Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
Le Larron
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:50 am
Contact:

Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by Le Larron » Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:56 am

Hi
I use Cubase Pro in a professionnal studio with a lot of hardware devices for mixing (comps, EQs, etc...)
I use a lot the "external effects" but have a pb because somme of my devices are either "stereo" or "double mono", and sometimes I like to use it on stereo tracks, and sometimes on 2 different mono tracks, which is impossible in Cubase now.
Could you do the same for inserts as you do for physical outputs, I mean the possibility to chose only Left or Right channel of a stereo device on a mono track ?
thanks a lot.
Laurent.
www.milkmusic.fr

Jorge Ruiz
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by Jorge Ruiz » Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:58 am

Agreed. I'm finding the same limitation. One solution would be that Cubase allowed us to reuse inputs and outputs when setting up external effects. That way we could define the same external effect as one stereo or two mono plugins at the same time. It would also be benefitial in cases of hardware synths that feature an audio input (e.g. Minitaur or Minibrute), as it would allow us to create both an external effect, for using the filter, and an external instrument, for the MIDI part. Unfortunately this is not possible right now, as we can not reuse inputs/outputs.
Last edited by Jorge Ruiz on Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PC i7 5960x 8 cores @ 4.2Ghz (hyperthreading off)| 16 GB RAM | MSI X99A SLI Plus | Nvidia GT 640 | RME HDSPe AIO PCIe | 1x Samsung EVO 850 250GB SSD (System) + 2x Crucial MX300 525GB SSD RAID 0 (Libraries) | Windows 10 Pro 64 bits | Cubase Pro 9.5.10 | WaveLab Elements 9 | Komplete 10 Ultimate | Waves | Soundtoys | Alesis QuadraSynth | Oberheim Matrix 1000 | Korg TR-Rack | Zoom 9030

Le Larron
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:50 am
Contact:

Re: Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by Le Larron » Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:11 pm

I agree with Jorge.
Another case in which it can be problematic is with a "preamp + EQ device " that you can use either for recording (>> configured in "inputs menu") and for mixing (>> impossible to assigne same return input in "external effects")

rockrecorder
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by rockrecorder » Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:12 pm

+1
Cubase Pro 9.5 64bit | Wavelab Pro 9 | Win10 64bit | Intel core i7-5820K 3,3Ghz | ASRock X99 Extreme4/3.1 w/ ASRock Thunderbolt 2 AIC | 64Gb RAM | Lynx Aurora 16VT TB x 3 | UAD Quad x 2, Octo x 4

Evertone
Junior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by Evertone » Thu Oct 26, 2017 5:28 pm

+1
This would be nice.
I personally think this area could use an upgrade to be more flexible.
Cubase Pro 9.5.10
Mac Pro - Sierra OS 10.12.5 - 6700k - Z170x UD5 TH - 16gb - GTX 750 TI
2008 Mac Pro - El Capitan 10.11.6 - 32gb - ATI 5770

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by orchetect » Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:57 am

+1
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 32GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.2, Cubase Pro 9.5.10, Dorico 1.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

digi001
Junior Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:08 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Re: Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by digi001 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:31 pm

+1

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 623
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by toader » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:56 pm

+1
Computer 1: Cubase 9.5.10, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 9.5.15, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

https://www.noiseradiationstudios.com

mudseason
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by mudseason » Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:55 pm

+1
this and the possibility to store/load i/o routing for external FX

svennevs
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono and Stereo Hardware Inserts

Post by svennevs » Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:50 pm

+1

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Rickenbacker198 and 1 guest