Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
Turnicate99
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:10 am
Contact:

Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by Turnicate99 » Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:50 am

It would be beyond amazing if Cubase had their own version of DP's Chunks feature.

It makes it incredibly easy to switch, arrange, and write between and with multiple cues on one film (or sections in a song), and once you've seen it in DP you won't stop thinking about how gigantic a difference it would make in Cubase. Like, it's really a night and day thing. With Chunks you can easily switch between multiple cues and copy segments or parts, etc., without having to activate and deactivate entire projects (and the resulting crash that often happens in Cubase with large projects when you do that) and then go through the rigamarole of copying parts across. The Arranger Track in Cubase does not do what I'm talking about. With Chunks you have entire sequences (with whatever tracks, instruments, plugins, etc., that you have in them) as completely arrange-able, editable, and fluid pieces that you can put wherever you want in your project. Then you can switch between them to work on them individually. I saw it in action at a fellow composer's studio and was drooling...it's that good of a feature. Total heaven for a film composer.

Any chance, o people at Steinberg?

In_Stereo
Member
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Jan 19, 2018 7:10 pm

+1, yes, this is one of the best possible features for composers. The amount of time and frustration it would save would be immense.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Sierra 10.12.1 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by -steve- » Fri Jan 19, 2018 7:16 pm

+1 Been talking about it for years!

Whatever way they do it, having independent cues on the timeline would be great. DP does load all the instruments in all the chunks, but the beauty is that you can work on cues, on, basically speaking, completely independent timelines. An ancient program called "Cubase VST 5" had a feature like that.
Cubase Pro and Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

Shantheman
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by Shantheman » Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:04 pm

yeah, i really liked chunks in Digital performer, vision also used to work that way.

User avatar
profezeus
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by profezeus » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:13 pm

+1
System 1: Custom ADK 9700Z Laptop with 4 internal SSD's, i7-4790K CPU, 32GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 8.1 64bit, Cubase Pro 9.5.21
System 2: Custom ADK 8600 Laptop with 3 internal SSD's, i7-2820QM CPU, 16GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 7 64bit, Cubase Pro 9.5.21
VSL, VEP5, East West CC, Arturia V Collection etc., CC121, various keyboards and acoustic instruments.

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by orchetect » Sun Feb 11, 2018 5:42 am

+1 yes, yes, yes and yes. Been asking for this for 10 years. It would benefit everyone, not just film people.
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.5, Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Dorico 1.2.10
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 1973
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by HowlingUlf » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:51 pm

-steve- wrote:
Fri Jan 19, 2018 7:16 pm
+1 Been talking about it for years!

Whatever way they do it, having independent cues on the timeline would be great. DP does load all the instruments in all the chunks, but the beauty is that you can work on cues, on, basically speaking, completely independent timelines. An ancient program called "Cubase VST 5" had a feature like that.
Are you talking about the Group Track in Cubase Atari up to Cubase VST32 then killed off for no good reason?
At least there are no good reasons to not resurrect it.
A fantastic tool that would fly in circles around the Chord Track if they appeared in the same project window.
We can always hope! 8-)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2997
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by Romantique Tp » Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:53 pm

From what I remember, group tracks in Cubase VST were basically a clunkier version of the Arranger Track in modern Cubase. The fact that they were usable as an alternative to chunks was more of a side effect of the way Cubase VST handled projects.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by -steve- » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:07 pm

I don't remember what exactly I remember. What I think I remember remembering is the ability to have multiple songs in an arrangement, that share the same pool and maybe instruments.

Anyway, things are a bit different now, however they manage it, having the possibility to be able to have an area of the timeline doesn't get moved when you move something earlier would be great.
Cubase Pro and Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 1973
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by HowlingUlf » Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:52 pm

Yeah, and the multiple projects worked great in Cubase Atari, even with different tempi!

The great thing about Cubase Group Tracks was that you could create a maximum mix of everything you needed in let's say section A B and C or verse, chorus and bridge if you will.
Then you just selected some basic parts for the start of the song and then add as you go.
You select a few parts from the A part, create a Group with a name from that selection, and place it on a Group Track in the same project or in another project.
All you have is this named little Group that you could place wherever you wanted and the mess was kept to a minimum.
Now do the same with section B and then back to section A where you decide you want to add a piano so you create a new Group.
At this point you have three groups. One built on B and two built on A.
The parts in the Groups where live so let's say you wanted to edit the piano in Group A you opened the piano part and all Groups that contained that piano part was updated.

I feel kind of stuck with the stack created now in Arranger Tracks so I don't use them very often.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by -steve- » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:03 pm

Well, that would be a great set of features to have in modern Cubase.
Cubase Pro and Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3729
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by JMCecil » Tue Feb 13, 2018 6:14 pm

Yeah, we've debated this one for a long time. There are variations that would benefit various usages. I know I simply want overlapping cues with independant tempo/sig that I can fade between. All events associated with a cue remain in relative position to that cue. For me it's basically scene transition/fade. But, I know that there are tons of other usages that have other cool feature requirements to implement them. Anyhow, yes please ... +1
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5092
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by Centralmusic » Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:42 am

I do not quite understand how these chunks work. (sorry guys)
but I am absolute in favor of cubase being expanded for film and score!

Cubase and Nuendo are one of the best daws for film - and this postion needs to be expanded.
"They told us all they wanted... Was a sound that could kill someone from a distance..." (Kate Bush, Experiment IV)
"Kennst du schon das Handbuch?" ^^
"Wenn du anfängst, mit einem Programm wie Cubase zu arbeiten, dann solltest du mindestens einmal das Handbuch von Anfang bis Ende durchlesen -
du wirst dabei so viele Tipps und Tricks entdecken, die dir wirklich helfen, deinen Stil für die Arbeit mit dem Programm zu entwickeln. " (Junkie XL)

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by orchetect » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:00 am

Essentially it's multiple sequences in a single file with their own timelines, and they share resources such as tracks, the VST Rack and the audio pool. With some imagination, this sort of feature could be implemented into Cubase, but I imagine it wouldn't be easy from a coding standpoint.
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.5, Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Dorico 1.2.10
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

Mastropiero
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by Mastropiero » Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:42 am

+1

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1577
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by suntower » Sat Mar 03, 2018 8:56 am

YES! If one has done software development, it's basically Forks in a version control system.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 588
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by Weasel » Sat Mar 03, 2018 9:12 am

HowlingUlf wrote:
Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:52 pm
Yeah, and the multiple projects worked great in Cubase Atari, even with different tempi!

The great thing about Cubase Group Tracks was that you could create a maximum mix of everything you needed in let's say section A B and C or verse, chorus and bridge if you will.
Then you just selected some basic parts for the start of the song and then add as you go.
You select a few parts from the A part, create a Group with a name from that selection, and place it on a Group Track in the same project or in another project.
All you have is this named little Group that you could place wherever you wanted and the mess was kept to a minimum.
Now do the same with section B and then back to section A where you decide you want to add a piano so you create a new Group.
At this point you have three groups. One built on B and two built on A.
The parts in the Groups where live so let's say you wanted to edit the piano in Group A you opened the piano part and all Groups that contained that piano part was updated.

I feel kind of stuck with the stack created now in Arranger Tracks so I don't use them very often.
Exactly. Infinitely more versatile, intuitive and elegant than the Arranger Track scheme we’re stuck with these days. We lost this with the introduction of the SX series, along with a ton of other features, some of which eventually found their way back into the program over the years. Too bad this one never made it back.
DualQuadCore 2.66 Nehalem/32gbRAM-OSX 10.12.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU 424e/2408MkIII • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1/GenX192

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 1973
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by HowlingUlf » Sat Mar 03, 2018 10:08 am

Oh, man, what did I write???
Only those who have seen the old skool group tracks in action knows what I actually meant.
For the rest it must have been total word salad!
Sorry about that! :o :oops: :lol:
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Contact:

Feature Request: Subprojects/Cues

Post by Antonio Escobar » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:59 pm

Hi guys,

I'm sure I'm not the first to request this and I remember Cubase pre-SX having something like this, but It would be AWESOME having the option to have subprojects based on a project, as a cue or subversions. That would be amazing for scoring and music arranging-producing, even mixing. Digital Performer has it, Reaper has it. I lost a lot of time jumping among cues, arranging and rearranging things.

Cues/subproject could be a great way to SHARE work. I can have an arranger working on a cue and I can keep working on another one, and so on.

This is it :-)
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 8.0.x / Cubase 9.0.x
MacBook Pro 2017 16GB RAM, OS X10.12.5
UR824
Native Komplete Kontrol/Maschine
Avid Artist Mix
Waves
Softube

stingray
Member
Posts: 919
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Subprojects/Cues

Post by stingray » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:24 pm

You can already do this to some extent using Export/Selected Tracks and Import/Track Archive.

(FYI Nuendo has perhaps closer to what you are suggesting in the form of clip packages, but this is not included in Cubase).

svennilenni
Senior Member
Posts: 2305
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Subprojects/Cues

Post by svennilenni » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:25 pm

There is a special Feature Requests and Suggestions forum - also for you...

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2997
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by Romantique Tp » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:37 pm

Merged with existing feature request.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1501
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Chunks feature a la Digital Performer

Post by mozizo » Wed Mar 21, 2018 3:39 pm

+1
I like and need this concept. I dont remember the DP chunks exactly ,but i guess its similar to studio one sketch pad?
Even for "regular" music composing,its great.wish steinberg add this in cubase 10
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests