Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
User avatar
Jorge Ruiz
Junior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:31 am
Contact:

Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Jorge Ruiz »

viewtopic.php?f=228&t=80941

An old request and useful feature, still not implemented.
Intel i7 5960x | 16 GB RAM | Windows 10 Pro | MSI X99A SLI Plus | Radeon RX 550 | RME HDSPe RayDAT | Focusrite Clarett OctoPre | Behringer ADA8200 | Steinberg CC121 | Cubase Pro 10.5 | WaveLab Elements 10 | Komplete 12 | Waves | Soundtoys | Oberheim Matrix 1000 | Korg TR-Rack | Alesis S4 Plus | Zoom 9010 | Roland GP-8

jjjooonnn
Junior Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by jjjooonnn »

I was hoping this was gonna finally be there as well.
+1

Blackout
Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:13 am

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Blackout »

I thought you were 'finally listening' $teinberg??? Still not implemented???

Business as usual it seems *sigh*
Cubase 8.5.30 / UAD2 Quad + UAD2 Solo / Win7 x64 SP1 / Asus X99 Deluxe II MB / 12 Gig DDR3 Samsung Ram / NVIDIA GT730 /Steinberg UR824 Audio Interface x2

beerbong
Member
Posts: 853
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by beerbong »

I am surprised they didn't include this, along with features to manually override plugin version numbers (for compatibility).
Also the option to edit 'tag' words would be invaluable (for plugin search).
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

rmirabelle
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 4:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by rmirabelle »

+1 this would be very helpful, especially when the mixer is narrow!

seighty7
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 12:05 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by seighty7 »

I totally agree. I tried to do this yesterday, and had the same thoughts. It would be such an easy feature... please?

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Quinn3k3 »

+1

ivan81
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 5:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by ivan81 »

I will never stop asking for this feature. FabFilter Pro Madness is driving me insane.

Blackout
Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:13 am

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Blackout »

Yes fabfilter are one of the worse culprits. But any time you have a thin channel insert window its just a nightmare ...a guessing game to choose which plugin slot to click on, like Russian Roulette. The names are useless because companies start the plugin name with their company name first. Its just madness. Do $teinberg not see this frustration and kill of creativity? Maybe they don't because they only ever use their stock plugins for demonstration???
Cubase 8.5.30 / UAD2 Quad + UAD2 Solo / Win7 x64 SP1 / Asus X99 Deluxe II MB / 12 Gig DDR3 Samsung Ram / NVIDIA GT730 /Steinberg UR824 Audio Interface x2

User avatar
peAk
Junior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 4:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by peAk »

+1

Absolutely
Cubase 10.5
Win10 Pro
i7 3.4Ghz 4770 Haswell
16GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD, Western Digital Black
Nvidia GeForce GTX 960
Steinberg UR242
Nektar P4

00jakson
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by 00jakson »

ivan81 wrote:I will never stop asking for this feature. FabFilter Pro Madness is driving me insane.
Thats exactly why i came here.. Just upgraded to cubase 9 pro from cubase 6.5 and i cant change the name of the plugins and its driving me crazy. Fabfilter is the worst so far, the slate stuff is just a little aggravating.

weld77
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by weld77 »

+1

magnushuse
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by magnushuse »

+1

weld77
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by weld77 »

I've been going crazy with Vienna Suite Pro plugins, which are all named "Vienna [*] Pro" and show up in the mixer identically as "Vienna ..ro" (at my usual zoom setting). At very least, if we can't rename plugins, Cubase needs to do a better job with the abbreviations. Logic Pro is a little bit better at this.

Evertone
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Evertone »

+1
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

Larioso
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Larioso »

+1 yes, please.

Some plugin names are so long and become a mush with the shorting algos used.
Windows 7 Pro - Intel i7-860 2.8GHz 16 GB - Cubase Pro 9.5 latest - RME HDSP 9632 + AI4S + Audient ASP 800 - Nvidia GT730

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Winter Rat »

+1
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

arieln
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by arieln »

+1
Cubase Pro 10.5 / Windows 10 64bits

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 817
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Home Studio 87 »

+1
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

VST Plugin Comments / Ratings / Description List

Post by avviano »

Yes please add!

[View my VST Plug-in List in the attachment]

While you're at it, please also add possibility for VST plug-in comments and ratings!!!

I have created a list of my 170 plugins (in excel) for myself, each with thumbnail, comments, rating, usage quick tips to remind me of plugin specifics or what best they are used for / or sound good on or what I need to pay attention to. I also added links to tutorials and youtube videos. Would be great to have the possibility to add this right within Cubase, in a database. I didnt just copy and paste the info, but really dug deep into forums to get other user experiences and compiled all that information into one list.

It would also be nice, to be able to share that information through Cubase in a public cloud space, so other users can profit / benefit from comments, usage specifics, evaluations, ratings and experiences of other users.

It would definetly make Cubase that much more attractive.

PS: I have added a representative images of what my list looks like now. It has been an incredible amount of work compiling it, but benefits me greatly in my workflow (170 entries as of now). Just to give you an idea, how powerful and usefull a database driven VST Plugin Manager could be.

Cheers
Attachments
VST List.JPG
(312.84 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Nuendo 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 4 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS7 W, Yamaha Subwoofer, Lorenz Acoustic Studio F1-80 (1979!), Cubase Midi / Key Command Controller: Stream Deck XL. Programmable studio mouse: Roccat Tyon.

Win 10, i7-4790 CPU, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970.

Website: https://www.avviano.com
Songs: https://soundcloud.com/avviano/tracks

Rockefeller313
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 1:37 am
Contact:

Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Rockefeller313 »

The user Frozenwave made this request 2 years ago for Cubase 8.5, and I've decided to request it again.

I bet this situation is very familiar to all of you:

Image

As you can see, the names appear clipped. This guy is using several Fabfilter plugins. However, at first glance, is impossible to know which plugins they are. Annoying, isn't it?

This feature would allow us to rename our plugins. For example:
- ''Pro Q2'' instead ''Fabfilter Pro-Q2''
- ''BC Flanger'' instead ''Blue Cat's Flanger 3 (Stereo)''
- ''VMR'' instead ''Virtual Mix Rack''
- ''Ozone DynEQ'' instead ''iZotope Ozone 7 Dynamic EQ''
...

You all know what I mean :roll:

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Quinn3k3 »

Edit: Thanks. It looks like the threads got combined.

This seems like a no brainer for Steinberg to implement this unless there is some technical issue that they aren't able to figure out.
Last edited by Quinn3k3 on Tue Jul 04, 2017 11:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by alexis »

+1
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

Blackout
Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:13 am

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Blackout »

still nothing from $teinberg....glad they are not the tow truck i called and im waiting for them on the side of the road....
Cubase 8.5.30 / UAD2 Quad + UAD2 Solo / Win7 x64 SP1 / Asus X99 Deluxe II MB / 12 Gig DDR3 Samsung Ram / NVIDIA GT730 /Steinberg UR824 Audio Interface x2

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1644
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by djw »

It's a good idea, but a nicer solution would be for Cubase to display the names in short spaces more efficiently.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kevincroner and 2 guests