To Be Released Q1 2019 - Please add ARA integration

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
tonydude
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by tonydude » Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:32 pm

Lack of ARA support is a deal breaker.

I am a Sonar user, since Gibson are discontinuing the product I am looking for alternatives.

Cubase was the best alternative... until I discovered that it does not have ARA support.

Cubase has other features such as notation that are clearly superior to Sonar, but without ARA support I would have been unable to complete my recent album.

Przemek K.
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Przemek K. » Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:10 am

+10 for ARA.

T-Funk
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by T-Funk » Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:02 am

I would love ARA integration for Melodyne and Vocalign in Cubase. Make it happen, Steinberg!

omniphonix
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by omniphonix » Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:30 pm

I would also like to see this added.
Main DAW: Core i9-7940X | 32GB DDR4 2666 | Asus Prime X299-A | Radeon RX570 | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB & 850 Evo 2TB | Acer T272HUL | UR824 | CC121 | Virus TI | MCU Pro | Akai MPD232 | Nektar Panorama P6 | Roland VG-99 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Reason 10

DAW/Gig NB: MSI GT72S G220 | Core i7-6820HK | 32GB DDR4 2133 | GTX 980M 8GB | SM951 256GB PCIe SSD | 850 Evo 1TB SATA SSD | iConnect Audio4+ | Akai APC40 mkII | Akai MPK249 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10

iPad Pro 12.9" Gen 3 1TB: Same Audio4+ as above | CME Xkey 37 | Cubasis | Cubase iC Pro | Many IAA/AU Apps

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Home Studio 87 » Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:00 am

it would be very very coooool......
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 9.5 x64 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

User avatar
MikeWK
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by MikeWK » Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:00 pm

I agree too.
SW: Cubase 9 (9.5) / Nuendo 8 / Wavelab 9 / Win10-64
HW: i7820X, 32GB RAM, X299 chipset, M2.PCI, SSDs, some HDD drives, GTX1050TI 4GB
Audio: RME UFX; Steinberg Midex8 (Win10: YES it works!)
NI Komplete 8 Ulti., Waves 10, Arturia V, EW-Ghostwriter, Sonnox Broadcast, Eventide & many more

Kevin Kascak
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Kevin Kascak » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:50 am

+1
Win10 Pro x64 touchscreen, Intel i9-7900X 10-Core 3.3 GHz, Corsair AIO Cooler 280MM Radiator, ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe LGA 2066Mobo, G.SKILL TridentZ 64GB (4x16GB)DDR4 ,GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB Vid Card, IntelOptane Mem Module 32 GB M.2 80mm with C:\ HDD WD HDD, Intel SSD 600p(1.0TB, M.2 2280 80mm NVMe) Samples drive,3 WD 7200 HDD(for audio,samples,backup) Antelope Orion32 MADI to RME MADI FX,Antelope Satori & R4S, Console1, iLok 2, Alphatrack

User avatar
shanabit
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by shanabit » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:48 pm

Very much needed, not everyone uses VariAudio for Various reasons
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, StudioOnePro 4, Mr816X (Current Tools), CC121
OSX 10.13.6, 2010 MacPro 2.4 Dual Core, 14 GB Ram.

User avatar
liljefelt
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by liljefelt » Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:04 pm

+1
Cubase Pro v9.5.10 | RME HDSP9632 AIO | Win 10 (1703) | Strictly x64.

User avatar
PeteL
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by PeteL » Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:56 pm

+1
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Roseberry i9 ProStudio, Windows 10 x64 Pro, 32GB RAM, 5 GHz, Focusrite 18i8 (2nd Gen)

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by JMCecil » Fri Dec 22, 2017 6:59 pm

Yep, would really like ARA support.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

EngineerJD
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by EngineerJD » Tue Dec 26, 2017 9:45 pm

A SONAR refugee here- Bought Cubase AND Studio One to have multiple options.

Cubase is way more polished and complete with really a really deep feature set, but I was really disappointed to learn that it doesn't support ARA. Until you have ARA you don't realize how much easier it is working with Melodyne and Vocalign.

