Page 7 of 11

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:41 am
by Martin.Jirsak
James K wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:10 am
Dragging midi or audio files to sampler track broken here too.

It is surprising how something like this wasn't caught before release.
Hi,

Change the 64 to 32 bit floating processing precision in the VST Audio System.

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:03 am
by planarchist
There seem to rather a lot of issues on this update (stating the obvious?). It's always hard to gauge what percentage of users are affected but still is it not concerning that there's been no comment from Steinberg?

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:10 am
by Ambientdave
planarchist wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:03 am
There seem to rather a lot of issues on this update (stating the obvious?). It's always hard to gauge what percentage of users are affected but still is it not concerning that there's been no comment from Steinberg?
I agree
As a greenhorn of Cubase,I am concerned as to the issues of bugs being raised.Not being an expert,but would have thought that this maintenance update would have sorted out the bugs, before Cubase 10 arrives.
I bet Steinberg are working hard behind the scenes,to fix the issues.

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:21 am
by ofernandez
Ambientdave wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:10 am
planarchist wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:03 am
There seem to rather a lot of issues on this update (stating the obvious?). It's always hard to gauge what percentage of users are affected but still is it not concerning that there's been no comment from Steinberg?
I agree
As a greenhorn of Cubase,I am concerned as to the issues of bugs being raised.Not being an expert,but would have thought that this maintenance update would have sorted out the bugs, before Cubase 10 arrives.
I bet Steinberg are working hard behind the scenes,to fix the issues.
If they worked hard, they wouldn't have to release these disastrous updates. :evil:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:45 am
by Ambientdave
ofernandez wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:21 am
Ambientdave wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:10 am
planarchist wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:03 am
There seem to rather a lot of issues on this update (stating the obvious?). It's always hard to gauge what percentage of users are affected but still is it not concerning that there's been no comment from Steinberg?
I agree
As a greenhorn of Cubase,I am concerned as to the issues of bugs being raised.Not being an expert,but would have thought that this maintenance update would have sorted out the bugs, before Cubase 10 arrives.
I bet Steinberg are working hard behind the scenes,to fix the issues.
If they worked hard, they wouldn't have to release these disastrous updates. :evil:
Yeah I know a lot of people are upset,but would imagine they are working hard behind the scenes.Also image the amount of software code to work through is horrendous
And of course I appreciate some people,earn a living from producing music,via Cubase,so can only imagine their frustration
It would be good if Steinberg kept its customers updated,about the latest issues/progress etc

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:31 am
by Steve Helstrip
Wow, just reading through the comments while downloading. I think I'll be giving this one a miss. :o

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:15 pm
by Lasso
no problems here so far

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:26 pm
by valsolim
I also haven't come across any new issues with this update. However, I should mention that I use only 32-bit internal processing and 24-bit recording format.

Best regards
--
Miloslav

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:47 pm
by Manike
For those having crash on record - I had an all day session with a musician the Sunday after the update where I crashed probably over 20 times. Monday I had another all day session with a musician and didn't crash at all - the only thing I changed was swapping 64bit processing precision to 32bit. I've done no testing on this but like i said.. Monday I had no crashes.

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:53 pm
by studioton
Manike wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:47 pm
For those having crash on record - I had an all day session with a musician the Sunday after the update where I crashed probably over 20 times. Monday I had another all day session with a musician and didn't crash at all - the only thing I changed was swapping 64bit processing precision to 32bit. I've done no testing on this but like i said.. Monday I had no crashes.
I dont wont to switch to 32bit processiong .. They need to fix all bugs .. I am still on 9.5.30 and works fine.. just skip this update .. expectiing 9.5.4x

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:18 pm
by Manike
studioton wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:53 pm
I dont wont to switch to 32bit processiong .. They need to fix all bugs .. I am still on 9.5.30 and works fine.. just skip this update .. expectiing 9.5.4x


Yea - thats fair enough. I just dont want to go through uninstalling Cubase and reinstalling it.

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:31 pm
by Ambientdave
Manike wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:18 pm
studioton wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:53 pm
I dont wont to switch to 32bit processiong .. They need to fix all bugs .. I am still on 9.5.30 and works fine.. just skip this update .. expectiing 9.5.4x


Yea - thats fair enough. I just dont want to go through uninstalling Cubase and reinstalling it.
Hi Bud
Think somewhere,I read , in this forum you can roll back with unistalling and re installing.Please find below what I found,this will help
Uninstall JPG.JPG
(65.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:03 pm
by Martin.Jirsak
studioton wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:53 pm
I dont wont to switch to 32bit processiong .. They need to fix all bugs .. I am still on 9.5.30 and works fine.. just skip this update .. expectiing 9.5.4x
With 9.5.30 you are in the 32 but float processing precision.

