Sonar Refugee with License/Dongle Issues

Interested in Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 or Cubase Elements 9? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!
emptybe

Sonar Refugee with License/Dongle Issues

Post by emptybe » Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:35 pm

Hello Peeps. I'm one of the many Sonar refugees looking for solace in Cubase. I make music for a living so my setup is critical and Cubase 9.5 looks pretty good (if unfamiliar). I was about to pull the trigger and go full Cubase 9.5 but had some pressing concerns about the licensing and crossgrade:
- I'm on Sonar X3 and all the crossgrade stuff seems to be about Platinum. Does that mean I have to pay full price? Or is there some easier route?
- I run 2 DAWs - one in my studio and one at home. I've been doing lots of reading about dongle/s and still don't see how I can run Cubase Pro on both machines without either paying for 2 licenses or taking the dongle with me into work every day. Can't I have one license and 2 dongles as long as I'm never using cubase on both machines at the same time?
- I've read that I could run Pro on my studio DAW and Elements on my home one but will I get some compatability issues? I run 2 machines that direct sync all the audio and project files so I can work on something in the studio in the day and tweak in the evening if I have to.

Any insights appreciated... :roll:

Romantique Tp
External Moderator

Re: Sonar Refugee with License/Dongle Issues

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:00 am

1) It seems to be for Sonar Platinum and Professional only, but try contacting a store selling the crossgrade or Steinberg and ask.

2) That's not possible, you will have to take the dongle with you if you only have a single license. They're currently developing an alternative form of licensing that might make things better for people like you. It will take a while until it's complete though.