So Cubase is my primary DAW going forward, but adding my +1 for this feature request.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by JMCecil » Thu Dec 28, 2017 4:45 pm

EngineerJD wrote:
Tue Dec 26, 2017 9:45 pm
Cubase is way more polished and complete with really a really deep feature set, but I was really disappointed to learn that it doesn't support ARA. Until you have ARA you don't realize how much easier it is working with Melodyne and Vocalign.
Just so everyone who is coming over from Sonar knows, Cubase has a function called VariAudio. It is a basic version of an integrated Melodyne. It is available on a tab in the inspector when selecting an audio event or on the side of the audio editor. It is not as full featured as Melodyne, but it does basic tuning and adjustments very well. And, it does it directly inline in the editor.

Because of the work done for VariAudio, most of us think it is unlikely to get ARA. Just setting expectation. But, VariAudio has MILES to go before it can even remotely do all of the things Melodyne does. So, I still hold out some hope :lol:
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Robby 12
Junior Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 1:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Robby 12 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:20 pm

I am just waiting for Studio One to add tape slowing functions then I am out of Cubase for good.

EngineerJD
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by EngineerJD » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:37 pm

JMCecil wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 4:45 pm

Just so everyone who is coming over from Sonar knows, Cubase has a function called VariAudio. It is a basic version of an integrated Melodyne. It is available on a tab in the inspector when selecting an audio event or on the side of the audio editor. It is not as full featured as Melodyne, but it does basic tuning and adjustments very well. And, it does it directly inline in the editor.

Because of the work done for VariAudio, most of us think it is unlikely to get ARA. Just setting expectation. But, VariAudio has MILES to go before it can even remotely do all of the things Melodyne does. So, I still hold out some hope :lol:
Thanks for clarifying- As you point out, just because a function similar to Melodyne exists doesn't mean that we wouldn't prefer to actually use Melodyne. Also, there is Vocalign which is hard to use in Cubase, a breeze in Studio One, and as far as I know there's no equivalent built-in Cubase functionality. I'm sure there will be more ARA applications in the future as well, so it seems a bit shortsighted not to add ARA support.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by JMCecil » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:52 pm

EngineerJD wrote:
Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:37 pm
JMCecil wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 4:45 pm

Just so everyone who is coming over from Sonar knows, Cubase has a function called VariAudio. It is a basic version of an integrated Melodyne. It is available on a tab in the inspector when selecting an audio event or on the side of the audio editor. It is not as full featured as Melodyne, but it does basic tuning and adjustments very well. And, it does it directly inline in the editor.

Because of the work done for VariAudio, most of us think it is unlikely to get ARA. Just setting expectation. But, VariAudio has MILES to go before it can even remotely do all of the things Melodyne does. So, I still hold out some hope :lol:
Thanks for clarifying- As you point out, just because a function similar to Melodyne exists doesn't mean that we wouldn't prefer to actually use Melodyne. Also, there is Vocalign which is hard to use in Cubase, a breeze in Studio One, and as far as I know there's no equivalent built-in Cubase functionality. I'm sure there will be more ARA applications in the future as well, so it seems a bit shortsighted not to add ARA support.
It's going to sound like am arguing, but I really am not. I want ARA support. I just think it is unlikely.

Even in the case of Vocalign, there are warp tools available and hitpoint detection/editing that can be used to do similar but more basic approach to that process. Just like with VariAudio and Melodyne, what part VariAudio does is pretty good .. it's just missing so many nuances that it's hard to compare. Same with Hitpoints and Warp. It does some basic parts you need it to. But, doesn't have the depth you want if you are used to integrated Vocalign.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by McBass » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:41 am

I will add my +1....again. Been doing this for quite a few years now it seems.
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

InverseStories
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:30 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by InverseStories » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:14 am

Another Sonar refugee and Melodyne Studio user adding my +1.

EngineerJD
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by EngineerJD » Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:26 pm

JMCecil wrote:
Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:52 pm

It's going to sound like am arguing, but I really am not. I want ARA support. I just think it is unlikely.
Not at all, I completely understand what you''re saying.

However, isn't this kind of like saying "My DAW has built-in effects like a channel strip and Eq, so no need to add support for 3rd party VST plug-ins?"

(In fact I think that's the position taken by the entry level version of Studio One.)

Maybe a bit of NIH? Steinberg developed the VST standard, but ARA was Presonus and Celemony.

auburnjamjoe
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by auburnjamjoe » Wed Jan 03, 2018 4:51 pm

+1

john charles
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:32 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by john charles » Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:59 pm

+1

User avatar
BrianSzep
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 7:48 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by BrianSzep » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:09 pm

+1
System: Win 10 Pro x64 (1803) | i7-4770K CPU | 32 GB Ram | GTX 780 Ti 3GB | (2) PB278 27" Monitors | Scarlett 18i20 | 5.1 Audio

Software: Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Sonar Platinum | VE Pro 6 | Sound Forge 11 | Davinci Resolve | Vegas Pro 13
www.joeythomasbigband.com | www.circuitryfilms.com | Sonar Refugee

axolotl
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by axolotl » Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:47 pm

I work a lot with Melodyne and think about the lack of ARA support to switch to Studio One

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by NoMad92 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:40 pm

shanabit wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:48 pm
Very much needed, not everyone uses VariAudio for Various reasons
ahahahahah best post so far !
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

EngineerJD
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by EngineerJD » Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:47 pm

Just to compare for those who haven't used it, here are the instructions for Vocalign for Cubase vs. a DAW with ARA. If you have used ARA you know why some of us keep asking for it:

-------ARA DAW----------

Drag audio events onto Guide and Dub areas in plugin window.
Aligns automatically. (Really is that simple.)

--------CUBASE------------
In Cubase, add VocALign Project as an Insert on the track to be aligned (the ‘Dub’ track)
by selecting Other>VocALign Project from the list of plug-ins that drops down when you
click on an available Insert slot, as shown in Figure 2 Selecting VocALign as an Insert in
CubaseFigure 2.

The VocALign plug-in window will open as shown in Figure 3.

Turn on the side chain input in VocALign by pressing the fifth button from the top left of
the plug-in’s window, as shown in Figure 4.

Now select a ‘Guide’ track in Cubase (the material to which the Dub will be aligned) and
route one of its Sends to the side chain of the Dub track Insert that controls VocALign, as
shown in Figure 5. Set the gain of the Send to 0 dB and turn it on.

In Cubase, select the start point of the audio you want to process, using Cubase’s time
line. (The Guide and Dub audio should be approximately in the same place.)

In the VocALign window press Capture Audio. The light in that button will glow yellow
and show Stop Capture to show that it is waiting for audio. (You can press it again to
cancel the capture if necessary.)

Press Play (space bar) in Cubase. The light in the button will flash green while the audio
is being captured. The selected section of the Dub track will be loaded into VocALign and
a pair of waveforms will be displayed in the VocALign window showing the selected Guide

Provided the Guide audio content is sufficiently similar to the Dub, starts in roughly the
same place and has a small amount of lead-in containing a bit of background noise,
press Process and the Dub audio will be aligned to the Guide audio as well as possible.
The display changes to an energy plot of the two extracts and in the Guide window the
yellow trace shows how the energy of the Dub is matched to that of the Guide. Press
Play in Cubase, after moving the time line back to the start of the region in question,
and you will hear the effect of the alignment.

Use Cubase’s Export…>Audio Mixdown function to create an audio file of the Aligned
Dub. (This can be found under Cubase’s File menu, as shown in Figure 7.) Set Cubase’s
location indicators so that they highlight the time region of audio that is to be mixed
down. Select the Dub track to be mixed down. The mixdown options are discussed in
more detail in the Tutorial. Make sure the original tracks in Cubase are not muted,
faded down or solo’ed, then press Export to create the aligned file. This will be available
in Cubase’s Pool and can optionally be written to a spare track as part of the mixdown
process.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests