Can't change the length of MIDI notes

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Can't change the length of MIDI notes

Post by EmmCeeSq » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:11 pm

hi!

All of a sudden, I can't change the length of MIDI notes. I can move them up and down (pitch-wise), but can't move them horizontally or stretch them out.

Any ideas?

Many thanks

Mike
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Can't change the length of MIDI notes

Post by EmmCeeSq » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:14 pm

Tracks aren't locked (my initial thought). I can draw in new notes, but can't move them.
Also, I can't move any events in the mixer window either.

I'd really appreciate some help - I'm on a bit of a tight turnaround and this is a new problem I've never encountered.

Thank you

Mike
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

kelp
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't change the length of MIDI notes

Post by kelp » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:21 pm

Does it happen with quantize off? Sometimes I'll have quantize set to 1/1 (bar) and it feels like I can't edit the lengths when really I'm just not editing them far enough for the quantize setting.

EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Can't change the length of MIDI notes

Post by EmmCeeSq » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:22 pm

A reboot seems to have solved the problem, although I'd like to know what caused this.
Cubase has a habit of doing random, massively irritating things like this, usually when I'm on a deadline, and if I can avoid it happening again in the future I'd like to.

Thanks

Mike
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Can't change the length of MIDI notes

Post by EmmCeeSq » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:23 pm

and thanks Kelp, I'd turned quantize off completely while checking everything.
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests