Preference option to "Disable Cubase Video Services" & Other "Services"

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Prock
Grand Senior Member

Preference option to "Disable Cubase Video Services" & Other "Services"

Post by Prock » Tue Jan 03, 2017 6:17 pm

The 3rd installment of a feature request:

Every time I start Cubase I see that these (3) video related processes start and run (there may be more?):
videooutput.exe
videopreload.exe
videodecode.exe

Wouldn't it be better if these processes were not running for the users who never use the video functions that are offered in Cubase (like me)?

That's why I am again requesting that a Preference option to "Disable Cubase Video Services" be added to the Cubase>Preferences menu for those of us who never use it. The video services could be toggled on/off as per the user preference.

I'm no computer expert but, I figure that disabling the video services will save some system resources that can be used for other Cubase features. Thus creating a better user experience for us "non-video music makers".

I have to admit that now, with CB 9 running in Win 10, I no longer see the daily "Video Services Failing" error reports I was getting with prior CB versions. That's good for me. ;)

But, I still do see some CB9 users posting that the video services on their computer seem to cause issues. And one of the ways they still use to correct these issues is to disable the video services be renaming or removing the various video .exe files from the Cubase components folder. IMO that is just a workaround and should not be considered a "proper way" to disable it.

Regardless... even if the video services caused no problems, it makes sense to me to allow a user to disable the feature which may release some system resources for other uses.

Link to the same request in CB8:
viewtopic.php?f=228&t=74193&p=500791&hi ... ck#p500791