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:15 pm
by Manike
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:03 pm

With 9.5.30 you are in the 32 but float processing precision.

No we had 64bit processing - they've introducing 64bit bit depth recording.
Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 17.17.29.png
(50.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 17.19.42.png
(36.11 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:29 pm
by Ambientdave
OK so I had noticed today something odd
My Izotope Neutron is in the blacklist for some reason.It wasn't there before the update

How do I move my Neutron out of the blacklist? I had thought about downloading it again,but does not seem to be Neutron there,only the 2nd and newer version of it

Cheers

Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:10 pm
by Rejean Lachance
Hi, anyone get their system crash when trying to record with 9.5.40 ???? I'm mad....

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:19 pm
by Martin.Jirsak
Rejean Lachance wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:10 pm
Hi, anyone get their system crash when trying to record with 9.5.40 ???? I'm mad....
Hi,

it has been discussed here, and even in the dedicated thread.

Switch to the 32-bit float processing precision to avoid the crash.

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:38 pm
by Mrhehon
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:19 pm
Rejean Lachance wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:10 pm
Hi, anyone get their system crash when trying to record with 9.5.40 ???? I'm mad....
Hi,

it has been discussed here, and even in the dedicated thread.

Switch to the 32-bit float processing precision to avoid the crash.
So what you're saying is if you want to use the new midi in the sample track feature, want your media bay to work correctly or need to record without your system crashing you have to turn off the cubase 64 bit audio engine which was one of the big deals of upgrading to 9.5.

Can you understand why people are not happy?

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:51 pm
by Manike
Ambientdave wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:31 pm
Hi Bud
Think somewhere,I read , in this forum you can roll back with unistalling and re installing.Please find below what I found,this will help


Thanks for this - I'm on mac so I think the only way is to uninstall. Someone on the forum had managed to use Pacifist but as long as I've got a workaround I'm ok.

Michael

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:13 pm
by Martin.Jirsak
Mrhehon wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:38 pm
Can you understand why people are not happy?
Of course I can understand it. And I'm also not happy with these bugs.

I also didn't convince anybody he should be happy with the version. I try to help to find a solution for the user by sharing the knowledge.

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:41 pm
by Ambientdave
Manike wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:51 pm
Ambientdave wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:31 pm
Hi Bud
Think somewhere,I read , in this forum you can roll back with unistalling and re installing.Please find below what I found,this will help


Thanks for this - I'm on mac so I think the only way is to uninstall. Someone on the forum had managed to use Pacifist but as long as I've got a workaround I'm ok.

Michael
Ok no worries bud
David

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 crash

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:57 pm
by Mrhehon
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:13 pm
Mrhehon wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:38 pm
Can you understand why people are not happy?
Of course I can understand it. And I'm also not happy with these bugs.

I also didn't convince anybody he should be happy with the version. I try to help to find a solution for the user by sharing the knowledge.
Fair enough Martin, apologies for being grumpy.

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update crashing on-record

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:33 pm
by davidobjay
My apologies for the long quote below (originally posted by "gessler") but his post describes EXACTLY what happens on my system. Exactly. However, I am on Windows 7 x64. Just wanted to put that out there . . . .


"Running High Sierra and 9.5.40. Like my pal Jono, I get an instant crash to the desktop if I press record on an audio track. What I've been able to suss out about it:

--If I add a stereo audio track, assign a mono input to it, arm the track, and hit record in the transport, BAM! instant crash to the desktop. (Note: If I made that mistake in the past, I would just end up with a “one-sided” stereo recording.) However, if I add a stereo track and assign a stereo source and attempt to record to it, everything is fine.

--The crash happens ONLY when I have added a "mismatched" (i.e., stereo output / mono input) track to the project first and THEN I try to record to it. If instead I add a “properly matched” audio track first, then add a "mismatched" track subsequent to that, recording to the either track will not cause a crash.

--Lastly, if I have successfully recorded to a mismatched track (as described in bullet 2), then this behavior goes away completely for the rest of the current session. I can create a new song and record to whatever audio tracks I choose ("mismatched" or "matched") in whatever order without a crash. However, if I restart Cubase, the behavior returns (until I am able to successfully record to a mismatched track as noted in this bullet)."

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:25 am
by musicbeat
Channel Strip presets menu opens from the Mixconsole but presets can't be loaded. They show perfectly, you can double-click to load them but the Channel Strip doesn't change..... All other presets are working 😵

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:21 am
by Martin.Jirsak
musicbeat wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:25 am
Channel Strip presets menu opens from the Mixconsole but presets can't be loaded. They show perfectly, you can double-click to load them but the Channel Strip doesn't change..... All other presets are working 😵
Hi,

This is an known issue of Cubase 9.5.40, already discussed here on the forum.