Better Native Midi plugins and workflow for VST midi

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Better Native Midi plugins and workflow for VST midi

Post by estrica2000 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:38 pm

The stock midi plugins are few or hidden and it's a pitty that we have create a track to load a vst midi plugin just to send midi information to a track. Would be better, cleaner and hassle free if this could be achieved by droping the midi vst plugin to the target track.

- Some kind of scripting for midi would be nice and vanguard , no?
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3999
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Better Native Midi plugins and workflow for VST midi

Post by raino » Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:39 pm

Not sure I understand the request. Doesn't selecting a midi plug-in on a Track's MIDI Insert do what you want?

A larger selection of midi plug-ins would certainly be nice.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Better Native Midi plugins and workflow for VST midi

Post by estrica2000 » Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:12 pm

raino wrote:Doesn't selecting a midi plug-in on a Track's MIDI Insert do what you want?
say we want to apply a VST Midi Fx into an Halion track. I would like if i did not have to create a separate track from halion to apply a midi fx into it. This happens because cubase can't load 2 VST Instruments in same track. And since the midi fx plugins are VST instruments (without any audio signal tho) we have to make them in separate tracks : ( in the perfect world they should appear has inserts in the midi insert slots like arpache and the others do.

I am not sure how cubase 9 is handling presets and track exports but making them in a single track would make them easier to be recalled too.
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3999
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Better Native Midi plugins and workflow for VST midi

Post by raino » Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:43 pm

So you mean 3rd party midi plug-ins not what Steinberg has?
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Better Native Midi plugins and workflow for VST midi

Post by estrica2000 » Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:59 pm

raino wrote:So you mean 3rd party midi plug-ins not what Steinberg has?
yes! to use " 3rd party" midi VST we need to had a second track, so it could be cleaner.

For years i had in mind that we could install more midi plugins (not VST) and i think i have tried but i never understanded or succeed adding them.
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

beerbong
Member
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Better Native Midi plugins and workflow for VST midi

Post by beerbong » Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:40 am

Yea, I think in the 'lower zone' would be a great place for something like this. No need for extra 'dummy' track just to record some midi arp/midi delay type thing.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests