TC Electronic Konnekt 24D, Steinberg UR22, Audix D2, D4, D6, i5, ADX-51, Sennheiser e614, 2x Shure SM137, Røde NT1-A, DPA 4099 S/U, Roland FC-300, Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX49

Manike
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Manike » Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:47 pm

For those having crash on record - I had an all day session with a musician the Sunday after the update where I crashed probably over 20 times. Monday I had another all day session with a musician and didn't crash at all - the only thing I changed was swapping 64bit processing precision to 32bit. I've done no testing on this but like i said.. Monday I had no crashes.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

User avatar
studioton
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by studioton » Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:53 pm

Manike wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:47 pm
For those having crash on record - I had an all day session with a musician the Sunday after the update where I crashed probably over 20 times. Monday I had another all day session with a musician and didn't crash at all - the only thing I changed was swapping 64bit processing precision to 32bit. I've done no testing on this but like i said.. Monday I had no crashes.
I dont wont to switch to 32bit processiong .. They need to fix all bugs .. I am still on 9.5.30 and works fine.. just skip this update .. expectiing 9.5.4x

Manike
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Manike » Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:18 pm

studioton wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:53 pm
I dont wont to switch to 32bit processiong .. They need to fix all bugs .. I am still on 9.5.30 and works fine.. just skip this update .. expectiing 9.5.4x


Yea - thats fair enough. I just dont want to go through uninstalling Cubase and reinstalling it.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

Ambientdave
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:17 am
Location: Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Ambientdave » Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:31 pm

Manike wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:18 pm
studioton wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:53 pm
I dont wont to switch to 32bit processiong .. They need to fix all bugs .. I am still on 9.5.30 and works fine.. just skip this update .. expectiing 9.5.4x


Yea - thats fair enough. I just dont want to go through uninstalling Cubase and reinstalling it.
Hi Bud
Think somewhere,I read , in this forum you can roll back with unistalling and re installing.Please find below what I found,this will help
Uninstall JPG.JPG
(65.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Windows 10 Pro, with Intel i5 340GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD,500GB HDD,external 1TB HDD,

Audio interface, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen,monitoring through Beyerdynamic DT250 headphones.
Microphone: Rodes NT1A
Midi controllers: Akai MPK249 and M Audio Oxygen 25,
Software: Cubase Pro 10 (latest version),various sound libraries and plugins

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18631
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:03 pm

studioton wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:53 pm
I dont wont to switch to 32bit processiong .. They need to fix all bugs .. I am still on 9.5.30 and works fine.. just skip this update .. expectiing 9.5.4x
With 9.5.30 you are in the 32 but float processing precision.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Manike
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Manike » Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:15 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:03 pm

With 9.5.30 you are in the 32 but float processing precision.

No we had 64bit processing - they've introducing 64bit bit depth recording.
Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 17.17.29.png
(50.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 17.19.42.png
(36.11 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 17.19.42.png
(36.11 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 17.17.29.png
(50.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

Ambientdave
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:17 am
Location: Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Ambientdave » Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:29 pm

OK so I had noticed today something odd
My Izotope Neutron is in the blacklist for some reason.It wasn't there before the update

How do I move my Neutron out of the blacklist? I had thought about downloading it again,but does not seem to be Neutron there,only the 2nd and newer version of it

Cheers
Windows 10 Pro, with Intel i5 340GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD,500GB HDD,external 1TB HDD,

Audio interface, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen,monitoring through Beyerdynamic DT250 headphones.
Microphone: Rodes NT1A
Midi controllers: Akai MPK249 and M Audio Oxygen 25,
Software: Cubase Pro 10 (latest version),various sound libraries and plugins

Rejean Lachance
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:10 pm
Contact:

Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Post by Rejean Lachance » Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:10 pm

Hi, anyone get their system crash when trying to record with 9.5.40 ???? I'm mad....

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18631
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:19 pm

Rejean Lachance wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:10 pm
Hi, anyone get their system crash when trying to record with 9.5.40 ???? I'm mad....
Hi,

it has been discussed here, and even in the dedicated thread.

Switch to the 32-bit float processing precision to avoid the crash.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Post by Mrhehon » Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:38 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:19 pm
Rejean Lachance wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:10 pm
Hi, anyone get their system crash when trying to record with 9.5.40 ???? I'm mad....
Hi,

it has been discussed here, and even in the dedicated thread.

Switch to the 32-bit float processing precision to avoid the crash.
So what you're saying is if you want to use the new midi in the sample track feature, want your media bay to work correctly or need to record without your system crashing you have to turn off the cubase 64 bit audio engine which was one of the big deals of upgrading to 9.5.

Can you understand why people are not happy?
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

Manike
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Manike » Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:51 pm

Ambientdave wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:31 pm
Hi Bud
Think somewhere,I read , in this forum you can roll back with unistalling and re installing.Please find below what I found,this will help


Thanks for this - I'm on mac so I think the only way is to uninstall. Someone on the forum had managed to use Pacifist but as long as I've got a workaround I'm ok.

Michael
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18631
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:13 pm

Mrhehon wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:38 pm
Can you understand why people are not happy?
Of course I can understand it. And I'm also not happy with these bugs.

I also didn't convince anybody he should be happy with the version. I try to help to find a solution for the user by sharing the knowledge.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Ambientdave
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:17 am
Location: Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Ambientdave » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:41 pm

Manike wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:51 pm
Ambientdave wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:31 pm
Hi Bud
Think somewhere,I read , in this forum you can roll back with unistalling and re installing.Please find below what I found,this will help


Thanks for this - I'm on mac so I think the only way is to uninstall. Someone on the forum had managed to use Pacifist but as long as I've got a workaround I'm ok.

Michael
Ok no worries bud
David
Windows 10 Pro, with Intel i5 340GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD,500GB HDD,external 1TB HDD,

Audio interface, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen,monitoring through Beyerdynamic DT250 headphones.
Microphone: Rodes NT1A
Midi controllers: Akai MPK249 and M Audio Oxygen 25,
Software: Cubase Pro 10 (latest version),various sound libraries and plugins

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Post by Mrhehon » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:57 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:13 pm
Mrhehon wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:38 pm
Can you understand why people are not happy?
Of course I can understand it. And I'm also not happy with these bugs.

I also didn't convince anybody he should be happy with the version. I try to help to find a solution for the user by sharing the knowledge.
Fair enough Martin, apologies for being grumpy.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

davidobjay
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update crashing on-record

Post by davidobjay » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:33 pm

My apologies for the long quote below (originally posted by "gessler") but his post describes EXACTLY what happens on my system. Exactly. However, I am on Windows 7 x64. Just wanted to put that out there . . . .


"Running High Sierra and 9.5.40. Like my pal Jono, I get an instant crash to the desktop if I press record on an audio track. What I've been able to suss out about it:

--If I add a stereo audio track, assign a mono input to it, arm the track, and hit record in the transport, BAM! instant crash to the desktop. (Note: If I made that mistake in the past, I would just end up with a “one-sided” stereo recording.) However, if I add a stereo track and assign a stereo source and attempt to record to it, everything is fine.

--The crash happens ONLY when I have added a "mismatched" (i.e., stereo output / mono input) track to the project first and THEN I try to record to it. If instead I add a “properly matched” audio track first, then add a "mismatched" track subsequent to that, recording to the either track will not cause a crash.

--Lastly, if I have successfully recorded to a mismatched track (as described in bullet 2), then this behavior goes away completely for the rest of the current session. I can create a new song and record to whatever audio tracks I choose ("mismatched" or "matched") in whatever order without a crash. However, if I restart Cubase, the behavior returns (until I am able to successfully record to a mismatched track as noted in this bullet)."
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Windows 7 64Bit, Asus x299 Prime Deluxe II, 7960x, 32gb ram, RME Raydat fed by RME ADI-2 Pro FS and Focusrite Clarett Octopre. And: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Windows 7 64Bit, Asus Sabertooth X99, 6950X, 32gb ram, RME hdspe AIO fed by RME ADI-2 Pro FS and Focusrite Clarett Octopre.

User avatar
musicbeat
Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:11 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by musicbeat » Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:25 am

Channel Strip presets menu opens from the Mixconsole but presets can't be loaded. They show perfectly, you can double-click to load them but the Channel Strip doesn't change..... All other presets are working 😵
i7-6700 3.4 ghz 32 go L2|W10 x64
Cubase Pro 9.5|HALion 6|Cubasis|Groove Agent Pro|Spectrasonics Bundle
RME BabyFace|AxiomPro49|Focal Pro-CMS 40's

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18631
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:21 am

musicbeat wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:25 am
Channel Strip presets menu opens from the Mixconsole but presets can't be loaded. They show perfectly, you can double-click to load them but the Channel Strip doesn't change..... All other presets are working 😵
Hi,

This is an known issue of Cubase 9.5.40, already discussed here on the forum.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests