Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by Vendimion » Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:39 pm

Hey,

I would like to be able to set the key signature and/or switch the accidentals from Sharp(#) to Flat(b) and vice versa in the midi editor.
I am working on a project in F minor and accidentals in the midi editor shows only Sharps... This is really annoying when working with midi.
I know, as the external moderator Steve told me, that you can trick Cubase using chord track and inserting a minor chord in a midi track to show Flats and if you have "Enharmonics from chord track" turned on in preferences but let's be honest, it just sucks...

Am I wrong to say that other DAW's can do that easily??

Hope my prayers will be heard,
Regards
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

Ojustaboo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by Ojustaboo » Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:42 am

Agree 100%
i7 3820 a2011 | Asus P9X79 MB | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon 8GB RX 480 OC | Win 10 Pro | Focusrite Saffire Pro 24
Cubase 9.5 | HALion 6 | Groove Agent 4 | NI Komplete 11 | UVI True Keys Italian | Omnisphere 1 | Jamstix 4
Kawai MP7 | NI Maschine Mikro mk 2

GrahamInChezzy
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 7:22 am
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by GrahamInChezzy » Fri Mar 09, 2018 10:10 am

+1
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Cubase Pro 9.5 Edius 8WG 3XS Evolve system : Asus X99-S i7 5820K 32gb DDR4 All drives SSD Windows 10 Pro with all updates

Babe8
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by Babe8 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:11 am

+1
Mac Pro Late 2013
Sierra 10.13.6
Cubase Pro 9.5

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by -steve- » Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:09 am

Just want to pop in here to say a single chord entered on the chord track gives the result you are after.

Also, if you use the the score editor the notes are displayed with accurately spelled accidentals based on the key entered there.
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by Vendimion » Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:28 pm

-steve- wrote:
Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:09 am
Just want to pop in here to say a single chord entered on the chord track gives the result you are after.

Also, if you use the the score editor the notes are displayed with accurately spelled accidentals based on the key entered there.
Yes, the score editor, not the midi editor.

Workflow. If we can trick Cubase creating a Chord track and dragging it a minor chord, why could we just choose accidentals to show in the midi editor....
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:54 pm

You insist that it's a trick, and you're entitled to your opinion.

However, it is the designed functionality, which also includes coloring notes by scale and chord pitches. Also this method gives a high level of granular control. by providing different enharmonic spelling depending on chords.

I'm curious to know what would happen if you used this function for a few projects.
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:57 pm

Vendimion wrote:
Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:39 pm
Am I wrong to say that other DAW's can do that easily??
You tell me. Did you research that?
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by Vendimion » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:50 pm

-steve- wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:54 pm
You insist that it's a trick, and you're entitled to your opinion.

However, it is the designed functionality, which also includes coloring notes by scale and chord pitches. Also this method gives a high level of granular control. by providing different enharmonic spelling depending on chords.

I'm curious to know what would happen if you used this function for a few projects.
Ok let's say I use this but what about already created tracks?? I will not start all over again to create new midi container with the right key dragged from the chord track??

Could we not just choose the key in the midi editor?
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by Vendimion » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:02 pm

I don't have Logic but I have seen in and with Reaper which I use you have the "Key snap" in the midi editor which allow you to choose the scale and chord meaning that you can switch from Sharp to Flat. I thought that Cubase would have done the same with Scale correction but it does not?
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:45 pm

Vendimion wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:50 pm
-steve- wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:54 pm
You insist that it's a trick, and you're entitled to your opinion.

However, it is the designed functionality, which also includes coloring notes by scale and chord pitches. Also this method gives a high level of granular control. by providing different enharmonic spelling depending on chords.

I'm curious to know what would happen if you used this function for a few projects.
Ok let's say I use this but what about already created tracks?? I will not start all over again to create new midi container with the right key dragged from the chord track??

Could we not just choose the key in the midi editor?
The problem is just that you don't understand how it works, and seemingly don't want to try.

Once you activate Enharmonics from Chord Track, You literally have to do one thing. Put a chord on the chord track. That's all. Nothing else, zilch, zero, nada, niente, nichts, hech, niets. ;) :lol:
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:46 pm

-steve- wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:45 pm
Vendimion wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:50 pm
-steve- wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:54 pm
You insist that it's a trick, and you're entitled to your opinion.

However, it is the designed functionality, which also includes coloring notes by scale and chord pitches. Also this method gives a high level of granular control. by providing different enharmonic spelling depending on chords.

I'm curious to know what would happen if you used this function for a few projects.
Ok let's say I use this but what about already created tracks?? I will not start all over again to create new midi container with the right key dragged from the chord track??

Could we not just choose the key in the midi editor?
Vendimion wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:02 pm
I don't have Logic but I have seen in and with Reaper which I use you have the "Key snap" in the midi editor which allow you to choose the scale and chord meaning that you can switch from Sharp to Flat. I thought that Cubase would have done the same with Scale correction but it does not?
The problem is just that you don't understand how it works, and seemingly don't want to try.

Once you activate Enharmonics from Chord Track, You literally have to do one thing. Put a chord on the chord track. That's all. Nothing else, zilch, zero, nada, niente, nichts, hech, niets. ;) :lol:
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Key signature & Accidentals in midi editor

Post by Vendimion » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:22 am

-steve- wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:46 pm
-steve- wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:45 pm
Vendimion wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:50 pm


Ok let's say I use this but what about already created tracks?? I will not start all over again to create new midi container with the right key dragged from the chord track??

Could we not just choose the key in the midi editor?
Vendimion wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:02 pm
I don't have Logic but I have seen in and with Reaper which I use you have the "Key snap" in the midi editor which allow you to choose the scale and chord meaning that you can switch from Sharp to Flat. I thought that Cubase would have done the same with Scale correction but it does not?
The problem is just that you don't understand how it works, and seemingly don't want to try.

Once you activate Enharmonics from Chord Track, You literally have to do one thing. Put a chord on the chord track. That's all. Nothing else, zilch, zero, nada, niente, nichts, hech, niets. ;) :lol:
Yes steve I understand and I did it as you explained, it's just the way to do this... If I do that way I can't use the chord track for another purpose and if I remove the chord track all flats returns to sharps.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests